R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-03-2010, 04:33 PM   #17236
Tech Addict
 
Dave De Voe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Springfield,OR
Posts: 661
Questions?? JUST STARTING OUT

so lets see I if I got this right,
12r5.1/13.5/tekuin rs/220 mah/Donny Lia esc setup with about 80mm rollout/futaba servo and start there...... god i hope so
I do have some track time with the car,just not with the tekin in it.and dam this thing is way to cool
__________________
VOE RACING/LUNSFORD Ti/CIPRIOTTI CUSTOM RC/TEAM DRIVER CGRC
Team Associated RC10 B5r-B5m/RC10Worlds/RC8B Nova 21+4
"Don't think,don't blink,it takes way too long"
Best in the Northwest '11 Nitro Stadium Truck
CGRC- COTTAGE GROVE RC RACEWAY
Dave De Voe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2010, 04:33 PM   #17237
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

whats wrong Tj
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2010, 05:14 PM   #17238
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 2
Default

Thanks Jamie!

Jeff
TKG27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2010, 06:35 PM   #17239
Tech Elite
 
M-Technic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Palm Beach, FL
Posts: 2,562
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 20 SMOKE View Post
whats wrong Tj
I think that v203 had more rip. Or maybe I am too used to that SP speedo I was running.
__________________
RCAmerica | Xray | Hudy | Radiopost | Speed Passion USA | Trinity | P3 Graphics
M-Technic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2010, 06:38 PM   #17240
Tech Elite
 
2056dennis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: michigan
Posts: 2,470
Trader Rating: 126 (100%+)
Default tekin issue

my buddy is haveing problem with the rs not finding the throttle or the brake and i know when he tries to get it the first 3 lights flash, any help will be great thanks
__________________
CRC Gen XL / Xray 09 , t2r pro / CW sprint and CW rocket / Kyosho evolva m3 / Tekin rs / Futaba 4pks / Trinity / Dirtburners thanks Bill / 1/8th racers of Toledo / Trex chassi / Summit Race way / Stateline
LAZER SPEEDWAY where all else IS just a parking lot / Hobby Stop West Raceway
2056dennis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2010, 07:23 PM   #17241
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2056dennis View Post
my buddy is haveing problem with the rs not finding the throttle or the brake and i know when he tries to get it the first 3 lights flash, any help will be great thanks
try reversing the TH then calibrate if it doesn't hold both buttons down to reset it
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2010, 07:25 PM   #17242
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by M-Technic View Post
I think that v203 had more rip. Or maybe I am too used to that SP speedo I was running.
try the same settings but turn the turbo to 0
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2010, 07:30 PM   #17243
Tech Elite
 
tallyrc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: palm city, fl
Posts: 2,594
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

did they ever solve the "checking up" when you let off the throttle? thats why i went back to 203, and it feels like it has more rip.. if TJ figures it out i'll steal his setup.. HA!
__________________
WWW.STORMERHOBBIES.COM helping keep pan cars alive!

Turns out not where, but who your with that really matters... DMB
tallyrc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2010, 07:41 PM   #17244
Tech Elite
 
M-Technic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Palm Beach, FL
Posts: 2,562
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 20 SMOKE View Post
try the same settings but turn the turbo to 0
Even if that gave me more rip, how do you compensate for straightaway speed?
__________________
RCAmerica | Xray | Hudy | Radiopost | Speed Passion USA | Trinity | P3 Graphics
M-Technic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2010, 07:57 PM   #17245
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by M-Technic View Post
Even if that gave me more rip, how do you compensate for straightaway speed?
try it first to see if the rip comes back then add the turbo in a little at a time and see if the rip stays
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2010, 08:12 PM   #17246
Tech Apprentice
 
Kuttermax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Dublin, OH
Posts: 91
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Strange problem today with a new Tekin RS I just dropped into my 1/10 Kyosho RB5 buggy with Novak Ballistic 13.5.

I set it up fully sensored with TP3 default. 25 drag brake, 10 neutral point, brakes 80. Kopropo radio - mostly at defaults. I dialed the Novak endbell back to 15 degrees from the stock 30, with the goal to get more low end before boost kicks in at a little of 5k rpm.

