R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-09-2010, 09:18 PM   #16411
Tech Lord
 
wingracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 12,861
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by micrors4guy View Post
I am getting a tekin rs very soon for my 12th scale. Will a novak servo booster work with the rs? I thought i read somewhere about them having problems with the rs and the novak?
Many, many people run boosters with no problems at all. That being said, I see many more problems with boosters than receiver packs. I'll stick with my pack.
__________________
Sean. Certified speed crazed mowron.
Team Shepherd USA
www.ashfordhobby.com
wingracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2010, 10:25 PM   #16412
Tech Addict
 
radio_car_racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 543
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by radio_car_racer View Post
Tekin 8.5 & 1s rollout

suggest a mmpr for the motor please using 1s
anyone???

or have I missed the reply?
radio_car_racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2010, 10:38 PM   #16413
Tech Lord
 
wingracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 12,861
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by radio_car_racer View Post
anyone???

or have I missed the reply?
That's not something most people run so it's going to be hard to get a good response. Depending on how much timing you are going to run, I'm going to guess at a rollout somewhere between 50mm and 60mm. Just a guess though based on my 10.5 experience.

It might help if you said a little more about what you are running. Is this 1/12th scale?
__________________
Sean. Certified speed crazed mowron.
Team Shepherd USA
www.ashfordhobby.com
wingracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2010, 10:57 PM   #16414
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,920
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gameover View Post
please explain exactly what you did

I have 3 RS Pro's i'm scared to upgrade the other 2 because of this braking thing, and dare i say it i started to look at other brands becuase of this big race in 3 weeks.

FWIW, to answer the other posts i run no drag brake and push is off. I tried with 20% drag brake as a test and it works as expected but the main brakes are still delayed.

I haven't had any problems with Spektrum (except for the dreaded unbinding issue when the 3R was first released) and i doubt, the problem is related to that. It happened when i upgraded from 203 to 208 - my other 203's work just fine.
I removed the Tekin program from my laptop, reloaded it from the Email

updated the speedo and reset the speedo by holding both buttons ,

then reset my transmitter to it , put my setting s back in and went out to test it

my brakes are now at 80% on the transmitter , used to be 60 to 65% though

still better than it was
sidecarphil1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2010, 11:22 PM   #16415
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Hagerstown, MD
Posts: 1,699
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

anybody have a good setup for 17.5 tc on 100 foot track with duo2 and 208 software?
__________________
★Randy Banks★
COLD AS ICE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2010, 12:44 AM   #16416
Tech Elite
 
Andrew Barr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 4,367
Trader Rating: 73 (100%+)
Default

When running the Tekin RS with a 1 cell lipo and using a sperate battery for the receiver/servo, do I need to remove the red wire (for the esc) from the harness that normally plugs into the receiver (Futaba 2.4).

Thanks
__________________
Giant MTB
Andrew Barr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2010, 12:51 AM   #16417
Tech Lord
 
wingracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 12,861
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew Barr View Post
When running the Tekin RS with a 1 cell lipo and using a sperate battery for the receiver/servo, do I need to remove the red wire (for the esc) from the harness that normally plugs into the receiver (Futaba 2.4).

Thanks
No
__________________
Sean. Certified speed crazed mowron.
Team Shepherd USA
www.ashfordhobby.com
wingracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2010, 01:04 AM   #16418
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 36
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by micrors4guy View Post
I am getting a tekin rs very soon for my 12th scale. Will a novak servo booster work with the rs? I thought i read somewhere about them having problems with the rs and the novak?
Mine worked fine with the 198 software but once I went to the 203 it kept shutting off on me everytime I gripped the throttle full. I took it off and bought a booster from a guy in canada, worked like before.
hacker1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2010, 01:48 AM   #16419
Tech Regular
 
TrevCoult's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Worksop, Nottinghamshire, UK
Posts: 355
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wingracer View Post
Many, many people run boosters with no problems at all. That being said, I see many more problems with boosters than receiver packs. I'll stick with my pack.
Some people have had problems with the Novak booster as it has high voltage cutoff built in, and the voltage can easily drop to this level under acceleration.

