R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-12-2010, 09:44 AM   #15496
Tech Elite
 
M-Technic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Palm Beach, FL
Posts: 2,562
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by [email protected] View Post
If you lose only one cable of sensor wire do RS pro ESC change mode to sensorless?
Most likely yes.
__________________
RCAmerica | Xray | Hudy | Radiopost | Speed Passion USA | Trinity | P3 Graphics
M-Technic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2010, 10:57 AM   #15497
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: London
Posts: 83
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by theisgroup View Post
nope. I mean if I set my rpm range, timing and turbo the same way. it ran the same. meaning, i think that the the way the speedo applies timing, turbo at the give rpm range has not changed from v203
So the only thing that is different is the name, the interface screen and much better brakes. Everything else is the same as 203!?
RSCosworth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2010, 11:10 AM   #15498
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

Yes,

If a sensor harness wire came undone in some fashion we'd go to sensorless.

While 208 wasn't configured to making the RS/RS Pro faster...it has shown that it lowers laptimes...nuff said.
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2010, 11:33 AM   #15499
Tech Elite
 
theisgroup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,191
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RSCosworth View Post
So the only thing that is different is the name, the interface screen and much better brakes. Everything else is the same as 203!?
that is not actually what I said. I said setup the exact same way, v208 is not any faster.
__________________
yang lai

Team Tamale | Team Tekin | RCAmerica | Speedmerchant | Speedzone RC | EA Motorsports | Ko Propo USA | eXpress Motorsports | Parma/PSE
theisgroup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2010, 02:37 PM   #15500
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: London
Posts: 83
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by theisgroup View Post
that is not actually what I said. I said setup the exact same way, v208 is not any faster.
My mis-understanding, sorry
RSCosworth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2010, 02:39 PM   #15501
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 282
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by theisgroup View Post
that is not actually what I said. I said setup the exact same way, v208 is not any faster.
Hi yang, what are the brakes like with the new software ??? I run 10.5 and have had problems with them
__________________
XRAY T4 Hobbywing V3 Sanwa
FLAT OUT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2010, 02:42 PM   #15502
Tech Elite
 
theisgroup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,191
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

i think that EA said breaks are much better. I run 1/12 stock adn 13.5. no brakes needed. hell, I run push even to keep the speed up in the corners. lol
__________________
yang lai

Team Tamale | Team Tekin | RCAmerica | Speedmerchant | Speedzone RC | EA Motorsports | Ko Propo USA | eXpress Motorsports | Parma/PSE
theisgroup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2010, 03:08 PM   #15503
Team EAM
 
EAMotorsports's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Posts: 9,158
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to EAMotorsports
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by theisgroup View Post
i think that EA said breaks are much better. I run 1/12 stock adn 13.5. no brakes needed. hell, I run push even to keep the speed up in the corners. lol
I had to run push this weekend with the LRP motors because of the brakes being so strong!

I know I was one of the biggest whinners about the throttle feel of the Tekin but its great now! No complaints at all after one weekend using it. Now if it could only fix my sucky driving!!!

EA
__________________
Contact Us
Team EAM, Our Facebook
Team EAM | Xray | RCAmerica | Hudy | APEX Raceway and Hobbies | RC Mission | Killer Concepts | AVID | Hobbywing.
EAMotorsports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2010, 06:09 PM   #15504
Tech Fanatic
 
macdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 925
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default v208

So has version 208 been released to the general public yet? I only ask because they are already getting classes set up for the new requirement of no timing advance. Also, if you do release it like the last upgrade, the whole process should consist of a website download, instead of an email response..... big pain in the you know what. Look at how castle handles this, much smoother.

thanks
__________________
---------------
KO Eurus / Orca / MMP / XB2 / 22-4 /
macdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2010, 06:18 PM   #15505
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

no its not out yet,if you need a no timing version go with 183
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2010, 06:39 PM   #15506
Tech Master
 
ShadowAu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Somewhere you'd never heard of
Posts: 1,531
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by theisgroup View Post
guys, 208 was just release to the team. I mean the first weekend that we have had a chance to play with it was this past weekend. give it some time. we just like anyone else also have to learn the software. when you become a team driver, there is no automagic download from tekin of all their secrets and how everything in their lineup works.

sometimes I wish that the Internet was slower. to have the info leak that the new software is "now" in the wild sets the expectation that all the knowledge has already been learn and imparted to the individuals that have access to the software. that is just not the case. we (Team Tekin) are the tester and we are the ones out there blowing up motors to come up with baselines so that they will be available when the software "IS" actually released.

