Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Tekin RS ESC sensored >

Tekin RS ESC sensored

Tekin RS ESC sensored

Reply

Old 10-03-2010, 04:33 PM
  #17236  
Tech Addict
 
Dave De Voe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Springfield,OR
Posts: 661
Questions?? JUST STARTING OUT

so lets see I if I got this right,
12r5.1/13.5/tekuin rs/220 mah/Donny Lia esc setup with about 80mm rollout/futaba servo and start there...... god i hope so
I do have some track time with the car,just not with the tekin in it.and dam this thing is way to cool
Dave De Voe is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2010, 04:33 PM
  #17237  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (102)
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,366
Trader Rating: 102 (100%+)
Default

whats wrong Tj
20 SMOKE is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2010, 05:14 PM
  #17238  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 2
Default

Thanks Jamie!

Jeff
TKG27 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2010, 06:35 PM
  #17239  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (15)
 
M-Technic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Palm Beach, FL
Posts: 2,562
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by 20 SMOKE View Post
whats wrong Tj
I think that v203 had more rip. Or maybe I am too used to that SP speedo I was running.
M-Technic is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2010, 06:38 PM
  #17240  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (126)
 
2056dennis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: michigan
Posts: 2,470
Trader Rating: 126 (100%+)
Default tekin issue

my buddy is haveing problem with the rs not finding the throttle or the brake and i know when he tries to get it the first 3 lights flash, any help will be great thanks
2056dennis is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2010, 07:23 PM
  #17241  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (102)
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,366
Trader Rating: 102 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by 2056dennis View Post
my buddy is haveing problem with the rs not finding the throttle or the brake and i know when he tries to get it the first 3 lights flash, any help will be great thanks
try reversing the TH then calibrate if it doesn't hold both buttons down to reset it
20 SMOKE is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2010, 07:25 PM
  #17242  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (102)
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,366
Trader Rating: 102 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by M-Technic View Post
I think that v203 had more rip. Or maybe I am too used to that SP speedo I was running.
try the same settings but turn the turbo to 0
20 SMOKE is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2010, 07:30 PM
  #17243  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (12)
 
tallyrc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: palm city, fl
Posts: 2,594
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

did they ever solve the "checking up" when you let off the throttle? thats why i went back to 203, and it feels like it has more rip.. if TJ figures it out i'll steal his setup.. HA!
tallyrc is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2010, 07:41 PM
  #17244  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (15)
 
M-Technic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Palm Beach, FL
Posts: 2,562
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by 20 SMOKE View Post
try the same settings but turn the turbo to 0
Even if that gave me more rip, how do you compensate for straightaway speed?
M-Technic is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2010, 07:57 PM
  #17245  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (102)
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,366
Trader Rating: 102 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by M-Technic View Post
Even if that gave me more rip, how do you compensate for straightaway speed?
try it first to see if the rip comes back then add the turbo in a little at a time and see if the rip stays
20 SMOKE is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2010, 08:12 PM
  #17246  
Tech Apprentice
iTrader: (1)
 
Kuttermax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Dublin, OH
Posts: 91
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Strange problem today with a new Tekin RS I just dropped into my 1/10 Kyosho RB5 buggy with Novak Ballistic 13.5.

I set it up fully sensored with TP3 default. 25 drag brake, 10 neutral point, brakes 80. Kopropo radio - mostly at defaults. I dialed the Novak endbell back to 15 degrees from the stock 30, with the goal to get more low end before boost kicks in at a little of 5k rpm.

With this setup the car felt very slow. There was very little punch, which made jumping tough. In fact one person sailed high above me before landing right on top of me and snapping his chassis in half.

I took my car off the track after the qualifier and blipped the throttle a few times and you could tell power was way down. I had left reversed on (with delay). Interestingly when I blipped reverse I had tons of power - so only forward was affected.

With Kopropo radios, the throttle is by default set to "reverse". I switched to normal to see if this was the problem, but then it would not allow me to calibrate the speed control, so i went back to the "reverse" setting.

I msg'd Randy already, but wondering if anyone else has an idea? I'm going to re-solder connects, try a different motor, and if this fails, likely send RS to Tekin to look at.

Any thoughts?
Kuttermax is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2010, 08:13 PM
  #17247  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (102)
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,366
Trader Rating: 102 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by M-Technic View Post
Even if that gave me more rip, how do you compensate for straightaway speed?
also try min NW and up on the TP
20 SMOKE is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2010, 08:15 PM
  #17248  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (102)
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,366
Trader Rating: 102 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Kuttermax View Post
Strange problem today with a new Tekin RS I just dropped into my 1/10 Kyosho RB5 buggy with Novak Ballistic 13.5.

I set it up fully sensored with TP3 default. 25 drag brake, 10 neutral point, brakes 80. Kopropo radio - mostly at defaults. I dialed the Novak endbell back to 15 degrees from the stock 30, with the goal to get more low end before boost kicks in at a little of 5k rpm.

With this setup the car felt very slow. There was very little punch, which made jumping tough. In fact one person sailed high above me before landing right on top of me and snapping his chassis in half.

I took my car off the track after the qualifier and blipped the throttle a few times and you could tell power was way down. I had left reversed on (with delay). Interestingly when I blipped reverse I had tons of power - so only forward was affected.

With Kopropo radios, the throttle is by default set to "reverse". I switched to normal to see if this was the problem, but then it would not allow me to calibrate the speed control, so i went back to the "reverse" setting.

I msg'd Randy already, but wondering if anyone else has an idea? I'm going to re-solder connects, try a different motor, and if this fails, likely send RS to Tekin to look at.

Any thoughts?
sounds like it is in dual mode,double check it and check the sensor wire to make sure it working
20 SMOKE is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2010, 09:21 PM
  #17249  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (26)
 
STLNLST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 9,122
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Kuttermax View Post
Strange problem today with a new Tekin RS I just dropped into my 1/10 Kyosho RB5 buggy with Novak Ballistic 13.5.

I set it up fully sensored with TP3 default. 25 drag brake, 10 neutral point, brakes 80. Kopropo radio - mostly at defaults. I dialed the Novak endbell back to 15 degrees from the stock 30, with the goal to get more low end before boost kicks in at a little of 5k rpm.

With this setup the car felt very slow. There was very little punch, which made jumping tough. In fact one person sailed high above me before landing right on top of me and snapping his chassis in half.

I took my car off the track after the qualifier and blipped the throttle a few times and you could tell power was way down. I had left reversed on (with delay). Interestingly when I blipped reverse I had tons of power - so only forward was affected.

With Kopropo radios, the throttle is by default set to "reverse". I switched to normal to see if this was the problem, but then it would not allow me to calibrate the speed control, so i went back to the "reverse" setting.

I msg'd Randy already, but wondering if anyone else has an idea? I'm going to re-solder connects, try a different motor, and if this fails, likely send RS to Tekin to look at.

Any thoughts?
Try adding the motor timing back in. I personally feel that lower timing takes away from the motors all around power. Top end and out of the corner rip seems to be increased when I turn the motor timing up,
STLNLST is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2010, 09:26 PM
  #17250  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (10)
 
Jochim_18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: CALI
Posts: 2,399
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Novak ballistic really comes alive with 40 degree of timing and this motor like to be gear taller. With KO Helios/JR Z1 you need to have the neutral band at default or you will have problem calibrating.
Jochim_18 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service