Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Choice of tuning options... which first? >

Choice of tuning options... which first?

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Choice of tuning options... which first?

Search this Thread

Old 07-19-2003, 12:22 AM
Tech Rookie

Default Choice of tuning options... which first?

I'm new to RC, but I've read a number of tuning tips/guides, so I have a large choice of options to address the understeer my TC3 has. What should I try first? Does it make a difference? I could adjust toe (I've already played with that a bit), springs, oil, caster, shock mount location, roll bar, etc... I'm not sure where to start. I was going to go for softer springs up front, then maybe cambor or shock mount position? Is there a general prefered order of adjustments for basic under or oversteer, or should I throw a dart at my list of choices and try wherever it hits?

Thanks...

-David
Old 07-19-2003, 12:31 AM
Tech Master

wen addresing under-oversteer u should try big things firstie,springs,toe anglesdamper positions, anti-roll bars.then u got the finer tuning like roll centres,shock oil,kick up,anti squat etc.for a understeery car u could stifen the back or soften the front.
Old 07-19-2003, 12:46 AM
Tech Adept

Good tires help fix alot of problems, try tightening your rear diff aswell
Old 07-19-2003, 12:48 AM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)

How about analizing where the understeer is.... going int turns off throttle, in the middle of the turn, or coming off the turn while appliing throttle???

Aso remember that an understeer situation can also be relieved by changing your driving style.....

For me I always start with droop.....
Old 07-19-2003, 02:04 AM
Tech Elite

Yeah, understeer for a lot of beginners is just a case of trying to go through the corners too fast...