R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-25-2010, 06:42 AM   #16801
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 18
Default

Thanks for the advise folks, I feel much happier that I haven't wasted my cash on the speed passion motor now.

One last question, should I put the timing on the motor endbell down to 0, or leave it at 10 as this is what I set it to to run on my Nosram Evo ESC.

I'm kind of guessing that I should go back to zero and play with the ESC settings, and if I can't get enough out of the motor try edging the timing up on the motor.]

Thanks
Markeo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2010, 06:57 AM   #16802
Tech Elite
 
hairy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: In the Good ole' U.S.A.
Posts: 2,323
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sidecarphil1 View Post
yup thats what I ment sorry , I thought Muppet was a universal word

I maintain my car perfectly and to sugest something faulty on my car if you knew me would not be a question ...

I cannot test against the others as they dont train so much as me and when they do train I am usually working due to my shifts at work..

As i said the only thing that changed in my car was the speedos softwere so i am thinking that IS the problem , and can 10 other people who are having almost the same problems as me have a bad bearing or a bent tierod or a broken belt or so on ..... after just uploading softwere ???
IF I knew you we wouldn't be discussing this over the internet now would we?

o.k. sooo how do you know you are down 2 seconds if you are not racing?
What are you comparing this to?
I'm not trying to an ass but you offer no reasoning or state how it is you know you are 2 seconds slower.
__________________
MERLIN RACING
"He once ran a marathon because it was on his way"
Logic is a lost art!
You are defined in life by how you respond to defeat!
hairy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2010, 07:06 AM   #16803
Tech Addict
 
Skitee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Posts: 745
Default

@Markeo So far I've had the best results running 5 on the motor which is in the middle, It was also really quick with 10 on the motor but would run a little too warm when the ambient was up.
__________________
Xray T4 2018 ~ HobbyWing Xerun XR10 Pro ~ Motiv RC 4.5
Xray X12 2018 ~ ORCA Vritra VX3 1S ~ Speedzone 4.5

POWERED BY SPEEDZONE USA
Skitee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2010, 07:37 AM   #16804
Tech Adept
 
mr fit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: new jersey usa
Posts: 163
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Markeo View Post
Hi
I've just bought an RS and was planning to run it with my existing SP V3.0 13.5T motor, however a couple of guiys at are club are telling me not to bother as the RS does not work well with this motor and I need to buy a LRP X12 13.5T to get the best performace. This suprised me as I though the SP motors were pretty good, and with the adjustabiltiy of the RS I should be able to get a pretty good setup.

Has anybody got a SP V3.0 13.5T motor running on a RS / RS Pro that they are happy with, or un happy with?

My ESC will be runing 208 when it's installed

Thanks
most people at the track that I race at use either speedpassion or boss motors ( boss motors are retuned speedpassion v3's). and everyone is happy. so far I have not heard any complaints. and some of the drivers are well known and sponsored champions. some use Lrp x12's they say the motors carry too much dragbrake and have high temps.
__________________
marc davila aka... marc ups.... drive it like you stole it.
mr fit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2010, 07:43 AM   #16805
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,920
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 20 SMOKE View Post
i think you hit the nail on the head,your not suppost to run max timing as it can bog down and i think that is why you are slower
It is the only way i can get it to work quick , every other settijg is just no good , i am open to sugestions of set ups ti try but this at the moment is quickest for me
sidecarphil1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2010, 07:47 AM   #16806
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,920
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hairy View Post
IF I knew you we wouldn't be discussing this over the internet now would we?

o.k. sooo how do you know you are down 2 seconds if you are not racing?
What are you comparing this to?
I'm not trying to an ass but you offer no reasoning or state how it is you know you are 2 seconds slower.
Mylaps , i do so much training on my own that i find myself racing against the clock and i set my transponder timer to 7 mins then set it going after 1 flying warm up lap then race till my timer gois off and finish that lap then i know how many laps i can do and my laptimes

I know the our track changes every day but usually with a change of tyres i can get intp the mid 17's now i am in the mid 19's

I am lost forbwhere the speed has gone i cannot understand it BUT the only thing i changed was the speedo softwere
sidecarphil1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2010, 07:53 AM   #16807
Tech Master
 
JCarr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Dayton,OH
Posts: 1,244
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sidecarphil1 View Post
Mylaps , i do so much training on my own that i find myself racing against the clock and i set my transponder timer to 7 mins then set it going after 1 flying warm up lap then race till my timer gois off and finish that lap then i know how many laps i can do and my laptimes

I know the our track changes every day but usually with a change of tyres i can get intp the mid 17's now i am in the mid 19's

I am lost forbwhere the speed has gone i cannot understand it BUT the only thing i changed was the speedo softwere
Did you ever try new/different batteries? I had some IP packs that went dead on me after only about 6 months use. Car was quick , but just seemed to lack a little something. I borrowed another racers pack and it was night and day. Just food for thought.
__________________
Gorilla Size Racing

R10 USGT, TRF416 USGT, DB10R, TA05R VTA, R40, RS4 3SS, RS4 super, Savage, Hellfire.

