R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-04-2010, 09:14 PM   #16246
Tech Elite
 
GSM Storm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 2,277
Trader Rating: 112 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Friulimotosport View Post
Thanks for the input. I changed out rec. to one I had in other car and still the car when't WOT.
Was it a micro receiver you were using, is the 2nd one a micro as well ?

I tried 2 before I changed the whole system.

Regards
Gary
__________________
Driver Gazza
Offroad - RC10 B64 (soon)
Vintage - Kyosho Tomahawk
Fantom Racing, JConcepts, Ace Hobbies/Reedy,
WTF, Plaig Bearings.
GSM Storm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2010, 10:19 PM   #16247
Tech Fanatic
 
runinonempty's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: IN FRONT OF YOU
Posts: 852
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Hi guys can I please get a good set up idea for 17.5 touring car using redline motor on large free flowing asphalt track using rubber tyres track has a very long back straight
Using 208
Also what would you recommend as a good fdr


Thanks in advance
__________________
Xray T4, Tamiya M05 S-Spec
with lots of dust
runinonempty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2010, 11:29 PM   #16248
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,920
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
While the brakes were an "issue" for some it certainly wasn't an issue for all. This is one reason why it's hard to work on something that appears to be limited to a select few people.

Once we gathered enough of the proper information we went to work on improving the brakes, 208 is out problem solved.

We could have released a new esc that had the improved braking software, have you spend another few hundred dollars and not give you the update/improvements for ..........oh yeah FREE!
I have no braeks with 208

they were fantastic with 203 now nothing

and the power delivery is sooooo smooth and linier , i want my BANG out of the corners back

Any ideas Randy ???
sidecarphil1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2010, 04:07 AM   #16249
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 144
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GSM Storm View Post
Was it a micro receiver you were using, is the 2nd one a micro as well ?

I tried 2 before I changed the whole system.

Regards
Gary
Second was also a micro rec. They both worked fine in 1/12 and WGT with tekins in them. Looks like I'll have to get a new radio/rec.
Friulimotosport is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2010, 05:06 AM   #16250
Tech Adept
 
tomracing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 169
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sidecarphil1 View Post
and the power delivery is sooooo smooth and linier , i want my BANG out of the corners back
I guess you used to run a high throttle profile in 203.
since these are used by the timing profiles you now do it on your transmitter.
have you tried the throttle punch setting or positive throttle servo curves in your transmitter?
that should return your punch like you had with the throttle profiles.
__________________
Tom van den Brink
--------------------------
RC Crewchief - setup software for racers
tomracing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2010, 07:34 AM   #16251
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Dorset,UK
Posts: 128
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 20 SMOKE View Post
this is 12th
No 1/10th touring car running 13.5t.
__________________
Zen RSGT, Trinity, Hobbywing, LRP.
M05 S-Spec, LRP, Intellect.
M05 v2 Tekin, Orion, Savox.
B44 Mamba Max, Trakpower.
B44.2 Avid chassis, Speed Passion, Gens Ace.
BILKO1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2010, 08:51 AM   #16252
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by runinonempty View Post
Hi guys can I please get a good set up idea for 17.5 touring car using redline motor on large free flowing asphalt track using rubber tyres track has a very long back straight
Using 208
Also what would you recommend as a good fdr


Thanks in advance
How long of a straight
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2010, 08:52 AM   #16253
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BILKO1 View Post
No 1/10th touring car running 13.5t.
150-160 is good for the motor,how many led's are flashing
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2010, 09:04 AM   #16254
Super Moderator
 
Cpt.America's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Washington State
Posts: 11,081
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sidecarphil1 View Post
and the power delivery is sooooo smooth and linier , i want my BANG out of the corners back
Can't help you with the brakes.

But to get some of your zip back out of the esc, try dropping your end RPM down 1k, or 2k... (something like 4k-11k for 17.5), and maybe bump your throttle profile from 3 to 4.. something like that. You can compensate for the smoother and laggier acceleration with slightly more agressive timing settings... watch your heat.
__________________
A big thanks to my sponsors:
- Fantom Racing - www.fantomracing.com -
- Fusion Graphix- www.fusiongraphix.com -
- RCSpecialties -
Cpt.America is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2010, 09:30 AM   #16255
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

Sidecar: Make sure you're making the same adjustments to 208 as you had seutp in 203. There should be no difference between them assuming the settings are the same.

The throttle profile setting is still present in 208 but it MUST be adjusted with the Hotwire, NOT the onboard buttons.

Post your setup so we/I can take a look at it.
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2010, 09:44 AM   #16256
Tech Elite
 
M-Technic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Palm Beach, FL
Posts: 2,562
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BILKO1 View Post
Thanks for your reply,
I'm worried about the temp going up after the race when the esc is turned off is this normal?
Yes it's normal. When you stop the car, you stop the airflow moving over the motor.
__________________
RCAmerica | Xray | Hudy | Radiopost | Speed Passion USA | Trinity | P3 Graphics
M-Technic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2010, 10:31 AM   #16257
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Woodinville, WA
Posts: 2,512
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Friulimotosport View Post
Second was also a micro rec. They both worked fine in 1/12 and WGT with tekins in them. Looks like I'll have to get a new radio/rec.
Have you tried a receiver capacitor? Something like this: http://www.amainhobbies.com/product_...tage-Protector

-Mike
grippgoat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2010, 11:04 AM   #16258
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Sunny Malta
Posts: 87
Default c1 and c2 profiles

can you please tell me how to select from c1 and c2 without using the hot wire

thank you
Corally_27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2010, 11:17 AM   #16259
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 144
Default

Thanks Mike. I'll give it a try before buying new radio.
Friulimotosport is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2010, 12:06 PM   #16260
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,920
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
Sidecar: Make sure you're making the same adjustments to 208 as you had seutp in 203. There should be no difference between them assuming the settings are the same.

The throttle profile setting is still present in 208 but it MUST be adjusted with the Hotwire, NOT the onboard buttons.

Post your setup so we/I can take a look at it.
Ok set up from 203 swapped to 208

motor timing 5
Throttle profile 5
Neutral width 10
Timing 45
Turbo 8
Start 6,xxx
End 15,xxx
Turbo delay 0.4 to 0.0 dependant of feel and motor temp

motor temp after 7 mins is 65 to 70 dergees C

i used to have brakes of 60% on my transmitter now they are at 110% and 100% on the RS

I calabrate at 90% then up to 110% but still i need to brake 2 meters further from the corner than i did with 203 !!

could it help if i update the speedo again ???

cheeRS Phil
sidecarphil1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 3 (0 members and 3 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:01 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net