With this setup the car felt very slow. There was very little punch, which made jumping tough. In fact one person sailed high above me before landing right on top of me and snapping his chassis in half.

I took my car off the track after the qualifier and blipped the throttle a few times and you could tell power was way down. I had left reversed on (with delay). Interestingly when I blipped reverse I had tons of power - so only forward was affected.

With Kopropo radios, the throttle is by default set to "reverse". I switched to normal to see if this was the problem, but then it would not allow me to calibrate the speed control, so i went back to the "reverse" setting.

I msg'd Randy already, but wondering if anyone else has an idea? I'm going to re-solder connects, try a different motor, and if this fails, likely send RS to Tekin to look at.

Any thoughts?
__________________
Kyosho RB5 SP2 and SC-R
Traxxas Slash PE 4x4 and E-Revo BL
Tamiya Egress, RC10
Hometrack: http://www.crcrc.com
Kuttermax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2010, 08:13 PM   #17247
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by M-Technic View Post
Even if that gave me more rip, how do you compensate for straightaway speed?
also try min NW and up on the TP
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2010, 08:15 PM   #17248
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kuttermax View Post
Strange problem today with a new Tekin RS I just dropped into my 1/10 Kyosho RB5 buggy with Novak Ballistic 13.5.

I set it up fully sensored with TP3 default. 25 drag brake, 10 neutral point, brakes 80. Kopropo radio - mostly at defaults. I dialed the Novak endbell back to 15 degrees from the stock 30, with the goal to get more low end before boost kicks in at a little of 5k rpm.

With this setup the car felt very slow. There was very little punch, which made jumping tough. In fact one person sailed high above me before landing right on top of me and snapping his chassis in half.

I took my car off the track after the qualifier and blipped the throttle a few times and you could tell power was way down. I had left reversed on (with delay). Interestingly when I blipped reverse I had tons of power - so only forward was affected.

With Kopropo radios, the throttle is by default set to "reverse". I switched to normal to see if this was the problem, but then it would not allow me to calibrate the speed control, so i went back to the "reverse" setting.

I msg'd Randy already, but wondering if anyone else has an idea? I'm going to re-solder connects, try a different motor, and if this fails, likely send RS to Tekin to look at.

Any thoughts?
sounds like it is in dual mode,double check it and check the sensor wire to make sure it working
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2010, 09:21 PM   #17249
Tech Champion
 
STLNLST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 8,999
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kuttermax View Post
Strange problem today with a new Tekin RS I just dropped into my 1/10 Kyosho RB5 buggy with Novak Ballistic 13.5.

I set it up fully sensored with TP3 default. 25 drag brake, 10 neutral point, brakes 80. Kopropo radio - mostly at defaults. I dialed the Novak endbell back to 15 degrees from the stock 30, with the goal to get more low end before boost kicks in at a little of 5k rpm.

With this setup the car felt very slow. There was very little punch, which made jumping tough. In fact one person sailed high above me before landing right on top of me and snapping his chassis in half.

I took my car off the track after the qualifier and blipped the throttle a few times and you could tell power was way down. I had left reversed on (with delay). Interestingly when I blipped reverse I had tons of power - so only forward was affected.

With Kopropo radios, the throttle is by default set to "reverse". I switched to normal to see if this was the problem, but then it would not allow me to calibrate the speed control, so i went back to the "reverse" setting.

I msg'd Randy already, but wondering if anyone else has an idea? I'm going to re-solder connects, try a different motor, and if this fails, likely send RS to Tekin to look at.

Any thoughts?
Try adding the motor timing back in. I personally feel that lower timing takes away from the motors all around power. Top end and out of the corner rip seems to be increased when I turn the motor timing up,
STLNLST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2010, 09:26 PM   #17250
Tech Elite
 
Jochim_18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: CALI
Posts: 2,373
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Novak ballistic really comes alive with 40 degree of timing and this motor like to be gear taller. With KO Helios/JR Z1 you need to have the neutral band at default or you will have problem calibrating.
__________________
Localrcracing.com - Your premiere source of Radio controlled Racing in central California.

Visaliahobbies.com * SkyRC * casterracingparts.com
Jochim_18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:51 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net