R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-29-2010, 05:51 AM   #16066
Tech Fanatic
 
macdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 925
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by andrewdoherty View Post
The TP is printed on the case of the RS next to the LEDs. It used to stand for throttle profiles. Now it stands for timing profiles. I don't know where the NW suggestion above came from.

To choose from TP1-TP5 and C1-C2 without using the HW, turn the esc on, press and release the mode button. The first LED will blink. Press and release the mode button until the LED next to TP lights up. Press and release the increase button then to choose between the timing profiles. Led1=TP1 LED5=TP5. LED 6 and 7 = C1 and C2 respectively. Of course the values for C1 and C2 can only be adjusted via the hotwire.

The directions to change timing profiles are the same as whats in the manual to change throttle profiles
Just curious if anyone has figured out if the C1 and C2 can actually have different profiles saved. I have been playing around with it, but I am not sure how to get the controller to save two different custom profiles.
__________________
---------------
KO Eurus / Orca / MMP / XB2 / 22-4 /
macdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2010, 05:55 AM   #16067
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 53
Default

Just checked - It is in sensored mode but still lets you adjust the slider.

As long as it does not work unless in dual mode ( probably why not shown on the dashboard) thats all I need to know.

Thanks for quick response.
JamieV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2010, 06:23 AM   #16068
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Denmark
Posts: 562
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JamieV View Post
Just checked - It is in sensored mode but still lets you adjust the slider.

As long as it does not work unless in dual mode ( probably why not shown on the dashboard) thats all I need to know.

Thanks for quick response.
I think it only applies if the sensor drops / sensorcable gets defective.
__________________
Niklas Hansen
Team TCHobby / Team Upgrade-RC
Tamiya TRF417 / Speed Passion GT2.0 / Speed Passion V3 motors.
Nilks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2010, 06:24 AM   #16069
Tech Addict
 
Skitee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Posts: 745
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by macdude View Post
Just curious if anyone has figured out if the C1 and C2 can actually have different profiles saved. I have been playing around with it, but I am not sure how to get the controller to save two different custom profiles.
Pretty sure this was discussed in the last 5 or so pages, you need to save each custom profile seperately. So make your changes to C1 and apply/write to the RS, then select C2 in the settings and make the changes you want on C2 and apply/write to the RS.
__________________
Xray T4 2018 ~ HobbyWing Xerun XR10 Pro ~ Motiv RC 4.5
Xray X12 2018 ~ ORCA Vritra VX3 1S ~ Speedzone 4.5

POWERED BY SPEEDZONE USA
Skitee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2010, 06:32 AM   #16070
PDR
Tech Master
 
PDR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,826
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skitee View Post
Pretty sure this was discussed in the last 5 or so pages, you need to save each custom profile seperately. So make your changes to C1 and apply/write to the RS, then select C2 in the settings and make the changes you want on C2 and apply/write to the RS.
I don't have mine in front of me, but does that mean the last one you saved to the ESC (C1 or C2) is the active one?

Ran 208 the other night and the throttle profile is much more gentle than 203. Hard to make any direct comparison since our track was a little cold and damp, so grip was down.
__________________
Looking for chassis | Multiple Kids
2011 Slowest Winner - 21.5 Muchmore Masters & NSW State Titles Demo Class
https://www.facebook.com/phatdadracing/
Making an A Main at a Scotty Ernst event. Awesome. Scotty calling you first in A1. Priceless
PDR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2010, 06:36 AM   #16071
Tech Regular
 
TrevCoult's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Worksop, Nottinghamshire, UK
Posts: 355
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PDR View Post
I don't have mine in front of me, but does that mean the last one you saved to the ESC (C1 or C2) is the active one?

Ran 208 the other night and the throttle profile is much more gentle than 203. Hard to make any direct comparison since our track was a little cold and damp, so grip was down.
That is correct. For example, if you set C2, change some values and then apply, the speedo will be on profile C2.

If you want to set a different one, select that and then apply again.

Trev
__________________
Schumacher Atom GT12
Schumacher Eclipse 12th
www.carsrcracing.co.uk
CARSrcracing.co.uk Webmaster
Schumacher Racing

Last edited by TrevCoult; 07-29-2010 at 06:41 AM. Reason: spelling again!
TrevCoult is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2010, 07:57 AM   #16072
Tech Fanatic
 
buffalobill989's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: broken arrow, ok
Posts: 754
Trader Rating: 50 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TeamTekin View Post
We think there are better ways to go slower, but it is not really up to us and we are just playing nice. In many cases they will not let us play otherwise because we are too fast....

