R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-24-2003, 05:34 AM   #1
Tech Apprentice
 
Mini-GTR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 82
Default Break-in for 540 motor

Hi guys

I was wondering can anyone help me out with the break in procedure for the 540 motor and how can I get more rpm out of it.

Thanks
Mini-GTR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2003, 06:17 AM   #2
Tech Regular
 
Johnny J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Australia, NSW
Posts: 375
Default

Just do a search, this topic has been covered heaps and there is lots of good info in here somewhere
Johnny J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2003, 07:07 PM   #3
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 4,002
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

I use a 3-volt battery pack, and run the motor until the brushes "seat" or conform to the curve of the armature. This usually takes 2 - 3 hours.

Sometimes I'm impatient, so I submerge the motor in a jar full of water, apply the 3-volt batter supply (directly, not via an esc), and wait for around 1 minute.

This is my personal way of doing it, others may have different methods.

Good luck.
__________________
www.rccartips.com
www.f1rccars.com
www.f1rcclub.com
http://www.youtube.com/user/rccartips/
http://www.facebook.com/RCCarTipsFan
rccartips is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2003, 02:18 AM   #4
Tech Apprentice
 
Mini-GTR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 82
Default

thanks for the help guys
Mini-GTR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2003, 05:51 AM   #5
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 189
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by rccartips

Sometimes I'm impatient, so I submerge the motor in a jar full of water, apply the 3-volt batter supply (directly, not via an esc), and wait for around 1 minute.
i'm new so bear with me please. last i remember electronics + water = not a good combination...

unless of course it was water-proof or something..

and wouldn't the + & - short out in the water?

anybody can enlighten me? or point me to the right direction.
versa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2003, 05:57 AM   #6
Tech Apprentice
 
SpeedyTC3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 99
Send a message via ICQ to SpeedyTC3 Send a message via AIM to SpeedyTC3 Send a message via MSN to SpeedyTC3 Send a message via Yahoo to SpeedyTC3
Default

Water dipping is an old means to break in the brushes on an electric motor really fast. It is used when you really need to get out on the track fairly quick.
What you would do is hook up either a 3 or 4 cell pack to the motor, and dip it entirely into a jar of water. No harm will be done to the motor or anything else. You just have to check the brushes every 30-45 seconds, or else you'll eat right through them.
Afterwards, you have to make sure the motor is completely dry of all water. I use either a hair dryer or my heat gun to do this. Once you dry the motor entirely, re-oil your bushings/ bearings, apply comm drops if you use them, drop the motor in your car with a freshly peaked battery pack and go race.

Hope this helps. Enjoy.
SpeedyTC3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2003, 06:48 AM   #7
WC
Tech Master
 
WC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Global Citizen
Posts: 1,930
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default

DC motor is more "electric", than "electronic".
There is nothing in a motor that water can damage.

Do NOT get water near your electronic ESC though, it will fry.
Same with RX, TX, servos etc. Remove all that and, heck I
bathe my cars in the bathtub.


Running the 540 in air for hours will break in the brushes, but it
will also wear out the bushings early. Running it in water will
break in the brushes faster, but the bushings won't wear out
so fast. The water also causes resistance for the rotor, and is
a good conduit for heat generated. The water will go grey with
all the brush filings.

As said above, completely DRY the motor and lube the bushings
before reinstalling in your RC car. Wetness will promote rust.
WC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2003, 09:34 PM   #8
Tech Master
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Margaritaville
Posts: 1,957
Default

I'm curious, has anyone tried it on the newer 27t rebuildable stock motors? (monster, p2k, green machine)
NismoSkyline17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2003, 10:33 PM   #9
Tech Regular
 
Johnny J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Australia, NSW
Posts: 375
Default

People might off, but it's just stupid. All it will do is where down the brushes, so you would have to replace them
Johnny J is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
motor lathe/motor break in andy_b22 Electric On-Road 4 05-17-2006 06:29 PM
Do I need to break in my new motor? Captjono Electric On-Road 6 03-03-2005 06:25 AM
Motor Break DOES Higher AMP draw = better motor? Travis S Electric On-Road 13 02-12-2005 03:02 AM
New Motor Break-in!!! hicheef Nitro On-Road 10 05-05-2003 11:43 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:11 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net