203 was released 2 weeks after the official team release. that gave the team 2 weekends to get up to speed. because the day of release, the expectation was that there were base setup for every form of electric racing. i was at the track the weekend of release for 20 hours those 2 days to "help" people upgrade and also had a group of 5 guys to help me come up with base setups that i could get to randy.

the argument would be for tekin to release the software to everyone including the team at the same time. but I can tell you that with 203 there were guys blowing up motors the first weekend of release and pissed that tekin would make anything that would allow a brushless motor to "blow up" in just 1 min of runtime. and that is after I spent countless hours publishing information as I learned it that weekend.

just give us some time to work the new software.

sorry for the rant.

v208 is not any faster then v203 when set the same way. I am not sure i understand the question about "middle" throttle. because most of the setup add alot of timing and a lot of turbo fairly fast, this does make the speedo "feel" like an on/off switch. but as you move up to faster motors an faster classes, you run less of both and that should smooth out the throttle profile. the guys that want the "bullet" in 17.5 will always have to get use to the on/off feel. I am the one that came up with the narrow window of RPM and yes, that feels like an on/off switch. since then I have seen alot of people run the wide rpm range and that has smoothed out the speedo quite a bit. but i still feel these setup are not the fastest. I did not get a chance to play with the "spec" profile. will try and have a go at it next weekend. we just don't have a class for "spec". even after the new roar rules hit, i doubt that our club with move to spec. all of our drivers have gotten use to the speed of 17.5 boosted. but time will tell. maybe we can get a spec class going.
I can understand your points... BUT a great deal of us here are reasonably intelligent people and the way the internet is these days no information is far worse than a little information...

When it became known that an update was on the way all you needed to say (IMO) is things like "we are tweaking the interface, working on some new programing features so you don't always need a laptop available and working on improving the brakes" you've pretty much provided all most people really need to know until they get it in their hands...

I understand that Tekin is ultimately in the market to make money and the programming is intellectual property and one of Tekin's big selling points, but to some of us the big secrecy thing etc is more annoying than interesting, if you know what I mean
__________________
I am quite content with doing what I do

Don't mistake not being happy for unhappiness - its not the same thing
ShadowAu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2010, 07:19 PM   #15507
Tech Master
 
sportpak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Ft Wayne, IN
Posts: 1,314
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

.....I know what you mean, but internet makes drama.
__________________
-Tamiya TA05-R - Tamiya M05 - Summit Raceway Ft. Wayne, IN

www.summitrcraceway.com
sportpak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2010, 07:30 PM   #15508
Tech Elite
 
Ultraspeed84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,072
Trader Rating: 45 (100%+)
Default

tekin need come out with a intertface software to work with a MAC...
__________________
yokomo yz-2
Ultraspeed84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2010, 08:03 PM   #15509
Tech Addict
 
Mac The Knife's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Lansing, MI
Posts: 606
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ultraspeed84 View Post
tekin need come out with a intertface software to work with a MAC...

Apple needs to loosen up so that Tekin and others can.
Mac The Knife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2010, 08:07 PM   #15510
Tech Lord
 
syndr0me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 13,140
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ShadowAu View Post
I understand that Tekin is ultimately in the market to make money and the programming is intellectual property and one of Tekin's big selling points, but to some of us the big secrecy thing etc is more annoying than interesting, if you know what I mean
Getting software a week earlier than everybody else is when the "team" gets to feel special. The attitude around the whole thing is rather pretentious, though.

I hope EA is right about the feel being improved, because it's sucked since day one. It'll be nice if the improvements carry over to the spec mode as well.
syndr0me is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:07 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net