Tekin Prez
buffalobill989 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2010, 08:33 AM   #16073
Tech Champion
 
teeforb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: San Diego & Compton CA
Posts: 7,220
Trader Rating: 94 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to teeforb
Default

Hi Folks,

I am having issues with my Spektrum S6040 servo. I am wondering is it because the esc can not handle it. Here are the symptons I am having.. copy/paste from my post on the topic...

someone mentioned that i may need an external BEC...


anyone having any issues with this servo hooking up to spektrum receiver? i just installed mines and while testing the servo, turning it left and right, something it turns off the receiver (the green light goes out) for like a second, then everything is fine for another 5 to 10 seconds of turning the servo.

also, this servo is pretty noisy...

thx
__________________
$$ Team High Budget $$
17.5 stock buggy fb page
https://www.facebook.com/groups/17.5stockbuggy/
teeforb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2010, 08:54 AM   #16074
Tech Champion
 
tc3team's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 6,151
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by teeforb View Post
Hi Folks,

this servo is pretty noisy...
imo this servo sounds like it is drawing a lot of current from the ESC, and is trying to centre or is faulty in some way.
__________________
Fusion Hobbies / www.horshamrc.org

The wife stops me being sane and the r/c stops me from going insane....
tc3team is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2010, 12:10 PM   #16075
Tech Fanatic
 
BCbud's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Victoria BC Canada
Posts: 758
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BCbud View Post
Well I thought it was the servo but it wasn't, any ideas? I am thinking about using a voltage regulater but I don't understand why. I have a small esc sized fan on the motor, a personal transponder, servo and a temp senser running of the rx, is that too mutch?
I have now put the telemitry rx into my pro 10 car and a 300 rx into the touring car with the Tekin RS. The pro 10 bec voltage reading is 6.3 with the GTB and when it was with the Tekin it was fluctuating from 5.8 to 6. The setup in the pro 10 dosn't give me the low voltage warning. I realy want the telemitry in my touring car but with the continuous beaping, I was getting complaints from other drivers on the stand and it is very annoying for me as well. Both cars are running 2 cell lipo batteries and the specs for both the GTB and Tekin for the BEC are the same at 6v 3A.The pro 10 car has 1 30mm fan and 1 40mm fan, servo, temp sensor and a pesonal transponder. The transponders in both cars are the new Mylaps and they draw less current thant the older ones. Any ideas would be great.

Thanks.
__________________
Xray NT1 - Xray T4 2013 TC - Xray T4 2013 VTA - CRCgenX10 - CRCgenX - CRCgenXi - Slash 4X4 with LCG conversion -Associated RC8Be - Xray XB4 - DX3R PRO
Recycled teenager.
www.irocc.ca ; www.corvictoria.com ; http://www.wcics.ca/
I will not send Pay Pal as a gift or add fees to the price so DO NOT ASK!
BCbud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2010, 12:43 PM   #16076
Tech Master
 
Dog Bone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 1,411
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by macdude View Post
Just out of curiosity how do we get rid of "bling" on HW interface. I ...well how do I say it nicely...... dislike the interface. I thought that this version was not suppose to be so ugly. I figured that we would be at a point where branding could be kept to a splash screen. I really think the whole interface detracts from what it is capable of doing. And that is really sad. I hate showing someone new how to set up the controller because the UI is grotesque and makes me feel like I am back in the mid 90's when everyone was skinning there media players. And after all this time you still have not made the sliders functional. ie you can't click and hold and move them up and down.

Thanks for a great controller. Please make a clean UI. Also are we ever going to be able to use the custom 1 and 2 profiles so that we could have 2 different setups on the controller?
+1
__________________
Ken Miller
T4 2015
CRC Twenty5
Dog Bone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2010, 01:05 PM   #16077
Team Tekin
 
Tekin Prez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,047
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by macdude View Post
Just out of curiosity how do we get rid of "bling" on HW interface. I ...well how do I say it nicely...... dislike the interface. I thought that this version was not suppose to be so ugly. I figured that we would be at a point where branding could be kept to a splash screen. I really think the whole interface detracts from what it is capable of doing. And that is really sad. I hate showing someone new how to set up the controller because the UI is grotesque and makes me feel like I am back in the mid 90's when everyone was skinning there media players. And after all this time you still have not made the sliders functional. ie you can't click and hold and move them up and down.

Thanks for a great controller. Please make a clean UI. Also are we ever going to be able to use the custom 1 and 2 profiles so that we could have 2 different setups on the controller?

Ouch! I also hate the sliders and the buttons because they do not always work. That is a canned skin program we unfortunately married ourselves to and likely the last version of the Hotwire that will come from it. We had planned to start fresh on the next release but had to hurry the spec mode out to be allowed at some coming races.

I have to say I have made this same argument about less bling and just having a screen full of boxes and numbers I can directly adjust. I get called a nerd and reminded that most of the world does not think like me. We are the minority that just wants to make changes quickly and be done. Lots of people seem to like playing with the video game interface.

The express version has less bling, but still has all the issues that annoy you and I. I do agree it all could be a lot crisper and that day is coming.

C1 and C2 custom timing profiles work now so you can have 2 different setups and access them directly on the controller.

