Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Tekin RS ESC sensored >

Tekin RS ESC sensored

Tekin RS ESC sensored

Reply

Old 10-03-2010, 10:25 PM
  #17251  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (4)
 
lorider75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Lloydminster, Sk
Posts: 220
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

ok, i finally broke down and purchased the tekin rspro with the hotwire as well. no i was scoping out all the settings and i have no idea what most of them are... i had a quick look at the tekin website and it doesnt say much about the settings. is there a guide as to what is what that i am missing somewhere?? or am i just plain out of the loop?

thanks,
anthony
lorider75 is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2010, 10:32 PM
  #17252  
Team Tekin
iTrader: (6)
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,834
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

[QUOTE=Kuttermax;8020267]Strange problem today with a new Tekin RS I just dropped into my 1/10 Kyosho RB5 buggy with Novak Ballistic 13.5.

I set it up fully sensored with TP3 default. 25 drag brake, 10 neutral point, brakes 80. Kopropo radio - mostly at defaults. I dialed the Novak endbell back to 15 degrees from the stock 30, with the goal to get more low end before boost kicks in at a little of 5k rpm.

QUOTE]

The issue is what software is in this esc?
Randy_Pike is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2010, 10:37 PM
  #17253  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (12)
 
Still Bill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 7,326
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by lorider75 View Post
ok, i finally broke down and purchased the tekin rspro with the hotwire as well. no i was scoping out all the settings and i have no idea what most of them are... i had a quick look at the tekin website and it doesnt say much about the settings. is there a guide as to what is what that i am missing somewhere?? or am i just plain out of the loop?

thanks,
anthony
Hey Anthony,

Sorry. But, your last sentence sounds fairly accurate.

Just scan through the previous 1,150 pages for a complete picture...LOL

But, because most questions and answers repeat multiple times, you can probably just do the last 150 pages or so.

I can assure you...Everything is here...Somewhere.

If you want to ask a question, please provide as much information about your use as possible.

Cheers!

Bill
Still Bill is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2010, 10:42 PM
  #17254  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (12)
 
Still Bill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 7,326
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Jochim_18 View Post
Novak ballistic really comes alive with 40 degree of timing and this motor like to be gear taller. With KO Helios/JR Z1 you need to have the neutral band at default or you will have problem calibrating.
What does "neutral band at default" mean?

I have a KO Eurus but figure it applies to that too.

Thanks.

Bill
Still Bill is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2010, 10:52 PM
  #17255  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (20)
 
Team Pink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 469
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

Timing Boost- It is basically your bottom end and is the timing used before turbo boost is engaged is how I think of this.
Turbo Boost- Is basically the "Nos" of RC. This is basically your top end. This kind of timing is thrown in after your turbo delay. For exaple if your delay is 0.5 it is going to take that long after for turbo to be in.
Ramp- The ramp is basically more throwing in of timing through out turbo boost so 1.0 turbo ramp will be the least timing being thrown in and so on..
Drag Brake- Is the slowing down of your car once throttle is fully released.
Push Control- Is something that was often used in pan car a few years ago. This was when you let off full throttle your car still rolled to some bit.
Current Limiter- This is used mostly in mod racing to keep everything some what cooler. What I have found is it takes some punch away. Usually in spec most people run from 90-100.

Hope this all made sense if not I am sure someone else will chime in.
Team Pink is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2010, 11:27 PM
  #17256  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Christchurch, NZ
Posts: 1,063
Default

There is a good guide in here somehwere that Randy added in. Perhaps if someone can find it, one of the mods could append it to the first post, that way we can point all the new users to post 1.
JR007 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2010, 12:47 AM
  #17257  
Tech Regular
 
TrevCoult's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Worksop, Nottinghamshire, UK
Posts: 363
Default

Originally Posted by lorider75 View Post
ok, i finally broke down and purchased the tekin rspro with the hotwire as well. no i was scoping out all the settings and i have no idea what most of them are... i had a quick look at the tekin website and it doesnt say much about the settings. is there a guide as to what is what that i am missing somewhere?? or am i just plain out of the loop?

thanks,
anthony
Beginners guide to 208

http://www.carsrcracing.co.uk/?p=244

Hope this helps.

