R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-23-2010, 11:23 AM   #16726
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

turn ringht 0 timing turn left 24deg

http://www.teamtekin.com/blmotors.html
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2010, 11:27 AM   #16727
Tech Master
 
gentleman81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: VA Baby
Posts: 1,657
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

so either go all the way one way, or the other? i see this little scale on the motor label that says 0 to 12 i think, but i dont see a mark on the outside plastic cap to see where it it?
__________________
MTX4R/PICCO(Trophy Taker) - SERP 950/SIRIO(Board Breaker)
PHI '08 - to be announced.....
www.vorra.org - ironbridgesportspark.com - 301raceway*4LIFE*.com
gentleman81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2010, 11:42 AM   #16728
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,920
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

you can go any where in between the 0 and the 24 marks

i used to run about 8 degrees , but set it to 24 dergees , do gearing af around 7.0 and listen to the little bugger squeel

check the temps every minute if you do

we have a 70m straight and i did 7.1 and 24 degrees on my 13.5 then i could run for 5 mins MAX then it was HOT , but no one could catch me

shame we run a 7 min finals

i changed my set up after that
sidecarphil1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2010, 11:54 AM   #16729
Tech Master
 
gentleman81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: VA Baby
Posts: 1,657
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sidecarphil1 View Post
you can go any where in between the 0 and the 24 marks

i used to run about 8 degrees , but set it to 24 dergees , do gearing af around 7.0 and listen to the little bugger squeel

check the temps every minute if you do

we have a 70m straight and i did 7.1 and 24 degrees on my 13.5 then i could run for 5 mins MAX then it was HOT , but no one could catch me

shame we run a 7 min finals

i changed my set up after that

thanks, 7 min mains? thats odd isnt it, LOL
__________________
MTX4R/PICCO(Trophy Taker) - SERP 950/SIRIO(Board Breaker)
PHI '08 - to be announced.....
www.vorra.org - ironbridgesportspark.com - 301raceway*4LIFE*.com
gentleman81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2010, 12:03 PM   #16730
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,920
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

yes we decided during the winter to run 7 min mains , this was because of the 1:5's we share our club races with they get 30 min mains

we wanted more track time per day , but now we are all cooking motors getting them to last the 7 mins 6 times in one day (3 qualis and 3 finals)
sidecarphil1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2010, 12:13 PM   #16731
Tech Master
 
gentleman81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: VA Baby
Posts: 1,657
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sidecarphil1 View Post
yes we decided during the winter to run 7 min mains , this was because of the 1:5's we share our club races with they get 30 min mains

we wanted more track time per day , but now we are all cooking motors getting them to last the 7 mins 6 times in one day (3 qualis and 3 finals)
and 7 min heats, wow man, time for a vote!
where do u measure the timing on the motor, what lines up with those dash marks?
__________________
MTX4R/PICCO(Trophy Taker) - SERP 950/SIRIO(Board Breaker)
PHI '08 - to be announced.....
www.vorra.org - ironbridgesportspark.com - 301raceway*4LIFE*.com
gentleman81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2010, 12:20 PM   #16732
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,920
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

on the back of the motor it has some lines cut into the plastic endbell

the one to the left of the C pole is for motor timing , loosen the 3 bolts on the rear then you can move the end bell left and right to adjust the timing , try loosening them and giving throttle whilst holding the end bell , hold the throttle and 25% then move the endbell and see the differance on the Revs
sidecarphil1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2010, 12:22 PM   #16733
Super Moderator
 
Cpt.America's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Washington State
Posts: 11,081
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gentleman81 View Post
and 7 min heats, wow man, time for a vote!
where do u measure the timing on the motor, what lines up with those dash marks?
If you rotate the back plate all the way clockwise, there is a little tick/mark that you can see lines up wit 0... thats the guy.

