R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-23-2010, 09:34 PM   #16756
Regional Moderator
 
CarbonJoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,661
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MantisWorx View Post
just making sure i have this right before i melt somethin down! if you are running in sensored mode it does not matter where the endbell timing is right?
No, in sensored mode it matters very much. The static timing in the motor is always there in sensored mode. In sensorless, the static timing doesn't really matter since the sensors aren't used anyway. In dual mode, the sensors are only used at startup and below some fixed low RPM.
__________________
*** The Gate - Celebrating 8 years at the same location ***
The difference between genius and stupidity is that genius has its limits. - Albert Einstein
Understeer is when you hit the wall with the front of the car and oversteer is when you hit the wall with the rear of the car
CarbonJoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2010, 10:27 PM   #16757
Tech Addict
 
warnos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 522
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default New Redline motors

Just a little something I noticed on my Tekin Reline motors.. two of my Tekin Redline motors have a 12.3mm rotor (21.5 and 17.5).. these motors are the older motors with no laser engraving.. the newer laser engraved motors I have came with 12.5mm rotors.. anyone else noticed this??

Always thought the newer motors had more punch.. but seems its also to do with the bigger rotor. On a large track we raced at recently the older motor had more speed down the straight.. makes sense why now..

cheers
__________________
TCX Smokem / F104 wgp
Major Sponsor : Visa Card
TEAM SMA - www.smaracing.org
warnos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2010, 04:35 AM   #16758
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 390
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gameover View Post
yes, it's the weirdest thing i've ever seen, i work with embedded controllers and firmware every day, i cannot for the life of me work out why a simple software flash can cause this

with 203 i run my brakes at 65-75% on the radio, with 208 even on 100% they are strong but delayed when braking from high speed (ie. turbo mode on) the motor is turning in the 50k+ rpm mark.

I can see the full brake lights flashing so there's no issue with not getting full signal.
iv got this problem with 203 and 208, ok in dual mode but in sensor mode at end of long straight delayed brakes, only happens when brakeing after full timming (long straight), in,field ok. good luck let me know if you work it out id love to use my tekin again.
jay m is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2010, 04:40 AM   #16759
Tech Addict
 
HoJo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Singapore
Posts: 592
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default ESC Shuts down after Turbo Kicks In

Hi, just wondering if anyone has experienced a situation where the ESC and/or radio seems to shut down upon turbo kicking in.

Let me describe the situation : this past weekend, my son's car had no steering whatsoever when it reached full speed with turbo. I am not sure if the throttle also shut down, but the the car had no steering and the momentum carried it straight into the wall at the end of the straight (damage assessment : spool outdrive smashed, broken top-deck, suspension pins and arms kaput !)

Car is a T3 with 7.6 FDR, timing boost at 50, start rpm 8k, end rpm 18k, turbo boost at 18, turbo ramp 1, delay 0.2.

I am wondering if the ESC could have shut-down once turbo kicked in as the power draw lowered the battery voltage below the LIPO voltage cutoff ?

Any views on what could have happened.

TIA
HoJo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2010, 04:59 AM   #16760
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 237
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
What motor is this?
Hi Randy,

I'm running a 10.5t X12

Chris...
__________________
XRAY T3 | Team HEI Australia
gameover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2010, 05:05 AM   #16761
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jay m View Post
iv got this problem with 203 and 208, ok in dual mode but in sensor mode at end of long straight delayed brakes, only happens when brakeing after full timming (long straight), in,field ok. good luck let me know if you work it out id love to use my tekin again.
make sure there is no push control on
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2010, 05:36 AM   #16762
Tech Elite
 
nitrobeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Colonia, NJ
Posts: 2,340
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Default LED question

Currently using version 208 and noticed something different with the LED's.

The LED in the middle is on then it takes the temp reading and back to the middle LED. Sometimes all the LED's flash for a second. This happens as soon as i turn it on, its not after a run.

Is this normal now for 208? You can see it happen at the 13,27, and 33'rd second. I tried new sensor cable, motor, and re-calibrated the radio.
+ YouTube Video
ERROR: If you can see this, then YouTube is down or you don't have Flash installed.
__________________
Rui Goncalves
Team CRC|Awesomatix USA|TQ Wire|
Jackson curbs, ready for lift off!

Last edited by nitrobeast; 08-24-2010 at 05:47 AM.
nitrobeast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2010, 06:03 AM   #16763
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

try resetting and re flashing 208 back
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2010, 06:37 AM   #16764
Tech Elite
 
hairy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: In the Good ole' U.S.A.
Posts: 2,323
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

[quote=nitrobeast;7847475]Currently using version 208 and noticed something different with the LED's.

