R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-18-2003, 03:03 PM   #1
Tech Addict
 
Intelligentsia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: San Diego
Posts: 570
Default Sharpening a diamond bit?

Hey,

My diamond bit on my lathe isn't delivering clean cuts anymore. Is there any way to get a diamond bit sharpened?

If so please let me know.

Thanks
Intelligentsia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2003, 08:47 PM   #2
Tech Elite
 
popsracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: "Hot, Sunny Southern California"
Posts: 3,120
Default Sharpening a diamond bit?

Sounds like you have a Chipped bit. I believe that REPLACEMENT is the only option.
popsracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2003, 08:49 PM   #3
Tech Addict
 
Intelligentsia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: San Diego
Posts: 570
Default

hmmm.

Where can I purchase a carbide bit?
Intelligentsia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2003, 09:59 PM   #4
Tech Prophet
 
Randy Caster's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Costa Mesa, CA
Posts: 16,675
Trader Rating: 46 (100%+)
Default

Check out this thread
http://www.rctech.net/forum/showthre...threadid=20775
Hope that helps
Randy Caster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2003, 10:04 PM   #5
Tech Addict
 
Intelligentsia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: San Diego
Posts: 570
Default

Do you know what type of bit I will need for an Elite lathe?
Intelligentsia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2003, 10:17 PM   #6
Tech Prophet
 
Randy Caster's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Costa Mesa, CA
Posts: 16,675
Trader Rating: 46 (100%+)
Default

no clue Call Ultimate Hobbies, they might know...
Randy Caster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2003, 02:38 AM   #7
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 775
Default Re: Sharpening a diamond bit?

Quote:
Originally posted by Intelligentsia
Hey,

My diamond bit on my lathe isn't delivering clean cuts anymore. Is there any way to get a diamond bit sharpened?

If so please let me know.

Thanks
I know that these bits CAN be resharpened. There is a place in Yorba Linda, CA that sells and sharpens these bits. Its an industrial supply place and they are also well versed in RC car tool bit needs. I've got their card somewhere, I'll try to find it. I do know that they use a VERY fine wheel, they may even lap it, which is VERY fine. Don't try to do it on a bench grinder.
Graphitedust is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2003, 03:10 AM   #8
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 775
Default

OK, heres the latest.....I can't find the card. Typical. I think the place was called Western Industrial Supply, and was located in Garden Grove, CA. The last time I was in there they said they were moving to Anaheim Hills. I have tried to find them on the internet, but had no luck.

I'm going to the track saturday, I'll see what I can find out.... I'll also drive by the old place and see what I can find.
Graphitedust is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2003, 07:28 AM   #9
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Tampa, Fl.
Posts: 1,069
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

The diamond in lathe bits is actually man made (diamond dust compressed) and requires a diamond impregnated wheel. Check with this guy. He sharpened one for me that was chipped badly and it turned out to be the best bit I ever had.

GW diamond cutting co.
4100 w. Kennedy Blvd.
Tampa, Fl.

813-287-0068

It takes a while to get it done, So I bought another bit and Got mine sharpened. When the other one came back, I used the new one as a backup. Never needed it though. If you are going to buy a new one, the Carter bit is the best.
Art Jensen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2003, 08:34 AM   #10
Tech Prophet
 
Randy Caster's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Costa Mesa, CA
Posts: 16,675
Trader Rating: 46 (100%+)
Default

Is it cheaper buying diamond bits at these places than it is from an RC manufacturer? Where can you get the Carter bit?
Randy Caster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2003, 08:57 AM   #11
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 593
Thumbs up Just my opinion

Screw the diamond bit. You can buy 15 carbide bits for the price of one diamond. You can sharpen carbide your self too.

Mcmaster Carr on line has them, see the link posted earlier.

Bits come in AL or AR that is cuts from left to right or right to left. you need a 1/4 inch bit, that cuts the OPPOSITE direction you are cutting because your lathe cuts with the bit upside down compared to other lathes.

Carbide bits are $5 to $7 each. They can be sharpened many times before they are junk.

Just My Opinion. We are only cutting copper.]

David Root
David Root is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2003, 09:02 AM   #12
Tech Prophet
 
Randy Caster's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Costa Mesa, CA
Posts: 16,675
Trader Rating: 46 (100%+)
Default

How do you sharpen carbide on your own, what tools are needed? I already have a diamond bit, but you do get a nicer cut with a new carbide bit...
Randy Caster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2003, 09:12 AM   #13
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 593
Default

A carbide bit can be sharpened with a diamond file also available at Mcmaster Carr. A leatherman wave and some other pocket tools have a diamond file too.

Just make all edges new again, do NOT round any of the edges or change the angles. If you know a machine shop or some one that works at one, you are home free. I am lucky, my girlfriend is a tool and die maker.

David Root
David Root is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2003, 11:29 AM   #14
Tech Addict
 
Intelligentsia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: San Diego
Posts: 570
Default

I guess that I will go to the local harbor freight and pick some up today.
Intelligentsia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2003, 08:35 PM   #15
Tech Prophet
 
Randy Caster's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Costa Mesa, CA
Posts: 16,675
Trader Rating: 46 (100%+)
Default

Hmm, I didn't realize Harbor Freight carried them...
Randy Caster is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to tell on a diamond bit andrewdoherty Electric On-Road 7 07-08-2006 09:25 PM
Diamond bit???? 1shnot R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 05-14-2005 01:14 PM
sharpening chipped Diamond lathe bits Super Steve Electric On-Road 10 05-30-2004 11:00 PM
lathe bit sharpening? TC3er Electric On-Road 13 05-25-2004 09:06 PM
Diamond bit ztdw3etsu R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 01-18-2004 01:24 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:02 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net