R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-19-2010, 01:14 PM   #17056
Tech Champion
 
Krio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: At dirt tracks in Michigan!
Posts: 5,102
Trader Rating: 150 (99%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tag View Post
hi question for you guys , i am planning to run non timing 17.5 and have hence deactivated all boost/timing feature on my Rs , how many lights will lit up when turning on the ESc indicating timing deactivation ? i am asking becuse i have not notice anything different, still one solid light would lit up , did i miss anything ?

i have the most update software installed, if that helps.
Just moving the sliders to zero boost/turbo won't activate "spec mode" leds. You have to put the timing profile on 1 and then the middle led will flash when you are at neutral.
__________________
www.kriostasis.com
Krio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2010, 01:19 PM   #17057
Tech Lord
 
wingracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 12,861
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tag View Post
hi question for you guys , i am planning to run non timing 17.5 and have hence deactivated all boost/timing feature on my Rs , how many lights will lit up when turning on the ESc indicating timing deactivation ? i am asking becuse i have not notice anything different, still one solid light would lit up , did i miss anything ?

i have the most update software installed, if that helps.
The one led will be on (the third one I think) but keep watching it. It will flash but it's a slow flash. It stays on for a while then goes out for just a fraction and comes on again. Kind of like intermittent windshield wipers, it's not a continuous flash.
__________________
Sean. Certified speed crazed mowron.
Team Shepherd USA
www.ashfordhobby.com
wingracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2010, 03:34 PM   #17058
Tech Elite
 
nerdling's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Canberra
Posts: 2,849
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jsaves View Post
I apologize for the newbe question that I should know, but how do you change the motor timing? I have not done it in a while. So I loosened the motor plastic cap screws and tried to turn the black cap to no avail. What am I doing wrong?
Thanks and God Bless
what type of motor?
__________________
--XRAY--NOSRAM--PROTOFORM--MUCHMORE--
www.teamxray.com -- www.hudy.net -- www.hobbyexpress.com.au
nerdling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2010, 04:40 PM   #17059
Tech Regular
 
Jsaves's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Montana
Posts: 495
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default 17.5 redline

Sorry,
17.5 redline
__________________
Proud member of Magic City RC Racers
Magic City R/C (Facebook)
CRC GT-R
CRC WTF-1
Jsaves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2010, 05:00 PM   #17060
Tech Addict
 
RDOUBLEDAY's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 653
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Anyone Have a Good Setup for 12th scale With Rs And duo2 17.5? I think the Track has A 70 ft strait. its in a crc carpet knife with it geared 44/81
__________________
Mugen Mbx6 Eco .
RDOUBLEDAY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2010, 05:32 PM   #17061
Tech Master
 
RC-ProSpeed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 1,066
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wingracer View Post
The one led will be on (the third one I think) but keep watching it. It will flash but it's a slow flash. It stays on for a while then goes out for just a fraction and comes on again. Kind of like intermittent windshield wipers, it's not a continuous flash.


Actually the light will blink/flash continuously (fast pace)in neutral... You won't have a doub when you see it; it will switch to from time to time to temp indicator but will go back to the continuos flashing

Timing profile needs to be on 1 (not CS1) go all way down on the slider when using hot-wire and I think you can adj. On the esc with the on board control... TP set it to led 1 I believe.
__________________
RCRNV (www.rcrnv.com) / *Keep On-Road alive!*
- Nitro Touring - Kyosho EVO 2 WC
- Electric - TC6 (Out of the Box! No upgrades needed)
- F1 - F103RM (Out of the Box! No upgrades needed)
RC-ProSpeed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2010, 05:34 PM   #17062
Tech Elite
 
lightfoot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Thousand Oaks
Posts: 3,594
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default idiots need help...

I was at Corona track last Sunday pitting with 3 other guys... we were all running 17.5 with Tekins... 2 of us had laptops, and non of us knew exactly what we were doing... Is there any website out there that explains what each setting does, when to use it, when not to use it... kinda of like a "Idiots guide to the Tekin 208" ???

__________________
Love and Peace...
lightfoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2010, 07:07 PM   #17063
Tech Champion
 
RedBullFiXX's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Intergalactic Planetary
Posts: 6,542
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lightfoot View Post
I was at Corona track last Sunday pitting with 3 other guys... we were all running 17.5 with Tekins... 2 of us had laptops, and non of us knew exactly what we were doing... Is there any website out there that explains what each setting does, when to use it, when not to use it... kinda of like a "Idiots guide to the Tekin 208" ???

