Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Tekin RS ESC sensored >

Tekin RS ESC sensored

Tekin RS ESC sensored

Reply

Old 07-12-2010, 08:09 PM
  #15511  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (26)
 
Hebiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chino, CA
Posts: 12,921
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Could be worse...you could have an lrp sxx stock spec
Hebiki is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2010, 08:10 PM
  #15512  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (32)
 
syndr0me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 13,206
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Mac The Knife View Post
Apple needs to loosen up so that Tekin and others can.
Apple doesn't need to change anything, Tekin would just need to have someone write the software for them.
syndr0me is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2010, 08:20 PM
  #15513  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (55)
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Oregon
Posts: 755
Trader Rating: 55 (100%+)
Default

Actually, Tekin just need to release the .Net library and API for interfacing with the Hotwire. Then, we could write our own user interfaces in any platform that supports the required .Net implementation. Which is pretty much everything. That way, Tekin doesn't need to invest time and money in the touchy feely layer (technical terms ). They just control the middle layer and let us do the work for free.
WatchOut is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2010, 08:35 PM
  #15514  
Team Tekin
iTrader: (6)
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,834
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

The team gets it ahead of the general public because they're on the team! They are loading it on their computers and testing it before you get it and have an issue. If there was a bug and for example it happen to cause a failure, their equipment is covered by us. If we let out software that wasn't thoroughly tested and it did cause failures, your equipment would then become our problem and that's NOT going to happen.

So far testing has been good and barring any issues that should arrise 208 should be closer than you think. It will also be a website download just as 203was...
Randy_Pike is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2010, 10:39 PM
  #15515  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Christchurch, NZ
Posts: 1,063
Default

You're bang-on there Randy, the other post was just stupid. It would be marketing suicide to make changes and just release it for everyone to go nuts. The next thing would be Tekin getting slammed for releasing software that "made" someone toast their esc because they WEREN'T ADVISED they couldn't run 100º of timing on their 17.5.
Tekin esc's are still the single best purchses I have ever made. I bought 3 when I got back into racing a few years back, and haven't spent a cent on esc's since.
JR007 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2010, 11:01 PM
  #15516  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (10)
 
adrictan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 5,145
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Can I check if there's enough power to run touring on a TA05 on a RS ESC & 6.6v LiFE battery?
adrictan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2010, 12:58 AM
  #15517  
Tech Addict
 
Skitee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Posts: 745
Default

Originally Posted by adrictan View Post
Can I check if there's enough power to run touring on a TA05 on a RS ESC & 6.6v LiFE battery?
Sure there is "ENOUGH" power to run the 17.5 just fine with the LiFe pack however, if you're going to be running against cars using any other battery tech there simply isn't enough power for you to compete with them.
Skitee is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2010, 02:06 AM
  #15518  
Tech Champion
 
tc3team's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 6,151
Default

Having been on the team myself, I can totally vouch for what Randy is saying, look at the issue that was with v199 as an example.

The team should always be the first ones to be testing new software, period.

Just hold in there guys, its always worth the wait
tc3team is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2010, 04:07 AM
  #15519  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Czech Republic
Posts: 46
Default

Hi, could you please help me - i have ordered Tekin RS esc for my Xray T2008 and LRP X12 17,5T motor, could you please help me with esc settings and gearing? Thank you very much..
Martyn666 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2010, 04:16 AM
  #15520  
Tech Champion
 
tc3team's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 6,151
Default

Originally Posted by Martyn666 View Post
Hi, could you please help me - i have ordered Tekin RS esc for my Xray T2008 and LRP X12 17,5T motor, could you please help me with esc settings and gearing? Thank you very much..
What track are you racing at? And how big is it?
tc3team is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2010, 04:36 AM
  #15521  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Czech Republic
Posts: 46
Default

Sorry, forgot to meant, track´s are small - medium..
Martyn666 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2010, 06:08 AM
  #15522  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Czech Republic
Posts: 46
Default

Originally Posted by Martyn666 View Post
Hi, could you please help me - i have ordered Tekin RS esc for my Xray T2008 and LRP X12 17,5T motor, could you please help me with esc settings and gearing? Thank you very much..
And right now i have 78T spur gear and 20T Pulley, shall that be ok?
And also about that ESC setting - there´s big warning on LRP X12 motor - "Do not use agressive advanced timing speed-control profiles with X12 Stock Spec motor!" which little bit scare me for use with Tekin.. I want of course as much power as possible but don´t want to mess something up)
Martyn666 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2010, 07:33 AM
  #15523  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (15)
 
M-Technic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Palm Beach, FL
Posts: 2,562
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by syndr0me View Post
I hope EA is right about the feel being improved, because it's sucked since day one. It'll be nice if the improvements carry over to the spec mode as well.
I have never had a problem with the feel of the speedo. It is only an on/off switch if you run too narrow of an RPM range or too little turbo delay/too high of a ramp.
M-Technic is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2010, 12:07 PM
  #15524  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Sunny Malta
Posts: 87
Default motor

i just bought a tekin esc and i was wondering which motor suit the esc best the esc is the tt1153 and the motor we are going to use is the 13.5t
Corally_27 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2010, 10:45 PM
  #15525  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (3)
 
cosmo1974's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Adelaide AUSTRALIA (5.754 mins SE of The Parks)
Posts: 371
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by M-Technic View Post
I have never had a problem with the feel of the speedo. It is only an on/off switch if you run too narrow of an RPM range or too little turbo delay/too high of a ramp.
+1
cosmo1974 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service