R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-24-2010, 05:59 AM   #15286
Tech Elite
 
nerdling's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Canberra
Posts: 2,849
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Could some one tell me what the difference is between Dual and Brushless modes?
__________________
--XRAY--NOSRAM--PROTOFORM--MUCHMORE--
www.teamxray.com -- www.hudy.net -- www.hobbyexpress.com.au
nerdling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2010, 06:14 AM   #15287
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Mongville
Posts: 6,979
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nerdling View Post
Could some one tell me what the difference is between Dual and Brushless modes?

Mark, raise the rpm range 4600 to 12000, ramp 3, drop the turbo a few, and gear down. Not too far as lower gearing will make the motor run hot.
Also dont be afraid of whacking in some motor timing also, helps it get out of corners.

Keep the zero delay, the delay setups feel absolutely shit to me.

Sensored is sensored only, dual mode is sensored at low rpm, then sensorless = SLOW
__________________
12th Scale - The premier class (if you can make runtime)
Besercoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2010, 06:20 AM   #15288
Tech Regular
 
Satish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Ottawa. ON
Posts: 496
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Hey all, have a question.

I was running 12scale, 1c lipo with Tekin and 10.5, it ran fine no problems.

Then switched to 17.5, adjusted gearing as necessary and even copied someone else's Tekin settings.

i ran it for a few minutes and noticed a slow down in speed and the motor got super hot.

Tryed another 17.5 and the same thing.

Tryed someone else Tekin RS pro, same thing.

Has this ever happened to anyone else?

i will post on the 12 scale post awell.

thank
s
Satish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2010, 06:45 AM   #15289
Tech Elite
 
Senna Racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,035
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Besercoe View Post
Mark, raise the rpm range 4600 to 12000, ramp 3, drop the turbo a few, and gear down. Not too far as lower gearing will make the motor run hot.
Also dont be afraid of whacking in some motor timing also, helps it get out of corners.

Keep the zero delay, the delay setups feel absolutely shit to me.

Sensored is sensored only, dual mode is sensored at low rpm, then sensorless = SLOW

Mark As Bradd said

but level ramp 2 as ramp 3 can be to much to soon and it will bog down and droop a few teeth
__________________
Feral Batteries for all your on road needs
TRF 416, Fantom Batteries, Sorex, Tekin
Senna Racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2010, 09:44 AM   #15290
Tech Fanatic
 
dmatter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Galloway, Ohio
Posts: 861
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Is it normal for you to have to switch your throttle reversing to "reverse" to get your Tekin ESC to recognize throttle input for calibration? Never had to do this before on any other ESC. It would not calibrate properly in "Normal" so after about an hour of trying to calibrate it, I switched it to Reverse and it worked.
dmatter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2010, 09:51 AM   #15291
Tech Champion
 
MikeXray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 5,749
Trader Rating: 73 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dmatter View Post
Is it normal for you to have to switch your throttle reversing to "reverse" to get your Tekin ESC to recognize throttle input for calibration? Never had to do this before on any other ESC. It would not calibrate properly in "Normal" so after about an hour of trying to calibrate it, I switched it to Reverse and it worked.
Yes, I have to do this on futaba and spek receivers.
__________________
Mike L. Awesomatixusa.com | TQWire.com | Islandraceway.com |JacksonRCracing.com | Horsham RC | Sweepracingusa.com
MikeXray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2010, 08:50 PM   #15292
Tech Master
 
wingman2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Tewkesbury, UK via Plymouth, UK.
Posts: 1,259
Default

Hi guys, have been using a RS Pro wth a 10.5 in my 1c LiPo 1/12th car with no probs, really, really happy with the performance. However, I have recently been running my Pro10 car with the same setup apart from using a 2c LiPo and here's the problem. After around 60 seconds, the turbo function stops working. Everything is fine tempreture wise, both motor and speedo are hardly any warmer than before the run. The same thing happens with the same setup in my SC truck. Nothing is over geared or anything like that, I just wondered if anyone had any ideas on why this may be happening?? I'll find the setup of each speedo in both cars and post a pic to show them. Cheers guys, Chris.
__________________
Sponsored by CML Distribution - http://www.cmldistribution.co.uk
wingman2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2010, 04:10 AM   #15293
Tech Elite
 
Senna Racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,035
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Recalabrate your radio

Turning your EPA down 20 and then back up
afterward
__________________
Feral Batteries for all your on road needs
TRF 416, Fantom Batteries, Sorex, Tekin
Senna Racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2010, 08:57 AM   #15294
Super Moderator
 
Cpt.America's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Washington State
Posts: 11,081
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wingman2 View Post
Hi guys, have been using a RS Pro wth a 10.5 in my 1c LiPo 1/12th car with no probs, really, really happy with the performance. However, I have recently been running my Pro10 car with the same setup apart from using a 2c LiPo and here's the problem. After around 60 seconds, the turbo function stops working. Everything is fine tempreture wise, both motor and speedo are hardly any warmer than before the run. The same thing happens with the same setup in my SC truck. Nothing is over geared or anything like that, I just wondered if anyone had any ideas on why this may be happening?? I'll find the setup of each speedo in both cars and post a pic to show them. Cheers guys, Chris.
VEry common problem, discussed thoughout this thread on 100 pages. Calibrate your ESC with your throttle EPA at 95%. After calibration, turn it back up to 100%.
__________________
A big thanks to my sponsors:
- Fantom Racing - www.fantomracing.com -
- Fusion Graphix- www.fusiongraphix.com -
- RCSpecialties -
Cpt.America is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2010, 08:59 AM   #15295
Super Moderator
 
Cpt.America's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Washington State
Posts: 11,081
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Satish View Post
Hey all, have a question.

