Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Tekin RS ESC sensored >

Tekin RS ESC sensored

Tekin RS ESC sensored

Reply

Old 09-30-2010, 07:34 AM
  #17206  
Guest
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2,161
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default thanks

Hey guys thank u for halls input!!!!! I will be ordering a rs 17.5 combo today!!
LOSIRACER77 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2010, 07:44 AM
  #17207  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Northern & Central Illinois
Posts: 4,337
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by LOSIRACER77 View Post
Hey guys thank u for halls input!!!!! I will be ordering a rs 17.5 combo today!!
I've been using the Tekin RS for a few years and never had any issue with it no matter what configuration. The only problem I ever had was with my computer USB connection to the Hotwire. Once that was resolved everything went perfectly.

At my local carpet track the 1/12 scalers are split between the RS and GTB. One had a BD to try out, it was fast but not any faster than a well set up car using an RS or GTB. Looks like the GTB people may go to Kinetics, we'll see. Also we are mostly using Rx packs for 1S and 13.5 motors. No one other than me has used a booster and I stopped using one in favor of the 2S LiFe 220mah pack which is a little tiny bit heavier but easier to install on the chassis.
AreCee is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2010, 07:55 AM
  #17208  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
hairy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: In the Good ole' U.S.A.
Posts: 2,327
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by LOSIRACER77 View Post
I am not tring to start any ** sir. But I am wanting to start racing 1/12 and I need a speedcontrol / 17.5 motor combo. I HATE to ask u this but can I trust the RS? And what all do I need to race it.??
Tekin all the way...and when i have had problem, and they have been few, Tekin takes good care of it's customers. they have a real good customer service line if you have questions or concerns. Used tekin speedos since the 1990's and allways will . And for the record I am NOT sponsored by them or any other manufacterer, I am an independent by choice so that
I can use what I like. Good luck!!!!!!
hairy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2010, 06:00 PM
  #17209  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (24)
 
kuruption's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Southeast PA
Posts: 2,118
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Getting my 1/12 scale together for the indoor season. I see the IIC setups are posted online, but both of the 13.5 setups failed to include a gearing or rollout.

I get that maybe they don't want to give away all the secrets, so I'm just going to ask for an idea. Obviously there is a big difference between a 28/96 and a 40/74. So, could someone give me an idea for gearing w/ 208?

Thanks.
kuruption is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2010, 06:57 PM
  #17210  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (102)
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,366
Trader Rating: 102 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by kuruption View Post
Getting my 1/12 scale together for the indoor season. I see the IIC setups are posted online, but both of the 13.5 setups failed to include a gearing or rollout.

I get that maybe they don't want to give away all the secrets, so I'm just going to ask for an idea. Obviously there is a big difference between a 28/96 and a 40/74. So, could someone give me an idea for gearing w/ 208?

Thanks.
what 12th class there are 3
20 SMOKE is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2010, 07:25 PM
  #17211  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (24)
 
kuruption's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Southeast PA
Posts: 2,118
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by 20 SMOKE View Post
what 12th class there are 3
13.5... mentioned in my original question
kuruption is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2010, 08:37 PM
  #17212  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (34)
 
RedBullFiXX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Intergalactic Planetary
Posts: 6,542
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by kuruption View Post
Getting my 1/12 scale together for the indoor season. I see the IIC setups are posted online, but both of the 13.5 setups failed to include a gearing or rollout.

I get that maybe they don't want to give away all the secrets, so I'm just going to ask for an idea. Obviously there is a big difference between a 28/96 and a 40/74. So, could someone give me an idea for gearing w/ 208?

Thanks.
Around 80 to 85 roll is common with 13.5 boosted at our 90x45 indoor track.
RedBullFiXX is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2010, 09:22 AM
  #17213  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (6)
 
tunerjetta29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Fontana,CA
Posts: 690
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Hey guys i'm having issues with getting the ESC to go through the calibration. It will go into calibration mode.....gives me the constant beeping. It chimes to confirm neutral but wont confirm throttle/brake. Trims are set at center. When turn off the ESC and turn it back on it recognizes throttle and brake but only has about 30% of both (3 leds light up full throttle, 3 full brake).

Any recommendations?
tunerjetta29 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2010, 12:46 PM
  #17214  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (1)
 
jjfo80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: queensland australia
Posts: 759
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by tunerjetta29 View Post
Hey guys i'm having issues with getting the ESC to go through the calibration. It will go into calibration mode.....gives me the constant beeping. It chimes to confirm neutral but wont confirm throttle/brake. Trims are set at center. When turn off the ESC and turn it back on it recognizes throttle and brake but only has about 30% of both (3 leds light up full throttle, 3 full brake).

Any recommendations?
Mate what radio and receiver are you using??
jjfo80 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2010, 02:01 PM
  #17215  
Tech Master
iTrader: (4)
 
Dog Bone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 1,411
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Reduce your endpoints below 100% (say to 95%), and then try the calibration. Once you're done, reset the end points to 100%. There have been some cases where calibration has failed due to the endpoints being at 100% (or higher).
Dog Bone is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2010, 03:51 PM
  #17216  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (6)
 
tunerjetta29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Fontana,CA
Posts: 690
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

I'm running a Futaba 3PK with 603fs receiver. I tried reducing the endpoints but still no luck.
tunerjetta29 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2010, 04:09 PM
  #17217  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (11)
 
dbmartin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ocala, FL
Posts: 644
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by tunerjetta29 View Post
Hey guys i'm having issues with getting the ESC to go through the calibration. It will go into calibration mode.....gives me the constant beeping. It chimes to confirm neutral but wont confirm throttle/brake. Trims are set at center. When turn off the ESC and turn it back on it recognizes throttle and brake but only has about 30% of both (3 leds light up full throttle, 3 full brake).

Any recommendations?
Try switching the throttle normal/reverse switch. I had to do that on my 4pk
dbmartin is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2010, 05:10 PM
  #17218  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (26)
 
reenmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Studio City, CA
Posts: 2,539
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by tunerjetta29 View Post
Hey guys i'm having issues with getting the ESC to go through the calibration. It will go into calibration mode.....gives me the constant beeping. It chimes to confirm neutral but wont confirm throttle/brake. Trims are set at center. When turn off the ESC and turn it back on it recognizes throttle and brake but only has about 30% of both (3 leds light up full throttle, 3 full brake).

Any recommendations?
Originally Posted by dbmartin View Post
Try switching the throttle normal/reverse switch. I had to do that on my 4pk
This is the problem. Reverse the throttle and you will be in business.
reenmachine is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2010, 06:53 PM
  #17219  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (4)
 
Jsaves's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Montana
Posts: 506
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default Good Service

Hey Guys,
I sent in a motor that needed the female plug for the sensor wire replaced and it was back to me within a week and a half. When I went to put it into the car I checked the timing and noticed I could not move the black cap end any more. One call to Tekin and I sent it back. One week and a day later I had in my hands a new motor ready for use. Great Service Tekin!
God Bless
Jsaves is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2010, 07:25 PM
  #17220  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (26)
 
STLNLST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 9,122
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Jsaves View Post
Hey Guys,
I sent in a motor that needed the female plug for the sensor wire replaced and it was back to me within a week and a half. When I went to put it into the car I checked the timing and noticed I could not move the black cap end any more. One call to Tekin and I sent it back. One week and a day later I had in my hands a new motor ready for use. Great Service Tekin!
God Bless
The guys at Tekin are there for their customers. Good luck with the new motor and happy racing
STLNLST is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service