Tekin Prez
__________________
[email protected]
Smarter, Smaller, Faster....
www.teamtekin.com
Tekin Prez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2010, 01:07 PM   #16078
Team Tekin
 
Tekin Prez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,047
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by linger View Post
Team Tekin,

Is there an amperage value associated with the current limit value (1-100)?
Let's say, I'm measuring the peak current load at max acceleration at 52 amps, and I want to set my current limit at 45 amps....what value should I program the speedo at?
Linger you are a nerd as well Fortunately we are cool nerds and the world needs us more than they realize. In theory 45amps is about 83% of 54 amps. Although the current limitor is not that direct and fades off as the car accels, we did try to make it realistic. So I would say set the current limitor around 80.
__________________
[email protected]
Smarter, Smaller, Faster....
www.teamtekin.com
Tekin Prez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2010, 01:08 PM   #16079
Team Tekin
 
Tekin Prez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,047
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by drsfly View Post
Jim,
Please elaborate about "you think there are better ways to go slower".
I think you did what was privately asked of the industry and I am not sure that is wrong.
I think we all know not everyone is capable of using 203--now 208 to it's fullest and of course that is the way it should be.
The equipment should provide a capability that lets those with the best driving skills go faster because they can control the available power.

Do you mean that there should be power available thru the speed control and then it is controlled by the wind? -- and thus the class the driver participates in?

I guess what I am asking is: you agreed to put in this "spec" to make it possible(race-able) for those of us who are not capable of using all the capabilities of the current technology, but your comment seems to open the gate to ask your opinion of how you think this newer technology should be --- directed/controlled.

There are a lot of opinions on the threads but we rarely hear why a manufacturer helps steer things( or helps others steer)-- other than those that we all understand -$.

I think I read a " difference" in what you have done with this version and what you think this version should/could do.

Just break it out-- what is your opinion of where "spec" or "stock" for that matter racing should be/go.
We are at a crossroads again with on road and it is not a time to hold back ideas.

later,
Darrald

I know I shoulda just Pm'd but------
Spec mode with no timing advance is a short term solution for sportsman classes. There is no question a 17.5 strapped up is too fast in onroad. It snuck up on everyone with the recent leaps in performance.

Long term we think the motor is the place to control the power and speed. Slower versions of the motors we have or smaller motors. The only way to have fair competition is for everyone to push the same performance limits from a specified motor design. Bogging down a motor that is too fast just seems wrong.

Timing is still a problem in spec classes and cannot be controlled in the motors. It makes more sense to let us compensate in the controller so everyone is truly on an even playing field. Not all motors act the same with timing, but all motors are pretty close on power when you find the sweet spots. We are completely against any single manufacturer requirements and think this flexibility allows everyone to compete.

Intelligent timing is good engineering. It allows the motor to run cooler, puts less strain on the batteries and allows gearing that actually fits in the cars. This increases reliability and customer ease of use and makes the power more tuneable and driveable to turn faster laps. It is also how we are able to drive the bloated SC trucks that are so popular without burning up spec motors every run.

With a lower power motor and intelligent timing we can have enough speed on the straights to not fall asleep, but not too much rip out of the corners. Stock should be about carrying speed and consistent laps instead of point and shoot. We think intelligent timing and the right motor can provide the right power curve for true stock racing and bring back the finesse.

Making the motor go a little slower and run hotter is just hard for us to swallow. Us dumb engineers are always making motors go faster and run cooler which is not really a good marketing plan long term if they last forever. Having the limit be the motor melting down is not all bad considering we sell motors

This is not really the thread to debate this. I am sure this will get posted where those discussions are happening which is fine with me and I will be happy to get involved If someone sends me a link. We offer a spec mode in 208 because people asked for it and it took little effort. Spec mode was already there, 0boost and 0 turbo, we just made it easy to tech with a blinking led. We are not in favor of spec mode as a way to slow things down.

Tekin Prez
__________________
[email protected]
Smarter, Smaller, Faster....
www.teamtekin.com

Last edited by Tekin Prez; 07-29-2010 at 03:40 PM.
Tekin Prez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2010, 01:30 PM   #16080
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Auburn Wa
Posts: 1,882
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by teeforb View Post
Hi Folks,

I am having issues with my Spektrum S6040 servo. I am wondering is it because the esc can not handle it. Here are the symptons I am having.. copy/paste from my post on the topic...

someone mentioned that i may need an external BEC...

anyone having any issues with this servo hooking up to spektrum receiver? i just installed mines and while testing the servo, turning it left and right, something it turns off the receiver (the green light goes out) for like a second, then everything is fine for another 5 to 10 seconds of turning the servo.

also, this servo is pretty noisy...


thx
I don;t know if you got your answer but that sounds like what happened when i got one of the first run of the spectrums. The easy fix was to add a capacitor to an open channel and all was good for me.

good luck
Sterling Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:56 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net