I was running 12scale, 1c lipo with Tekin and 10.5, it ran fine no problems.

Then switched to 17.5, adjusted gearing as necessary and even copied someone else's Tekin settings.

i ran it for a few minutes and noticed a slow down in speed and the motor got super hot.

Tryed another 17.5 and the same thing.

Tryed someone else Tekin RS pro, same thing.

Has this ever happened to anyone else?

i will post on the 12 scale post awell.

thank
s
How hot?

You are either over geared, over timed, or something happend to your drivetrain.

Impossible to answer your question if you don't give us any details.
__________________
A big thanks to my sponsors:
- Fantom Racing - www.fantomracing.com -
- Fusion Graphix- www.fusiongraphix.com -
- RCSpecialties -
Cpt.America is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2010, 03:23 PM   #15296
Tech Addict
 
bsmooth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Rocklin, California
Posts: 630
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

I'm hoping you guys could share a specific setup i'm looking for.

I'm running v203 with a Redline 13.5, on 1s in a World GT car. The track will be outdoor asphalt.

Could someone give me a good starting point? I've looked throught the setups that were posted, but I can't find anything with this combo.

I've only run 10.5 & 17.5 on carpet, in a 12th scale, so i'm not really sure where to start.

Thanks in advance,

-Steve
bsmooth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2010, 06:32 PM   #15297
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Norway
Posts: 12
Default

Hey, wondering about to how to get the correct rpm range setting on my tekin rs for a track with the help of a data logger. My plan is to use a Novak Sentry data logger and run the car with a slightly larger pinion and get some good laps with no timing/turbo at first.

My question is when I get the rpm average and rpm min/max from the laps, do I use those values and go about 1000-2000rpm above the low as start and 1000rpm below the max as end or am I totally wrong? The track is technical and has a short straight <70ft so I guess I'll drop turbo.
__________________
XRAY T3 2012 | Speed Passion GT V2.0 Pro | Competition MMM 10.5R
minifo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2010, 06:49 PM   #15298
Tech Apprentice
 
R.I.P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Calgary AB Canada
Posts: 98
Default

Just wanted to say I bought a used touring car with the RSpro in it...I was told it was all good to go.....a friend today went through the speedo....I used a set-up one of the members on here posted....we discovered it didn't have the latest software even uploaded.....when we were done.....HOLY.....first race with it Saturday night....they won't know what hit them....

thanks for all the posts and info on this thread,

R
__________________
----M04----
----KYOSHO SCT----
----TT01 DRIFTER----
----KYOSHO RB5 (SOON)----
R.I.P is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2010, 07:00 PM   #15299
Tech Fanatic
 
bukil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: BenTooWrah
Posts: 998
Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by minifo View Post
Hey, wondering about to how to get the correct rpm range setting on my tekin rs for a track with the help of a data logger. My plan is to use a Novak Sentry data logger and run the car with a slightly larger pinion and get some good laps with no timing/turbo at first.

My question is when I get the rpm average and rpm min/max from the laps, do I use those values and go about 1000-2000rpm above the low as start and 1000rpm below the max as end or am I totally wrong? The track is technical and has a short straight <70ft so I guess I'll drop turbo.
What I did was to look for the lowest consistent rpm, and set my speedo to ~1K below or close to it for the start rpm.

Some people have different methods to get their rpm ranges. I used the logger.
bukil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2010, 01:54 AM   #15300
Tech Elite
 
andrewdoherty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: ★Wylie, TX★
Posts: 3,776
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bukil View Post
What I did was to look for the lowest consistent rpm, and set my speedo to ~1K below or close to it for the start rpm.

Some people have different methods to get their rpm ranges. I used the logger.
I used a logger for a couple months, but in the end I didnt improve at all on what I had done before I had the logger. I multiply the Kv of whatever motor I'm running by the max voltage from my battery. For me in 17.5 12th, its 9260. For the starting RPM I use the 4k value in 1s applications and the 6k-8k option in 2s applications. This is for 70'-110' straight indoor carpet. If I were going outside (150' plus) I would bump both values up about 20%. HTh
__________________
"Whether you think you can, or think you can't, you're right." -Henry Ford
"[Driving] Genius is 1% inspiration, and 99% perspiration" -T.A. Edison
|◤Hobbywing◢|◤SpeedzoneUSA.com◢|◤Pro-One◢|
|◤ReflexRacing.net◢|◤Protoform◢|◤AVID R/C◢|
andrewdoherty is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:03 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net