Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Tekin RS ESC sensored >

Tekin RS ESC sensored

Tekin RS ESC sensored

Reply

Old 10-02-2010, 04:22 AM
  #17221  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (1)
 
mutley001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Kent, UK
Posts: 664
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default M05 setup

Hey guys
Anyone put their tekin in a tamiya mini?
I could use a starting point for 13.5 in a m05 on carpet indoors. Any advice appreciated.
Cheers in advance
Paul
mutley001 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2010, 04:13 PM
  #17222  
Tech Apprentice
iTrader: (6)
 
Aahj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 82
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default Is this right?

Just finished up putting my SC10 together. I've been out of the hobby for almost a decade and was curious if my set-up was working correctly. Using a Tekin RS with a Novak Ballistic 17.5 motor, Spektrum 3100 receiver, 15/87 gearing.

Watch this video and tell me if this looks normal to you…just seemed kinda slow to me, but like I said, been out of the sport a while.

Thanks for your input,
AJ

http://gallery.me.com/ajnealey#100085
Aahj is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2010, 04:26 PM
  #17223  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (26)
 
reenmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Studio City, CA
Posts: 2,539
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Aahj View Post
Just finished up putting my SC10 together. I've been out of the hobby for almost a decade and was curious if my set-up was working correctly. Using a Tekin RS with a Novak Ballistic 17.5 motor, Spektrum 3100 receiver, 15/87 gearing.

Watch this video and tell me if this looks normal to you…just seemed kinda slow to me, but like I said, been out of the sport a while.

Thanks for your input,
AJ

http://gallery.me.com/ajnealey#100085
IMO, you're geared super super low. We've been gearing SC10s at 78/23-25 or thereabouts on our medium-sized outdoor track. This setup sheet has been a good starting point (it's a v203 setup sheet but still applies):

ROAR SCT 17.5 Tekin setup sheet

EDIT: Watching that video it looks like you've got massive drag brake on there. With the setup above, you'll have to be careful free-revving it like that as the tires can separate from the rim.
reenmachine is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2010, 05:30 PM
  #17224  
Tech Apprentice
iTrader: (6)
 
Aahj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 82
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Thank you very much for the quick response. Made the changes…especially to the gearing…and it's a crapton faster!

Thanks again and can't wait to hit the track.

AJ
Aahj is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2010, 05:34 PM
  #17225  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (26)
 
reenmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Studio City, CA
Posts: 2,539
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Aahj View Post
Thank you very much for the quick response. Made the changes…especially to the gearing…and it's a crapton faster!

Thanks again and can't wait to hit the track.

AJ
No problem. just be sure to check motor temp every couple minutes until you're comfortable that you can go the distance without overheating. On most tracks that setup will be fine -- even a bit conservative.
reenmachine is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2010, 10:48 PM
  #17226  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (5)
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 372
Trader Rating: 5 (86%+)
Default 1/12 17.5 and wgt 13.5

does anyone have a good starting point for 208 no boost, no timing for 1/12 17.5 and wgt 13.5...running speedpassion v3 motor...i need a rollout for a 40x100ft track and a 30x70ft track.
obi wun is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2010, 11:00 PM
  #17227  
Tech Master
iTrader: (3)
 
Xpress's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Onroad Bermuda Triangle...
Posts: 1,691
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by MikeXray View Post
I know a few who did this for that reason this summer outdoors. It takes a pretty big straight, like 200+ to see a difference.

Any idea what their speedo setting were? Just looking for how much boost and what timing window etc...
Xpress is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2010, 11:50 PM
  #17228  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (34)
 
RedBullFiXX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Intergalactic Planetary
Posts: 6,542
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by obi wun View Post
does anyone have a good starting point for 208 no boost, no timing for 1/12 17.5 and wgt 13.5...running speedpassion v3 motor...i need a rollout for a 40x100ft track and a 30x70ft track.
For 12th scale
85+ roll, you may want to crank some endbell timing up to get top end also.
RedBullFiXX is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2010, 09:07 AM
  #17229  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 2
Default

I have an RS and just finished updating to the 208 software. I cannot find any instructions for setting the ESC into Spec mode. Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks

Jeff
TKG27 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2010, 09:34 AM
  #17230  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (102)
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,366
Trader Rating: 102 (100%+)
Default

using the hot wire click throttle and #1 on the slider,using the pit mode go the TP then INS to #1led
20 SMOKE is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2010, 01:49 PM
  #17231  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (11)
 
bhambrent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: B'ham, AL.
Posts: 2,026
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default hotwire

Will the hotwire software install on a PS3?

Thats the only pc that I have. lol The rest are mac's.

Thanks for your help.
bhambrent is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2010, 02:18 PM
  #17232  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (102)
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,366
Trader Rating: 102 (100%+)
Default

there is a way to use it on a mac,some one else will have to help you
20 SMOKE is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2010, 02:58 PM
  #17233  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,920
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Iwould like a set up for 1/12th with a 10.5 SP v3 motor and the track has a 25m long straight and flowing but tight infield

including some idea for roll out , i have been running today and the motor is cold

final settings were

Start 4,XXX
End 18,XXX
boost 35
Turbo 5
delay 0.15
ramp 2.0
roll out 45 ish
push control 5
drag off
brake max
throttle profile 3

Thanks Phil
sidecarphil1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2010, 03:44 PM
  #17234  
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 596
Default

Originally Posted by sidecarphil1 View Post
Iwould like a set up for 1/12th with a 10.5 SP v3 motor and the track has a 25m long straight and flowing but tight infield

including some idea for roll out , i have been running today and the motor is cold

final settings were

Start 4,XXX
End 18,XXX
boost 35
Turbo 5
delay 0.15
ramp 2.0
roll out 45 ish
push control 5
drag off
brake max
throttle profile 3

Thanks Phil
rollout looks ok, but the last time i ran, I had my rpm ranges very different (800-10000 ish), no turbo and a little more boost (mid 40's) that was ok as a starting point.

I've not run it for a while now though.
chris_dono is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2010, 04:12 PM
  #17235  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (15)
 
M-Technic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Palm Beach, FL
Posts: 2,562
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Can someone please PM me a link to download the Hotwire 4 software so I can downgrade back to v203? Thank you!
M-Technic is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service