R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-21-2010, 08:09 PM   #16681
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CarbonJoe View Post
Last season, we were running open ESC settings. Rubber tire, Duo 1 17.5, motor timing middle hole. V2.03 settings were:

Timing Boost 50
Turbo 10
Turbo Delay 0.0
Turbo Ramp 3.0
Start RPM 5383
End RPM 18014
FDR 6.56

This season, we're running ROAR Sportsman Spec profile (no ESC timing, no boost, no turbo). Carpet track is 40x90 feet.

Any idea what FDR I should start at with the reduced timing profile?
3.5-4
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2010, 08:18 PM   #16682
Tech Fanatic
 
vabroom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: dark side of the moon
Posts: 936
Default

Just got a KO eurus, do you still have to run the switch the throttle around for v208.
__________________
RC racing is still trying to prove that two solid objects can be in the same place, at the same time.
vabroom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2010, 08:50 PM   #16683
Tech Fanatic
 
macdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 925
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vabroom View Post
Just got a KO eurus, do you still have to run the switch the throttle around for v208.
I don't but just to be safe you might want to increase the throttle by 1-2%
__________________
---------------
KO Eurus / Orca / MMP / XB2 / 22-4 /
macdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2010, 09:03 PM   #16684
Tech Elite
 
L.Fairtrace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Beyond the Wall
Posts: 3,774
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to L.Fairtrace
Default

For mod I have been running an 8.5 with boost and turbo and having good success. The car is very drivable and pretty much as fast as anyone could want on the straight.

Not one thermal shutdown in 100 degree ambient temps with an RS pro.
__________________
Awesomatix USA - EaMotorsports - RocheUSA - MonTech - Sanwa - BSR Racing Tires - TQ Wire - Solaris Racing Tires - Side Piece Racing

180 and 360 Raceway. Best on the East Coast. Take your pick
L.Fairtrace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2010, 09:14 PM   #16685
Tech Addict
 
bfong13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 611
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by L.Fairtrace View Post
For mod I have been running an 8.5 with boost and turbo and having good success. The car is very drivable and pretty much as fast as anyone could want on the straight.

Not one thermal shutdown in 100 degree ambient temps with an RS pro.
Your lucky. I'm having all kinds of problems with thermal shutdown with my RS in a B44 with LRP X-12 6.5 in 90 deg air temp in dual mode.
bfong13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2010, 09:40 PM   #16686
Tech Elite
 
L.Fairtrace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Beyond the Wall
Posts: 3,774
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to L.Fairtrace
Default

For mod you should of Gotten a RS Pro probably. Also why dual mode?
__________________
Awesomatix USA - EaMotorsports - RocheUSA - MonTech - Sanwa - BSR Racing Tires - TQ Wire - Solaris Racing Tires - Side Piece Racing

180 and 360 Raceway. Best on the East Coast. Take your pick
L.Fairtrace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2010, 09:41 PM   #16687
Super Moderator
 
Matt Trimmings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Tucson AZ
Posts: 5,772
Trader Rating: 158 (100%+)
Default

Anybody have experience with the RS paired with the Orion 10.5's? I will be running 2wd and Truck, track is primarily blue groove and about 100ft wide by 70ft deep, full length back straight with some technical sections. Randy advised me to start out with Kevin Jelich's 10.5 setup which is:

Start RPM:5,442
End RPM:20,000
Timing Boost:45

I just want to make sure i am gearing this correctly as i have not used the RS yet. Thanks.

Just realized this was in the on-road thread...i will ck the off road thread for RS info.

Last edited by Matt Trimmings; 08-21-2010 at 10:16 PM.
Matt Trimmings is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2010, 10:50 PM   #16688
Super Moderator
 
Cpt.America's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Washington State
Posts: 11,081
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bfong13 View Post
Your lucky. I'm having all kinds of problems with thermal shutdown with my RS in a B44 with LRP X-12 6.5 in 90 deg air temp in dual mode.
That's because you can't run a 6.5 with a tekin RS (non-pro) in a 4wd application (b44, touring car, etc). You need to run a Tekin RS Pro, with a fan, and with dual caps.
__________________
A big thanks to my sponsors:
- Fantom Racing - www.fantomracing.com -
- Fusion Graphix- www.fusiongraphix.com -
- RCSpecialties -
Cpt.America is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2010, 05:35 AM   #16689
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bfong13 View Post
Your lucky. I'm having all kinds of problems with thermal shutdown with my RS in a B44 with LRP X-12 6.5 in 90 deg air temp in dual mode.
need the pro for offroad 4wd,add a second cap
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2010, 05:38 AM   #16690
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cpt.America View Post
That's because you can't run a 6.5 with a tekin RS (non-pro) in a 4wd application (b44, touring car, etc). You need to run a Tekin RS Pro, with a fan, and with dual caps.
yes on 4wd no on the 6.5,it can take a 5.5.and it doesnt need a fan or second cap for the pro,i had a b44 and live in FL and could run 20min with out a hitch
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2010, 07:02 AM   #16691
Tech Fanatic
 
jrxs-r's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 831
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Hi everyone....

I sent an email a while ago to Tekin regarding servicing my ESC, but haven't received a reply from them as of yet. Anyone knows if there are any problems with their email system?
__________________
Cheers,
Zack
___________________________________________________________________________
Proudly Sponsored by Stanbridges Hobbies
Serpent S411
jrxs-r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2010, 10:46 AM   #16692
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

When did you send it? There isn't an issue on our end.
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2010, 11:27 AM   #16693
Tech Regular
 
darrenoakley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Dorset UK
Posts: 266
Default

Is there a way to re install 203 or have both on my computer at the same time ?
__________________
Xray x11
Xray T3 011
darrenoakley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2010, 11:39 AM   #16694
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by darrenoakley View Post
Is there a way to re install 203 or have both on my computer at the same time ?
it can but you have to be computer geek
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2010, 11:48 AM   #16695
Tech Regular
 
darrenoakley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Dorset UK
Posts: 266
Default

That counts me out then
__________________
Xray x11
Xray T3 011
darrenoakley is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:29 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net