R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-30-2010, 11:50 AM   #16111
Tech Master
 
Dog Bone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 1,411
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ckloo View Post
What kind of cap i should look foward ?
Why are you looking for a solution to a problem you don't have? Your temps are fine. Relax, and drive the car.
__________________
Ken Miller
T4 2015
CRC Twenty5
Dog Bone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2010, 01:56 PM   #16112
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Denmark
Posts: 562
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sidecarphil1 View Post
do LRP or Hobbywing have a MAC or Iphone program ???

it wouldn't stop me buying the RS or RS pro GREAT SPEEDOS !!!!
I don't need a computer at all to get the most out of LRP or Hobbywing. I know, i know - the RS Pro got onboard programs with 208, but we all know that they don't push it to the limit. I won't be getting the most out of my speedo.
__________________
Niklas Hansen
Team TCHobby / Team Upgrade-RC
Tamiya TRF417 / Speed Passion GT2.0 / Speed Passion V3 motors.
Nilks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2010, 01:59 PM   #16113
Tech Lord
 
wingracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 12,861
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nilks View Post
I don't need a computer at all to get the most out of LRP or Hobbywing. I know, i know - the RS Pro got onboard programs with 208, but we all know that they don't push it to the limit. I won't be getting the most out of my speedo.
I understand where you are coming from but I can get a netbook for less than an IPhone. In fact, I can get one for less than one of the other top speedos costs so it's a non issue for me.

Don't expect an app any time soon. It's not a matter of just writing some code unfortunately.
__________________
Sean. Certified speed crazed mowron.
Team Shepherd USA
www.ashfordhobby.com
wingracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2010, 02:04 PM   #16114
Super Moderator
 
Cpt.America's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Washington State
Posts: 11,081
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

Dude, you can get a used small laptop with XP on it for $50.
__________________
A big thanks to my sponsors:
- Fantom Racing - www.fantomracing.com -
- Fusion Graphix- www.fusiongraphix.com -
- RCSpecialties -
Cpt.America is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2010, 02:06 PM   #16115
Tech Elite
 
-WHEELMAN-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Redlands, California
Posts: 4,506
Trader Rating: 266 (98%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wingracer View Post
I understand where you are coming from but I can get a netbook for less than an IPhone. In fact, I can get one for less than one of the other top speedos costs so it's a non issue for me.

Don't expect an app any time soon. It's not a matter of just writing some code unfortunately.
The iPhone has a block and is not possiable for Tekin to write a program for it.
__________________
BRETT T. RICHARDS = SUPPORT YOUR TROOPS, LOCAL TRACKS AND HOBBY SHOPS OR THEY COULD ALL BE GONE ONE DAY!
-WHEELMAN- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2010, 02:22 PM   #16116
Tech Master
 
locked's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,758
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

A Mac is just an overpriced PC with one extra little chip that allows it to legally run OSX. Just do a dual boot with XP or Windows 7.

I prefer using Ubuntu, but it doesn't do everything I need it to do, so I occasionally have to boot into windows for work, to play games or to adjust my ESC. OSX is no different. It doesn't do everything and likely never will.
__________________
Dave Locke
Team PerformanceHobbies.ca | ORCA RC | Bodies by Brandon | Team Meeting
XRAY T4'15 x2 | XRAY XB4 | XRAY XB8E | XRAY XB8
locked is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2010, 06:36 PM   #16117
Tech Elite
 
tallyrc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: palm city, fl
Posts: 2,594
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by M-Technic View Post
He doesn't have drag brake, in fact he was running push.



tallyrc is running a Duo2 which has very little "drag brake effect".

Jason, what FDR were you running last night?
same as for the invitational.. in the 5.5 range so it shouldn't be a gearing issue.. or it should at least be minimalized compared to the 6.5 or so i used to run..
__________________
WWW.STORMERHOBBIES.COM helping keep pan cars alive!

Turns out not where, but who your with that really matters... DMB
tallyrc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2010, 06:44 PM   #16118
Tech Elite
 
tallyrc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: palm city, fl
Posts: 2,594
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 20 SMOKE View Post
i just re read it,when adding throttle just a little you could be taking push off and finding a more center throttle position causing the motor to drag,that could be the funny issue
i'm running tp-5 which should be pretty exponential.. are you saying if i actually let off all the way i'm better off than than only letting up a little? does the push setting push harder or longer the higher the value? why should there be ANY more drag effect if it is OFF?
__________________
WWW.STORMERHOBBIES.COM helping keep pan cars alive!

Turns out not where, but who your with that really matters... DMB
tallyrc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2010, 08:02 PM   #16119
Tech Fanatic
 
dmatter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Galloway, Ohio
Posts: 861
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

What is the best netbook for the money to run Hotwire? I am not having any luck using my 6 year old computer. I have decided to get a cheap laptop or netbook. Preferably netbook because the less junk I drag to the track the better I heard walmart "as much as I hate them" has good netbooks for 200.00 anybody know if its any good? Why did rc racing have to get so techy
dmatter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2010, 08:06 PM   #16120
Tech Lord
 
wingracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 12,861
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dmatter View Post
Why did rc racing have to get so techy
It has been for years. You used to not only need the laptop but a Dyno too. Add to that battery matchers and everything else. Racing is a technological sport.
__________________
Sean. Certified speed crazed mowron.
Team Shepherd USA
www.ashfordhobby.com
wingracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2010, 08:19 PM   #16121
Tech Champion
 
hanulec's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: @ the post office
Posts: 8,561
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nilks View Post
This question have possibly already been answered. I was thinking about buying a Tekin RS Pro for the next indoor season, but a deal-breaker for me, is that there are no Mac- or iPhone- HotWire software. I have seen the "prototype" iPhone HotWire, but it isn't out yet.

