R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-14-2008, 08:43 AM   #1666
Tech Master
 
davepull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Orange Park, Florida
Posts: 1,180
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikky32 View Post
i have sended you an E-mail bij rctech. is that the right mail adres?
greetings Emiel

[email protected]
davepull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2008, 09:05 AM   #1667
Tech Regular
 
markus216's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Salisbury,MD
Posts: 350
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to markus216
Default

any of you guys trying to sell one?(Tekin RS)
Thanks
__________________
-Markus Scott
Xray M18 Pro, CRC 3.2R

(MRL)Micro Racing League - www.microracingleague.com
markus216 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2008, 10:26 AM   #1668
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 632
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

.

Last edited by Josh Keller; 09-26-2009 at 08:01 PM.
Josh Keller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2008, 11:44 AM   #1669
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 649
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Josh Keller View Post
Well, I've got a little problem. I'm getting ready to go do some 1C LiPo testing and I'm having a problem with my RS Pro. Without a receiver pack, the motor doesn't work. But with a receiver pack it does. Red wire connected or not, switch on or off. Personal transponder and servo plugged in or not. It didn't matter. I'm thinking something along the lines of the battery, but at 4.22 it shouldn't be a problem. I'm going to check my Hotwire settings again, and double check the voltage cutoff. That's all I can really think it may be.

I'm kind of stumped on this one.

Thanks,

Josh
With single cell, I had to run a receiver pack or voltage booster to get the speedo to work properly. You'll probably need the receiver pack or booster to get the transponder and servo to work properly anyway.

The RS works great for single cell as long as you power it up with the receiver pack or voltage booster. Just use the switch on the receiver pack and leave the speedo switch off.

Ran single cell yesterday at the local track and it worked fine with a voltage booster. It looks like you can run full voltage boost with single cell but it's a little over the top with 4 cell.
Fred_B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2008, 12:15 PM   #1670
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

Fred is on the same level as I was with initial testing.

I prefer the receiver pack as that gives all the 1s packs power to drive the motor.

Rx pack, RS switch off. Old school....

With the Gv2 gearing, I'm pretty sure the internal is 2.4ish so start out with a 26 and gear for power/speed and temps. That should get you in the ball park.
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2008, 05:26 PM   #1671
Tech Master
 
afr0sch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Dallas, Tx
Posts: 1,259
Trader Rating: 95 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to afr0sch
Default Using and RS w/ a 7.5 in mod 4wd buggy

Any potential issues with using an RS ESC with say a 7.5 or 8.5 sensored motor in 4wd buggy? Or, do I really need to get the RS Pro for 4wd mod buggy? I know the RS can handle the motor, but are there heat issues and such that truly warrant the jump up to the RS Pro ESC?

I LOVE my RS/13.5 combo in 2wd buggy!

Any info is appreciated.
afr0sch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2008, 05:52 PM   #1672
Tech Elite
 
SpraydbySprague's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Conducting aggressive board meetings at my local track
Posts: 3,301
Trader Rating: 64 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by afr0sch View Post
Any potential issues with using an RS ESC with say a 7.5 or 8.5 sensored motor in 4wd buggy? Or, do I really need to get the RS Pro for 4wd mod buggy? I know the RS can handle the motor, but are there heat issues and such that truly warrant the jump up to the RS Pro ESC?

I LOVE my RS/13.5 combo in 2wd buggy!

Any info is appreciated.
I run the RS Pro in my B44 with a 4.5 turn motor. Complete overkill, I know, but it's nice to have the extra power on tap. IMHO,with the heat produced in 4wd off road, it's nice to know the RS Pro can handle it.
__________________
How would I describe my holeshots?

Three words...

Ready... Steady... Confetti!!!! (gonna need a new one of those)
SpraydbySprague is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2008, 07:44 PM   #1673
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

If you're not going to run anything lower than say a 7.5 in your wheeler than the RS will do just fine. As always though if the bite is high and you aren't allowing ANY airflow you may get it hot but I doubt it. I actually tested the RS with an 8.5 in my Bj4we and couldn't thermal it on my local track.
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2008, 07:47 PM   #1674
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 726
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Randy- I am running world gt class 4 cell 17.5 and nobody around here runs Tekin. I want to run tekin and want to know the stock numbers for the brushless motor and speed controler I need to order. Or stock number for the combo.


Thansk
PUDDIN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2008, 07:50 PM   #1675
Tech Champion
 
Krio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: At dirt tracks in Michigan!
Posts: 5,102
Trader Rating: 150 (99%+)
Default

I think the stock number for the combo is TT2151
__________________
www.kriostasis.com
Krio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2008, 09:53 PM   #1676
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 632
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

.

Last edited by Josh Keller; 09-27-2009 at 12:41 PM.
Josh Keller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2008, 08:51 AM   #1677
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Helmond
Posts: 1,544
Default

can you change the timing on a redline motor?
Because than i can not use it in the races. no timing on the motor allouwed.
Now i hope that they find the problem in my Tekin RS pro. Tha i can use it at the next race in Viol.

one question. The Genius 120 from GM can time 80 instead of 45.
No i want this also. When will it come on the Tekin?

Great job already with what you have don already. The rs pro is great.
It's excellerating faster than a LRP sphere TC.
Do we also get launch control as on the LRP?
All the power of the battery strait to the motor.
__________________
http://www.mikky32.com
Tekin RS pro
TOP racing Photon
Tekin Redline 10,5
Protoform LTC-R
mikky32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2008, 11:36 AM   #1678
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

Not sure why you would want 80 degrees of timing. That would get you into the wrong phase in a hurry.

You can turn the redline timing down to 0 by loosening the 3 screws and turing the endbell clockwise.

We offer full battery power all of the time unlike other escs that may feel the need not to. Our "launch control" is ready right from the go as long as your punch control is off. We give you all the battery has got to give!
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2008, 12:01 PM   #1679
Tech Master
 
ngo8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
Posts: 1,264
Send a message via ICQ to ngo8
Default

I ran my RSPRO yesterday with redline 10.5 and i have to say my cyclone was a rocket down the straight and very smooth around the track even though i had issues with my car running rubber tires on carpet for the first time after running foams for 10 years the speedo and the motor ran flawless thank you tekin for makeing a great speedo ,all i have to say is tekin is back as they where my favorite speed controls back in the day late 80s early 90s.
__________________
Xray|ORCA|Sanwa|Trinity|KoPropo
ngo8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2008, 12:04 PM   #1680
Tech Master
 
shadow102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1,441
Trader Rating: 21 (96%+)
Default

Ran the new software on saturday and it ran great. I know I knocked off about .5 of my fastest laptime and a couple other guys who had got the software pulled as much as 1second off their fastest lap.

I am still experimenting but running a speedpassion 13.5 I was running 15 boost with a one way in my touring car. Came off at about 140ish after 6 minutes. In the main I switched to a spool and turned my brakes all the way up also turned boost down to 10. Running a 4.875fdr the motor stayed at about 145ish but I lost a lot of time because it took forever to get up to speed coming onto the back straight but was a rocket toward the end. Can I increase the fdr for more accell and increase the boost for the straight speed?
__________________
Hot Bodies Cyclone - - TeamTekin - - Spektrum - - Team Orion - - Futaba

www.nexusracing.com
www.go-rc.org
shadow102 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:05 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net