Included from Tekin with the 208 update
I would assume the built in profiles would be very useful, did you try them ?

Quote:
Making it easier. RS and RX8 On-Board Timing Profiles
Who needs a separate programming box when all the features are available on the ESC at the touch of a button? While the HotWire is needed for fine-tuning and software updates, we realize not everyone wants to carry a computer to the track. To make it easier, 208 has new Timing Profiles which are taking the place of Throttle Profiles on the RS's onboard interface. Throttle Profile settings are still available using the HotWire. Throttle curve adjustments can also be made on almost all good radios.

The user can now select from 5 preset Timing Profiles on the RS and RS PRO without a HotWire.
RS and RS PRO
TP1 Spec Mode 0deg Boost (LED flashes when in neutral so Tech can easily verify mode)
TP2 15deg Boost, 5442 RPM to 20,000 RPM
TP3 25deg Boost, 5442 RPM to 20,000 RPM
TP4 35deg Boost, 5442 RPM to 20,000 RPM
TP5 45deg Boost, 5442 RPM to 20,000 RPM
C1 Custom settings using Hotwire
C2 Custom settings using Hotwire
__________________
--> 12th scale Information Source <--

"Men do not quit playing because they grow old; they grow old because they quit playing."
― Oliver Wendell Holmes Jr.
RedBullFiXX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2010, 08:38 PM   #17064
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 233
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lightfoot View Post
I was at Corona track last Sunday pitting with 3 other guys... we were all running 17.5 with Tekins... 2 of us had laptops, and non of us knew exactly what we were doing... Is there any website out there that explains what each setting does, when to use it, when not to use it... kinda of like a "Idiots guide to the Tekin 208" ???

I find the built-in TP4 and TP5 mode pretty powerful (with a 10.5 motor). If you are not sure what you are doing, try TP1 then TP2 ... TP5 one at a time and see which profile you like. You may not even need to use a custom profile.
hardmankam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2010, 01:40 AM   #17065
Tech Regular
 
TrevCoult's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Worksop, Nottinghamshire, UK
Posts: 355
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RC-ProSpeed View Post
Actually the light will blink/flash continuously (fast pace)in neutral... You won't have a doub when you see it; it will switch to from time to time to temp indicator but will go back to the continuos flashing

Timing profile needs to be on 1 (not CS1) go all way down on the slider when using hot-wire and I think you can adj. On the esc with the on board control... TP set it to led 1 I believe.
Perfectly described. That is exactly what happens.

Quote:
Originally Posted by lightfoot View Post
I was at Corona track last Sunday pitting with 3 other guys... we were all running 17.5 with Tekins... 2 of us had laptops, and non of us knew exactly what we were doing... Is there any website out there that explains what each setting does, when to use it, when not to use it... kinda of like a "Idiots guide to the Tekin 208" ???

For now have a look at my 203 guide here.

http://www.carsrcracing.co.uk/?p=188

It has almost everything you need to figure out 208 too, just in a different place in the software and the timing profiles are missing.

I have a 208 one in progress too, screen shots done and the words just need to go in the right place now....

Trev
__________________
Schumacher Atom GT12
Schumacher Eclipse 12th
www.carsrcracing.co.uk
CARSrcracing.co.uk Webmaster
Schumacher Racing
TrevCoult is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2010, 04:41 AM   #17066
Tech Regular
 
TrevCoult's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Worksop, Nottinghamshire, UK
Posts: 355
Default

The Vegas 208 version of my Tekin RS beginners programming article is now complete. It can be found at

http://www.carsrcracing.co.uk/?p=244

Trev
__________________
Schumacher Atom GT12
Schumacher Eclipse 12th
www.carsrcracing.co.uk
CARSrcracing.co.uk Webmaster
Schumacher Racing
TrevCoult is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2010, 05:34 AM   #17067
Tech Addict
 
georgec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: TN
Posts: 624
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

When using the TP settings in 208 should I remove timing from the motor end bell? (Redline 17.5)
Thanks
georgec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2010, 06:00 AM   #17068
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

you can use motor timing
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2010, 06:23 AM   #17069
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 241
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TrevCoult View Post
The Vegas 208 version of my Tekin RS beginners programming article is now complete. It can be found at

http://www.carsrcracing.co.uk/?p=244

Trev
Many thanks, Trev. Very well written and very helpful.
Larry Brown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2010, 03:45 PM   #17070
Tech Addict
 
Bubblehead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Portsmouth, VA
Posts: 708
Default 17.5 Redline

Should I be adding timing to my motor? I have the timing at 0.
Bubblehead is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:12 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net