Are there going to be a Mac- or iPhone- HotWire before the indoor-season?

If not, I have to go Blue or HobbyWing
I'd highly recommend you look at running the Tekin software within a Windows Virtual Machine. For MacOS there are two popular virtualization software packages:

#1 http://www.vmware.com/products/fusion/
#2 http://www.parallels.com/products/desktop/

Today I run Tekin Hot Wire within Windows XP 32-bit, running within the free VMware Player ontop of my Lenovo S10 running Ubuntu Linux. I'm not the biggest fan of Windows OS... nor would I even think about bringing an expensive Mac laptop to the track. Inexpensive netbooks are great for the track (or really just about any time of personal computing)
__________________
FJ / ROAR #2-122945 / MaxRotation FPV Drone Racing / [email protected] Awesomatix USA / Wild Turbo Fan / Mon-Tech Racing / RocheRC USA / Side Piece /
LRP / John's BSR Tires / TeamEAM / TQ Wire / R1 / Team Scream / PCR / MIX
RacerLog wiki Awesomatix A700 / 2wd offroad 4 life
hanulec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2010, 08:22 PM   #16122
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tallyrc View Post
i'm running tp-5 which should be pretty exponential.. are you saying if i actually let off all the way i'm better off than than only letting up a little? does the push setting push harder or longer the higher the value? why should there be ANY more drag effect if it is OFF?
the more drag is if you used drag brake,it is stronger in 208 than 203,if you have a higher number yes the longer it takes before neutral come back,i pretty sure if you don't let off the throttle push wont come in
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2010, 08:22 PM   #16123
Tech Adept
 
AUDI 0000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Loganville PA
Posts: 149
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

I posted last week about problems with set-up for a 21.5 sportsman touring class (open, just NO TURBO BOOST, timing boost OK). My post was an hour before 208 was available so the topic changed very quickly. I have 208, 21.5 tekin motor, asphalt track 100ft x 50ft. I have been going by advice from the other Tekin users at the track ( and nothing is working for me, I have melted a few motors already w 203, now I have brand new Tekin 21.5, it has came off track at 198f about 3 times now in last 2 meets trying to get it figured out). I have tried gearing from 5.1 to 6.7..... I am not using drag or push, I have had timing boost vary from 45-55 ( by advice, others all use MAX). I am mad slow down back straight, Once I thought I had it right, the car was crazy fast for @ 8 laps then crazy slow, off at 198f. That time at 6.1 max timing. Please help, I have had nothing but problems and melted motors trying to get situated since 203. I want to keep up with the others on the straight, most have tekins, a couple MMP, SP ect. It has been fine in infield through all FDRs. I know I am doing something wrong, and before you ask I have a EVO V and TRF416, both super smooth drivetrains, no binding... THANKS SORRY SO LONG
__________________
TAMIYA TA05v2 /// TRF416 ///
AUDI 0000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2010, 08:25 PM   #16124
Tech Lord
 
wingracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 12,861
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AUDI 0000 View Post
I posted last week about problems with set-up for a 21.5 sportsman touring class (open, just NO TURBO BOOST, timing boost OK). My post was an hour before 208 was available so the topic changed very quickly. I have 208, 21.5 tekin motor, asphalt track 100ft x 50ft. I have been going by advice from the other Tekin users at the track ( and nothing is working for me, I have melted a few motors already w 203, now I have brand new Tekin 21.5, it has came off track at 198f about 3 times now in last 2 meets trying to get it figured out). I have tried gearing from 5.1 to 6.7..... I am not using drag or push, I have had timing boost vary from 45-55 ( by advice, others all use MAX). I am mad slow down back straight, Once I thought I had it right, the car was crazy fast for @ 8 laps then crazy slow, off at 198f. That time at 6.1 max timing. Please help, I have had nothing but problems and melted motors trying to get situated since 203. I want to keep up with the others on the straight, most have tekins, a couple MMP, SP ect. It has been fine in infield through all FDRs. I know I am doing something wrong, and before you ask I have a EVO V and TRF416, both super smooth drivetrains, no binding... THANKS SORRY SO LONG
What rpm ranges? That is probably where the problem lies.
__________________
Sean. Certified speed crazed mowron.
Team Shepherd USA
www.ashfordhobby.com
wingracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2010, 08:33 PM   #16125
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AUDI 0000 View Post
I posted last week about problems with set-up for a 21.5 sportsman touring class (open, just NO TURBO BOOST, timing boost OK). My post was an hour before 208 was available so the topic changed very quickly. I have 208, 21.5 tekin motor, asphalt track 100ft x 50ft. I have been going by advice from the other Tekin users at the track ( and nothing is working for me, I have melted a few motors already w 203, now I have brand new Tekin 21.5, it has came off track at 198f about 3 times now in last 2 meets trying to get it figured out). I have tried gearing from 5.1 to 6.7..... I am not using drag or push, I have had timing boost vary from 45-55 ( by advice, others all use MAX). I am mad slow down back straight, Once I thought I had it right, the car was crazy fast for @ 8 laps then crazy slow, off at 198f. That time at 6.1 max timing. Please help, I have had nothing but problems and melted motors trying to get situated since 203. I want to keep up with the others on the straight, most have tekins, a couple MMP, SP ect. It has been fine in infield through all FDRs. I know I am doing something wrong, and before you ask I have a EVO V and TRF416, both super smooth drivetrains, no binding... THANKS SORRY SO LONG
what wingracer said,and post your entire setup
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:46 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net