R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-14-2010, 02:39 PM   #15541
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 106
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
203 doesn't have the "bug" of throttle calibration but I do know that some radios signal set points wander more than others. If you're using a KO radio set your epa's to 95 on both hi and lo. Calibrate the RS, then set your epa's to 100..adjust your brake from there.
i think you should considder it a bug... all radios wander off of calibration. even the more expensives do change over time. futaba has its calibration function for the remote itself, i used it a couple times and always it would be off, not more than 5% but it just does change over time.
i think you would get the 'bug' out if you apply turbo timing from 95% throttle instead of 100% like now. most people dont run 95%, thats just about full throttle... its either below 95% or full throttle. i think if you lower this setting on the 208 you wouldn't need to help everbody with this 'calibration trick'. also saves on setup time and you dont see any difference...
my 2cts
Markiempje is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2010, 02:46 PM   #15542
Super Moderator
 
Cpt.America's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Washington State
Posts: 11,081
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2wdrive View Post
I am using an rs-pro so heat should not be a problem with a 10.5t?
Did you put heat shrink wrap over your solder posts?
__________________
A big thanks to my sponsors:
- Fantom Racing - www.fantomracing.com -
- Fusion Graphix- www.fusiongraphix.com -
- RCSpecialties -
Cpt.America is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2010, 03:05 PM   #15543
Tech Master
 
2wdrive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,316
Default

lol no i never did that
2wdrive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2010, 03:21 PM   #15544
Tech Elite
 
DaveW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 2,964
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Any suggestions for hardwiring a fan or two to the RS (motor cooling)? My receiver ports are full, and would feel better if the fan cut off and on with the ESC switch.
__________________
...you better run like im booger flickin...
DaveW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2010, 03:28 PM   #15545
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveW View Post
Any suggestions for hardwiring a fan or two to the RS (motor cooling)? My receiver ports are full, and would feel better if the fan cut off and on with the ESC switch.
can i ask why
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2010, 04:41 PM   #15546
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 711
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

Hello all
Didnt know there was a thread just for rs help. posted this earlier and wanted to see if anyone could help me

Im running a rdx with a dual 2 17.5 and about 680ish gear wise. Does anyone have a decent setup for this. Ive played around with stuff a bit but i honestly think it could be alot better. It is a big adjustment from off road nitro. I can tune a motor like no ones business but set up a tekin...hmmm not so much

thanks guys
__________________
Alex B
Kyosho America/Byron Fuels/J concepts
For all your painting needs!
Elite Paint Workz
[email protected]
mist467 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2010, 04:43 PM   #15547
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

need to know track size
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2010, 04:56 PM   #15548
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 711
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

Mainly just been racing at superior and will be going to k-raceway soon. Not sure how big the tracks are. I see your in fl so i take it youve been to the 2.
__________________
Alex B
Kyosho America/Byron Fuels/J concepts
For all your painting needs!
Elite Paint Workz
[email protected]
mist467 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2010, 05:13 PM   #15549
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mist467 View Post
Mainly just been racing at superior and will be going to k-raceway soon. Not sure how big the tracks are. I see your in fl so i take it youve been to the 2.
well it depends on the layout,if they use the center and go through the kink to the back stretch,the straight is not that long.i didn't have much time to go run as i was in the dark as most but i had cooler temps than most and i was running allot less timing also,that's all i did since i wasn't in any of the points i ran a different setup each run.
i can pm you my # if you are they you can call me so i get info to you faster that way to help you out
try this
10 motor
50 timing boost
0 turbo
start 4k
end 14500
fdr 5.8

now the only bad thing is you may be the only one there,i think do to price fro elec racing compared to nitro,they get 5 times the run for the mains and we get 6 min all day,not knocking any of the crew i have known them all for years this is just my opinion
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2010, 08:13 PM   #15550
Tech Champion
 
STLNLST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 8,997
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cpt.America View Post
It was verified as a bug/issue in 199 by Tekin.. was supposed to be fixed for 200 but wasn't, and has been experienced and fixed by countless people with every walk of hardware on almost every page of this thread going back to 199. If you dont see the issue, great.
199 was never released to the public so the bug was never experience by the public.
STLNLST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2010, 08:15 PM   #15551
Tech Champion
 
RedBullFiXX's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Intergalactic Planetary
Posts: 6,542
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

The "Neutral Width" adjuster setting is there for radios with wandering neutrals ?
How is that a bug, the RS is a finely tuned device, some radios are not.
__________________
--> 12th scale Information Source <--

"Men do not quit playing because they grow old; they grow old because they quit playing."
― Oliver Wendell Holmes Jr.
RedBullFiXX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2010, 08:24 PM   #15552
Tech Champion
 
STLNLST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 8,997
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

All the testing we did out here with radios the KO gave the biggest headaches but we worked through and I haven't had any issues since.
STLNLST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2010, 08:28 PM   #15553
Tech Elite
 
DaveW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 2,964
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 20 SMOKE View Post
can i ask why
lol Cause i want a cooler motor?

I have a 40mm fan that was wired to the posts (-/+) of the speedo so it came on as soon as i plugged the battery in. Then i had an issue of my LiPo's going out of balance, which happened at the same time as the fan install.

Now while i have an understanding of mechanical engineering, electrical is another story. So i dont know if this was just coincidence, or if my fan drew more off of one cell in my LiPo than the other because of how it was wired.

So, should i find a way to wire it to the speedo or the receiver? Or will it make a difference? Do you think my LiPo imbalance was relative?
__________________
...you better run like im booger flickin...
DaveW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2010, 08:48 PM   #15554
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 407
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default version?

what is the latest version for the tekin rs? we were told 208 is out?
markny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2010, 09:15 PM   #15555
Tech Elite
 
reenmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Studio City, CA
Posts: 2,539
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by markny View Post
what is the latest version for the tekin rs? we were told 208 is out?
203 is the latest released version. 208 is in the hands of the team for testing and will be in broad release soon.
__________________
Pete Waydo
2010 Big Fat Turkey Race Mini Cooper AAA Main Champion
*** currently in stasis ***
reenmachine is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:39 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net