Also, make sure you don't overtighten those 3 screws on the back... they just need to be slightly snug. Over tigten, and you will crack the back plate.
__________________
A big thanks to my sponsors:
- Fantom Racing - www.fantomracing.com -
- Fusion Graphix- www.fusiongraphix.com -
- RCSpecialties -
Cpt.America is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2010, 12:37 PM   #16734
Tech Master
 
gentleman81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: VA Baby
Posts: 1,657
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

the guy i got it off of, looked like he may have done that, but it didnt crack, just looks a little wavy like it formed to the pressure when the motor heated up, i wish it was metal. thanks!
__________________
MTX4R/PICCO(Trophy Taker) - SERP 950/SIRIO(Board Breaker)
PHI '08 - to be announced.....
www.vorra.org - ironbridgesportspark.com - 301raceway*4LIFE*.com
gentleman81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2010, 12:48 PM   #16735
Tech Elite
 
speedybill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Belpre, Ohio
Posts: 2,346
Trader Rating: 73 (100%+)
Talking

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
There is no issue on our end. 208 should work identical to 203 if it's setup the same way. Granted there is a smoother feel but laptimes should be the same if not better.

The issue why everyone wants to get 203 back in my opinion is they're not taking enough time to work on their 208 setup.

If anyone needs 203, I'll send it. But my suggestion is to take a track day(when possible) and work on the settings.

[email protected]

Hey Randy,
got a customers truck here, it HAD 208 on it, I went 'back' to 203, I cannot get it to run the turbo mode, you cannot hear it or feel it kick in, have had it on hotwire 6 times with no results

any ideas??

Thankx, Bill
__________________
ROAR member #5-120259
www.speedybillsrc.com
www.ovrccc.com
Sweep Racing Tires
speedybill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2010, 01:37 PM   #16736
Tech Elite
 
hairy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: In the Good ole' U.S.A.
Posts: 2,323
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Hey Tekin way to go!!!
I sent in my speedo with a problem that their customer rep and I worked on for ,several phone calls, over a couple of days.I am terrible with names but I believe that his name is Chris.Back to story: Tekin did me RIGHT in fixing my problem. I won't give details but The fix was spot on and This confirms the reason why I have used Tekin speedos since 1989. they have always treated me right and fairly.Way to go Tekin!!!!
__________________
MERLIN RACING
"He once ran a marathon because it was on his way"
Logic is a lost art!
You are defined in life by how you respond to defeat!
hairy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2010, 01:39 PM   #16737
Tech Elite
 
hairy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: In the Good ole' U.S.A.
Posts: 2,323
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

By the way now that it works I am amazed with V208 and the Rs. Can't wait to get it to the track for some racin'.
__________________
MERLIN RACING
"He once ran a marathon because it was on his way"
Logic is a lost art!
You are defined in life by how you respond to defeat!
hairy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2010, 01:43 PM   #16738
Tech Master
 
2wdrive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,316
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hairy View Post
By the way now that it works I am amazed with V208 and the Rs. Can't wait to get it to the track for some racin'.
Hey some have the same problems as you had so i would like to know how you finaly got a stable performance?
2wdrive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2010, 01:45 PM   #16739
Tech Elite
 
M-Technic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Palm Beach, FL
Posts: 2,562
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hairy View Post
Hey Tekin way to go!!!
I sent in my speedo with a problem that their customer rep and I worked on for ,several phone calls, over a couple of days.I am terrible with names but I believe that his name is Chris.Back to story: Tekin did me RIGHT in fixing my problem. I won't give details but The fix was spot on and This confirms the reason why I have used Tekin speedos since 1989. they have always treated me right and fairly.Way to go Tekin!!!!
Judging by some of the problems others are having in this thread, I'd say several others have damaged and/or defective speedos that they need to send in for service.
__________________
RCAmerica | Xray | Hudy | Radiopost | Speed Passion USA | Trinity | P3 Graphics
M-Technic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2010, 02:20 PM   #16740
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,920
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by M-Technic View Post
Judging by some of the problems others are having in this thread, I'd say several others have damaged and/or defective speedos that they need to send in for service.
yes that is one of my thoughts but i cannot think why mine would be faulty only from softwere

I work for Landrover and modern cars have so many updatable ECU's on them and we work so many hours updating and working on softwere updates for them and never after an update is an ECU faulty , only needs a reflash back to the old softwere and it is ok !!!
sidecarphil1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:01 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net