Youthful enthusiasm only rules until old age and common sense exert themselves
JCarr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2010, 08:01 AM   #16808
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,920
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JCarr View Post
Did you ever try new/different batteries? I had some IP packs that went dead on me after only about 6 months use. Car was quick , but just seemed to lack a little something. I borrowed another racers pack and it was night and day. Just food for thought.
this is my next test , i will borrow a pack from a mate and test them back to back
sidecarphil1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2010, 08:03 AM   #16809
Tech Elite
 
M-Technic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Palm Beach, FL
Posts: 2,562
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin Marcy View Post
Any chance you're using a JR/Spektrum high torque servo? I've been having similar issues with 2 different brands of ESC. The local hobby shop was told by Castle Creations that for some reason, JR high-torque servos can draw up to 6 amps when changing direction, which causes the ESC's BEC circuit to shut down briefly. This re-boots your receiver for a second or two and (if you're lucky), the car stops. At the end of a straightaway, the amp draw should be lower at high RPM, so any low voltage issues should happen when you first hit full throttle. My car always seems to shut down at the end of the straight just as I turn in, so Castle's explanation sounds possible. I'm going to try a big capacitor on the receiver this week, and if that fails swap to differend brand of servo.
It could be the servo but I suggest you check each electronic component one by one. For instance, I recently had a problem with losing steering as soon as I went full throttle. I tried different receivers, servos, and different speed controls. It turned out to be my transponder shorting out the receiver in the third channel slot. Moved the transponder to channel 4 and no more problems.
__________________
RCAmerica | Xray | Hudy | Radiopost | Speed Passion USA | Trinity | P3 Graphics
M-Technic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2010, 11:50 AM   #16810
Tech Addict
 
Akudou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: KL
Posts: 749
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Sory late reply, have been busy. Running an RS Pro. No fan blowing at solder post, no heat shrink at all. I suspect its my LRP Capitor aint capable of handing the heat or either my capacitor is dead.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cpt.America View Post
And you're running an RS pro? or just an RS?
Do you have a fan blowing across your solder posts?
Do you have any heat shrink on your solder posts?
Akudou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2010, 12:18 PM   #16811
Super Moderator
 
Cpt.America's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Washington State
Posts: 11,081
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Akudou View Post
Sory late reply, have been busy. Running an RS Pro. No fan blowing at solder post, no heat shrink at all. I suspect its my LRP Capitor aint capable of handing the heat or either my capacitor is dead.
If you are running a 4.5 octawind, try running this and see what you get:

FDR 9.0
Fan on solder posts
Factory Tekin cap X2
0 boost
0 turbo

If it has no acceleration whatsoever down the straight like you say... something else i swrong
__________________
A big thanks to my sponsors:
- Fantom Racing - www.fantomracing.com -
- Fusion Graphix- www.fusiongraphix.com -
- RCSpecialties -
Cpt.America is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2010, 03:28 PM   #16812
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Norway
Posts: 101
Default

A question about an LRP x12 10.5T

I have the insert with 0000 (four dots) Is that what you would refer to as zero timing, what most people suggest as best for Tekin?
Finken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2010, 03:40 PM   #16813
Tech Addict
 
Skitee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Posts: 745
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Finken View Post
A question about an LRP x12 10.5T

I have the insert with 0000 (four dots) Is that what you would refer to as zero timing, what most people suggest as best for Tekin?
No the 4 dot insert is -10 but even with the 4 dot timing insert the X-12 motor still has around 18 degrees of timing, so you need to be gentle with the timing on the RS.
__________________
Xray T4 2018 ~ HobbyWing Xerun XR10 Pro ~ Motiv RC 4.5
Xray X12 2018 ~ ORCA Vritra VX3 1S ~ Speedzone 4.5

POWERED BY SPEEDZONE USA
Skitee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2010, 03:48 PM   #16814
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Norway
Posts: 101
Default

Ok, i understand. But you will recomend four dots as the best "insert", along with 45 timing B, 10 TB, 5xxx-14xxx RPM delay 0,2 ramp 2 ??
Finken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2010, 04:43 PM   #16815
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Finken View Post
Ok, i understand. But you will recomend four dots as the best "insert", along with 45 timing B, 10 TB, 5xxx-14xxx RPM delay 0,2 ramp 2 ??
a round the 60-70 timing range with motor timing,i only use 60 total some use as much as 80+,what i would do is use no turbo use motor and timing boost and add turbo later if needed
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:17 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net