R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-23-2010, 02:32 PM   #16741
Tech Champion
 
lbckevin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 5,528
Trader Rating: 91 (99%+)
Default

I love the new 208 software...

I have no problems with it. I followed the instructions from Tekin and installed it on my laptop and my hobby shop computer and works great.
__________________
Kevin Smith
Hobbywing * Pro-Line * MIP * Paint Monster
lbckevin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2010, 02:45 PM   #16742
Tech Elite
 
Armaan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,149
Trader Rating: 49 (100%+)
Default Tekin RS problem: Steering works, throttle dead

So, on Saturday I was at WCRC, and after hitting the double/tabletop jump, my B4 landed and just stopped moving. I pulled it off and noticed that the steering worked, but the throttle was dead.

I tried different sensor wires, 2 different motors, still nothing.

The LEDs on the RS all light up in sucession when I pull the trigger, and also light up when I brake, just as they normally would do...the only thing is that the motor doesn't move. I tried a brand-new motor, and the same thing...speedo lights up, but no movement.

I switched the channels of my receiver just to make sure it wasn't that, and the channels work fine (pulling the trigger steered the servo, turning the wheel lit up the LEDs on the speedo).

Anyone have something like this happen before?
Armaan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2010, 03:01 PM   #16743
Tech Elite
 
-WHEELMAN-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Redlands, California
Posts: 4,506
Trader Rating: 266 (98%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lbckevin View Post
I love the new 208 software...

I have no problems with it. I followed the instructions from Tekin and installed it on my laptop and my hobby shop computer and works great.
Me to love it!!! Tekin 208 for the win!!! Heard you killed it last night in 17.5 truck way to go kevin!!! See you soon!!!
__________________
BRETT T. RICHARDS = SUPPORT YOUR TROOPS, LOCAL TRACKS AND HOBBY SHOPS OR THEY COULD ALL BE GONE ONE DAY!
-WHEELMAN- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2010, 03:34 PM   #16744
Tech Fanatic
 
macdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 925
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Armaan View Post
So, on Saturday I was at WCRC, and after hitting the double/tabletop jump, my B4 landed and just stopped moving. I pulled it off and noticed that the steering worked, but the throttle was dead.

I tried different sensor wires, 2 different motors, still nothing.

The LEDs on the RS all light up in sucession when I pull the trigger, and also light up when I brake, just as they normally would do...the only thing is that the motor doesn't move. I tried a brand-new motor, and the same thing...speedo lights up, but no movement.

I switched the channels of my receiver just to make sure it wasn't that, and the channels work fine (pulling the trigger steered the servo, turning the wheel lit up the LEDs on the speedo).

Anyone have something like this happen before?
only time is when the power leads shorted together and the controller lost the program. I hooked it up to the hot wire and downloaded the defaults, then changed the settings and everything worked like normal again.
__________________
---------------
KO Eurus / Orca / MMP / XB2 / 22-4 /
macdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2010, 04:22 PM   #16745
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Armaan View Post
So, on Saturday I was at WCRC, and after hitting the double/tabletop jump, my B4 landed and just stopped moving. I pulled it off and noticed that the steering worked, but the throttle was dead.

I tried different sensor wires, 2 different motors, still nothing.

The LEDs on the RS all light up in sucession when I pull the trigger, and also light up when I brake, just as they normally would do...the only thing is that the motor doesn't move. I tried a brand-new motor, and the same thing...speedo lights up, but no movement.

I switched the channels of my receiver just to make sure it wasn't that, and the channels work fine (pulling the trigger steered the servo, turning the wheel lit up the LEDs on the speedo).

Anyone have something like this happen before?
does it beep when turning on,make sure the voltage is set,this happens when going from 2cell to 1cell and you forgot to switch to 1cell.check solder joints and try moving the car and giving throttle at the same time
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2010, 04:35 PM   #16746
Tech Elite
 
Armaan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,149
Trader Rating: 49 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by macdude View Post
only time is when the power leads shorted together and the controller lost the program. I hooked it up to the hot wire and downloaded the defaults, then changed the settings and everything worked like normal again.
I don't have the Hot Wire. I guess I'll go pick that up tonight from my LHS. I'll give that a shot. Thanks!
Armaan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2010, 04:35 PM   #16747
Tech Elite
 
Armaan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,149
Trader Rating: 49 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 20 SMOKE View Post
does it beep when turning on,make sure the voltage is set,this happens when going from 2cell to 1cell and you forgot to switch to 1cell.check solder joints and try moving the car and giving throttle at the same time
I only run 2 cell. It does not beep when I turn it on. Thanks though!
Armaan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2010, 04:39 PM   #16748
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Armaan View Post
I only run 2 cell. It does not beep when I turn it on. Thanks though!
i know,this is a problem that some have when going from 2-1 it does the same thing,ramp and no movement,check to make sure it did not change the voltage,it is a long shot but with some funny things happening anything is possible.try a reset and recalibrate
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2010, 05:07 PM   #16749
Tech Adept
 
noline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 227
Default

Hello There,

Does anyone have a LRP X12 8.5 Brushless 1/12th setup in the sensord mode? And what Spur and pinion should I use?

Here's the track size and my car info:

100"X45" Feet
1.72" inch rear tire
noline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2010, 06:28 PM   #16750
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 237
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cpt.America View Post
Did you remember to a) reset your EPAs back to 100%, and then b) recalibrate your transmitter to your ESC?
yes, it's the weirdest thing i've ever seen, i work with embedded controllers and firmware every day, i cannot for the life of me work out why a simple software flash can cause this

with 203 i run my brakes at 65-75% on the radio, with 208 even on 100% they are strong but delayed when braking from high speed (ie. turbo mode on) the motor is turning in the 50k+ rpm mark.

I can see the full brake lights flashing so there's no issue with not getting full signal.
__________________
XRAY T3 | Team HEI Australia
gameover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2010, 07:02 PM   #16751
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

What motor is this?
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2010, 07:06 PM   #16752
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Covington, La.
Posts: 3,587
Trader Rating: 50 (98%+)
Send a message via AIM to micrors4guy
Default

looking for a starting poing on a 17.5 tekin rs setup on 1s lipo in a 5.1. We are allowd to run boost and my track is 70x35 feet.
micrors4guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2010, 07:21 PM   #16753
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by micrors4guy View Post
looking for a starting poing on a 17.5 tekin rs setup on 1s lipo in a 5.1. We are allowd to run boost and my track is 70x35 feet.
http://www.teamtekin.com/hotwire/ESC...03-17-5-TC.pdf
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2010, 09:24 PM   #16754
Tech Champion
 
MantisWorx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 5,918
Trader Rating: 28 (97%+)
Default

just making sure i have this right before i melt somethin down! if you are running in sensored mode it does not matter where the endbell timing is right?
MantisWorx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2010, 09:27 PM   #16755
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MantisWorx View Post
just making sure i have this right before i melt somethin down! if you are running in sensored mode it does not matter where the endbell timing is right?
no,motor timing is used.dual mode does not
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:30 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net