Trev
TrevCoult is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2010, 12:51 AM
  #17258  
Tech Regular
 
TrevCoult's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Worksop, Nottinghamshire, UK
Posts: 363
Default

Originally Posted by sidecarphil1 View Post
Iwould like a set up for 1/12th with a 10.5 SP v3 motor and the track has a 25m long straight and flowing but tight infield

including some idea for roll out , i have been running today and the motor is cold

final settings were

Start 4,XXX
End 18,XXX
boost 35
Turbo 5
delay 0.15
ramp 2.0
roll out 45 ish
push control 5
drag off
brake max
throttle profile 3

Thanks Phil
Rollout is possibly a little low, try 48mm. End RPM take down to 10000-11000 RPM and put your boost up to 40. That should make quite a difference.

Trev
TrevCoult is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2010, 02:32 AM
  #17259  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (8)
 
nerdling's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Canberra
Posts: 2,918
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Hey Guys,

was racing on the weekend and experenced a weird sort of failure....

I slid in to a barrier sidwise and the car lost motor power for about six seconds (still had steering), it happened a bit later in the day as well.

Strangly, I had a wopper of a head on later on that casued not problem.

Any ideals.
nerdling is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2010, 02:49 AM
  #17260  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (4)
 
Cribbin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 360
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by nerdling View Post
Hey Guys,

was racing on the weekend and experenced a weird sort of failure....

I slid in to a barrier sidwise and the car lost motor power for about six seconds (still had steering), it happened a bit later in the day as well.

Strangly, I had a wopper of a head on later on that casued not problem.

Any ideals.
i would say you lost power to everything momentarily. When you turn it on, the steering will work instantly, but the tekin takes a few seconds to find neutral and get going. Most likely the plug on your speedy is old, i would throw a new one on and see how it goes

ben
Cribbin is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2010, 04:46 AM
  #17261  
Tech Apprentice
iTrader: (1)
 
Kuttermax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Dublin, OH
Posts: 91
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

[QUOTE=Randy_Pike;8020981]
Originally Posted by Kuttermax View Post
Strange problem today with a new Tekin RS I just dropped into my 1/10 Kyosho RB5 buggy with Novak Ballistic 13.5.

I set it up fully sensored with TP3 default. 25 drag brake, 10 neutral point, brakes 80. Kopropo radio - mostly at defaults. I dialed the Novak endbell back to 15 degrees from the stock 30, with the goal to get more low end before boost kicks in at a little of 5k rpm.

QUOTE]

The issue is what software is in this esc?
208. I have only used 208 and did do the radio calibration. Additional info sent by PM.
Kuttermax is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2010, 06:01 AM
  #17262  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (4)
 
lorider75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Lloydminster, Sk
Posts: 220
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

thanks, the article looks quite promising!!!!

anthony
lorider75 is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2010, 07:17 AM
  #17263  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (15)
 
M-Technic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Palm Beach, FL
Posts: 2,562
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by 20 SMOKE View Post
try it first to see if the rip comes back then add the turbo in a little at a time and see if the rip stays
Originally Posted by 20 SMOKE View Post
also try min NW and up on the TP
Rookie move, but now I realize that I don't remember calibrating the radio/speedo after I installed v208. That is probably my problem (or a major part of it). I was also running my Xray for the first time with a new model on my radio so I doubt I had the throttle EPA's set the same as for my Tamiya!
M-Technic is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2010, 09:51 AM
  #17264  
Team Tekin
iTrader: (6)
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,834
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Anytime you upgrade the esc software you MUST recalibrate.
Randy_Pike is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2010, 10:01 AM
  #17265  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (10)
 
Green Machine!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Eastvale, Ca.
Posts: 816
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Anyone have, after calibrating everything properly, the symptom of no brakes engaging at all. I start randomly unplugging the battery, turning off and then on the esc and radio, and then the brakes all of a sudden work again?
Green Machine! is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service