R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-02-2010, 04:22 AM   #17221
Tech Addict
 
mutley001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Kent, UK
Posts: 662
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default M05 setup

Hey guys
Anyone put their tekin in a tamiya mini?
I could use a starting point for 13.5 in a m05 on carpet indoors. Any advice appreciated.
Cheers in advance
Paul
__________________
ARC R11 2017
ARC R10 2013
EA Motorsports www.teameamotorsports.com
Team EAM
mutley001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2010, 04:13 PM   #17222
Tech Apprentice
 
Aahj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 82
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default Is this right?

Just finished up putting my SC10 together. I've been out of the hobby for almost a decade and was curious if my set-up was working correctly. Using a Tekin RS with a Novak Ballistic 17.5 motor, Spektrum 3100 receiver, 15/87 gearing.

Watch this video and tell me if this looks normal to you…just seemed kinda slow to me, but like I said, been out of the sport a while.

Thanks for your input,
AJ

http://gallery.me.com/ajnealey#100085
__________________
http://www.ajnealeyracing.com
Aahj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2010, 04:26 PM   #17223
Tech Elite
 
reenmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Studio City, CA
Posts: 2,539
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aahj View Post
Just finished up putting my SC10 together. I've been out of the hobby for almost a decade and was curious if my set-up was working correctly. Using a Tekin RS with a Novak Ballistic 17.5 motor, Spektrum 3100 receiver, 15/87 gearing.

Watch this video and tell me if this looks normal to you…just seemed kinda slow to me, but like I said, been out of the sport a while.

Thanks for your input,
AJ

http://gallery.me.com/ajnealey#100085
IMO, you're geared super super low. We've been gearing SC10s at 78/23-25 or thereabouts on our medium-sized outdoor track. This setup sheet has been a good starting point (it's a v203 setup sheet but still applies):

ROAR SCT 17.5 Tekin setup sheet

EDIT: Watching that video it looks like you've got massive drag brake on there. With the setup above, you'll have to be careful free-revving it like that as the tires can separate from the rim.
__________________
Pete Waydo
2010 Big Fat Turkey Race Mini Cooper AAA Main Champion
*** currently in stasis ***
reenmachine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2010, 05:30 PM   #17224
Tech Apprentice
 
Aahj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 82
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Thank you very much for the quick response. Made the changes…especially to the gearing…and it's a crapton faster!

Thanks again and can't wait to hit the track.

AJ
__________________
http://www.ajnealeyracing.com
Aahj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2010, 05:34 PM   #17225
Tech Elite
 
reenmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Studio City, CA
Posts: 2,539
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aahj View Post
Thank you very much for the quick response. Made the changes…especially to the gearing…and it's a crapton faster!

Thanks again and can't wait to hit the track.

AJ
No problem. just be sure to check motor temp every couple minutes until you're comfortable that you can go the distance without overheating. On most tracks that setup will be fine -- even a bit conservative.
__________________
Pete Waydo
2010 Big Fat Turkey Race Mini Cooper AAA Main Champion
*** currently in stasis ***
reenmachine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2010, 10:48 PM   #17226
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 307
Trader Rating: 5 (86%+)
Default 1/12 17.5 and wgt 13.5

does anyone have a good starting point for 208 no boost, no timing for 1/12 17.5 and wgt 13.5...running speedpassion v3 motor...i need a rollout for a 40x100ft track and a 30x70ft track.
obi wun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2010, 11:00 PM   #17227
Tech Master
 
Xpress's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Dirt sucks!
Posts: 1,614
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeXray View Post
I know a few who did this for that reason this summer outdoors. It takes a pretty big straight, like 200+ to see a difference.

Any idea what their speedo setting were? Just looking for how much boost and what timing window etc...
__________________
"Desire is the key to motivation, but it's the determination and commitment to an unrelenting pursuit of laying it down - a commitment to excellence - that will enable you to attain the success you seek to beat ass."

-Espo
Xpress is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2010, 11:50 PM   #17228
Tech Champion
 
RedBullFiXX's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Intergalactic Planetary
Posts: 6,542
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by obi wun View Post
does anyone have a good starting point for 208 no boost, no timing for 1/12 17.5 and wgt 13.5...running speedpassion v3 motor...i need a rollout for a 40x100ft track and a 30x70ft track.
For 12th scale
85+ roll, you may want to crank some endbell timing up to get top end also.
__________________
--> 12th scale Information Source <--

"Men do not quit playing because they grow old; they grow old because they quit playing."
― Oliver Wendell Holmes Jr.
RedBullFiXX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2010, 09:07 AM   #17229
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 2
Default

I have an RS and just finished updating to the 208 software. I cannot find any instructions for setting the ESC into Spec mode. Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks

Jeff
TKG27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2010, 09:34 AM   #17230
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

using the hot wire click throttle and #1 on the slider,using the pit mode go the TP then INS to #1led
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2010, 01:49 PM   #17231
Tech Elite
 
bhambrent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: B'ham, AL.
Posts: 2,026
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default hotwire

Will the hotwire software install on a PS3?

Thats the only pc that I have. lol The rest are mac's.

Thanks for your help.
bhambrent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2010, 02:18 PM   #17232
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

there is a way to use it on a mac,some one else will have to help you
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2010, 02:58 PM   #17233
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,920
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Iwould like a set up for 1/12th with a 10.5 SP v3 motor and the track has a 25m long straight and flowing but tight infield

including some idea for roll out , i have been running today and the motor is cold

final settings were

Start 4,XXX
End 18,XXX
boost 35
Turbo 5
delay 0.15
ramp 2.0
roll out 45 ish
push control 5
drag off
brake max
throttle profile 3

Thanks Phil
sidecarphil1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2010, 03:44 PM   #17234
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 596
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sidecarphil1 View Post
Iwould like a set up for 1/12th with a 10.5 SP v3 motor and the track has a 25m long straight and flowing but tight infield

including some idea for roll out , i have been running today and the motor is cold

final settings were

Start 4,XXX
End 18,XXX
boost 35
Turbo 5
delay 0.15
ramp 2.0
roll out 45 ish
push control 5
drag off
brake max
throttle profile 3

Thanks Phil
rollout looks ok, but the last time i ran, I had my rpm ranges very different (800-10000 ish), no turbo and a little more boost (mid 40's) that was ok as a starting point.

I've not run it for a while now though.
__________________
CPD Racing
chris_dono is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2010, 04:12 PM   #17235
Tech Elite
 
M-Technic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Palm Beach, FL
Posts: 2,562
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Can someone please PM me a link to download the Hotwire 4 software so I can downgrade back to v203? Thank you!
__________________
RCAmerica | Xray | Hudy | Radiopost | Speed Passion USA | Trinity | P3 Graphics
M-Technic is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:45 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net