The LED in the middle is on then it takes the temp reading and back to the middle LED. Sometimes all the LED's flash for a second. This happens as soon as i turn it on, its not after a run.

Is this normal now for 208? You can see it happen at the 13,27, and 33'rd second. I tried new sensor cable, motor, and re-calibrated the radio.
+ YouTube Video
ERROR: If you can see this, then YouTube is down or you don't have Flash installed.
[/quote

Talk to the Techs at Tekin. that is the sure fire way to get an answer to your problem. they are there to answer questions about their product. I did and found that they are very helpful and knowledgable(sp?).
Since they built it they should know...right?
You will gat all kind of answers on this thread and some may be right and some will be wrong.
I spent time talking to Tekin reps. and got a solution to my problem.
__________________
MERLIN RACING
"He once ran a marathon because it was on his way"
Logic is a lost art!
You are defined in life by how you respond to defeat!
hairy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2010, 06:58 AM   #16765
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Czech Republic
Posts: 46
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jay m View Post
iv got this problem with 203 and 208, ok in dual mode but in sensor mode at end of long straight delayed brakes, only happens when brakeing after full timming (long straight), in,field ok. good luck let me know if you work it out id love to use my tekin again.
Same problem here, ive read that this should be solved by reflashing ESC..
__________________
Xray | Tekin | LRP | Corally
Martyn666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2010, 07:02 AM   #16766
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 178
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default f

Quote:
Originally Posted by nitrobeast View Post
Currently using version 208 and noticed something different with the LED's.

The LED in the middle is on then it takes the temp reading and back to the middle LED. Sometimes all the LED's flash for a second. This happens as soon as i turn it on, its not after a run.

Is this normal now for 208? You can see it happen at the 13,27, and 33'rd second. I tried new sensor cable, motor, and re-calibrated the radio.
+ YouTube Video
ERROR: If you can see this, then YouTube is down or you don't have Flash installed.
nitrobeast,after load 208 u have reset your esc then re-calibrated ? is reset not is re-calibrated..hope is help...
on d way is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2010, 07:12 AM   #16767
Tech Elite
 
hairy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: In the Good ole' U.S.A.
Posts: 2,323
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I rest my case......TALK TO TEKIN for straight answers!
__________________
MERLIN RACING
"He once ran a marathon because it was on his way"
Logic is a lost art!
You are defined in life by how you respond to defeat!
hairy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2010, 09:33 AM   #16768
Super Moderator
 
Cpt.America's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Washington State
Posts: 11,081
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HoJo View Post
Hi, just wondering if anyone has experienced a situation where the ESC and/or radio seems to shut down upon turbo kicking in.

Let me describe the situation : this past weekend, my son's car had no steering whatsoever when it reached full speed with turbo. I am not sure if the throttle also shut down, but the the car had no steering and the momentum carried it straight into the wall at the end of the straight (damage assessment : spool outdrive smashed, broken top-deck, suspension pins and arms kaput !)

Car is a T3 with 7.6 FDR, timing boost at 50, start rpm 8k, end rpm 18k, turbo boost at 18, turbo ramp 1, delay 0.2.

I am wondering if the ESC could have shut-down once turbo kicked in as the power draw lowered the battery voltage below the LIPO voltage cutoff ?

Any views on what could have happened.

TIA
Sounds to me... most likely... he was just on the trottle too much, turned while still in turbo.. and pushed into the wall. either way, doesnt' sound like an issue with the tekin.
__________________
A big thanks to my sponsors:
- Fantom Racing - www.fantomracing.com -
- Fusion Graphix- www.fusiongraphix.com -
- RCSpecialties -
Cpt.America is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2010, 10:17 AM   #16769
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 144
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HoJo View Post
Hi, just wondering if anyone has experienced a situation where the ESC and/or radio seems to shut down upon turbo kicking in.

Let me describe the situation : this past weekend, my son's car had no steering whatsoever when it reached full speed with turbo. I am not sure if the throttle also shut down, but the the car had no steering and the momentum carried it straight into the wall at the end of the straight (damage assessment : spool outdrive smashed, broken top-deck, suspension pins and arms kaput !)

Car is a T3 with 7.6 FDR, timing boost at 50, start rpm 8k, end rpm 18k, turbo boost at 18, turbo ramp 1, delay 0.2.

I am wondering if the ESC could have shut-down once turbo kicked in as the power draw lowered the battery voltage below the LIPO voltage cutoff ?

Any views on what could have happened.

TIA
Had same thing happen to me but with car having no steering and going WOT down the straight. I have installed an external BEC and the car runs fine now. I have sent in a e-mail to tekin but still have not heard back
Friulimotosport is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2010, 10:20 AM   #16770
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

If the car lost steering that's a receiver/radio issue. What radio system are you using?
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:26 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net