Most other boosters don't have a voltage cutoff built in so don't have the same problem, though some others have had brownouts.

I use the RC Dynamics booster myself (www.rcdynamics.co.uk), I don't know of a single person who has ever had a problem with one.

Trev
__________________
Schumacher Atom GT12
Schumacher Eclipse 12th
www.carsrcracing.co.uk
CARSrcracing.co.uk Webmaster
Schumacher Racing
TrevCoult is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2010, 03:21 AM   #16420
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by COLD AS ICE View Post
anybody have a good setup for 17.5 tc on 100 foot track with duo2 and 208 software?
50
first line on motor to + SIDE
end 12k
start 4xxx
fdr 6-6.5
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2010, 03:24 AM   #16421
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by H9_nutter View Post
Appologies. Not even using motor timing. Have only had the one run in mod at this stage but not having used the hot wire at all untill now, was just wanting to get a good start point.
40
10
10 motor
start 4k
end 20k
ramp2
delay .3
fdr around 7.5-8
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2010, 06:04 AM   #16422
Tech Elite
 
Andrew Barr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 4,367
Trader Rating: 73 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wingracer View Post
No
Thankyou
__________________
Giant MTB
Andrew Barr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2010, 06:39 AM   #16423
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Rapid City
Posts: 57
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pakk View Post
It took a year and half, but one of the wire leads that go into the RX finally broke yesterday after a year and a half of tugging on the wires to program the ESC. I know I shouldn't be doing that and I have no one to blame but my self. I even have a short extension, but I don't really like using it.

If it comes down to it, I'll use the extension. I should probably buy a few more for my other tekins.

But I'm hoping, just maybe, that someone makes a small enough gauge wire to with stand this kind of abuse. That way I could yank on the wires to my liking. Anyone know of such a wire?

(just happened to be my biggest race ever too. #1 spot in the roar nats sportsman B main leading the race till my car turned off)
I know nobody likes extra stuff on their car but castle makes a product called castlelink(hotwire equivalent) quick connect, it is a smart Y connector that disengages he receiver when you plug it in to the castlelink. It's made for planes that use programmable esc's that are hard to get at. I have one on order and I'll let you know how it works.
slsspark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2010, 12:29 AM   #16424
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,895
Trader Rating: 80 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to cpatel529 Send a message via Yahoo to cpatel529
Default

Anyone have a good starting setup for a 1/10 4wd touring car. I run a 17.5 Trinity Nemesis BL motor. I run on medium to high traction asphalt with a 75-80 ft straight. Will be using firmware 208.

Any help would be much appreciated.

Chi
__________________
Chirag Patel (San Diego, CA)
cpatel529 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2010, 04:27 AM   #16425
Tech Elite
 
nerdling's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Canberra
Posts: 2,849
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by H9_nutter View Post
Hey all. Our club races 10.5 for stock and a limit of 8.5 for mod and I am wanting to make the change up to mod and to keep the 10.5 for now.
Just got the hot wire last night and want advice on settings so I can keep up with the 8.5 guys. Track has 30m main straight a few hair pins but is fairly free flowing in the middle and is medium to low traction at times. They all seem to blow me away on the straight and get heaps more punch out of the corners. I havn't played with the tekin at all and would like to get some settings to try so i can at least stick it to the 8.5's.
Car is xray T3 running a FDR of 5.93 (25/78)
Have the 203 sware not 208
Thanks to all for your advice
Hey H9_Nutter. Attached is my base line setup that I use for both 13.5 and 10.5. I think it might work for you. The screen shot is for 13.5, for 10.5 (and 8.5) I'd drop the timing and boost back a few steps with appropriate adjustment in gearing.
Attached Thumbnails
Tekin RS ESC sensored-2010622-actmcrc-13.5-.jpg  
__________________
--XRAY--NOSRAM--PROTOFORM--MUCHMORE--
www.teamxray.com -- www.hudy.net -- www.hobbyexpress.com.au
nerdling is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:26 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net