R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-11-2010, 01:24 PM   #1231
Tech Adept
 
ATLASCOPCO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: ENGLAND
Posts: 191
Default

Well all i can say is thanks for all the information that you have both given us , ill look forward to the new firmware should be an eye opener for some of the guys at the club
ATLASCOPCO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2010, 02:59 PM   #1232
ark
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 703
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ark View Post
Hey there, I just run mod 4.5/4.0 with my RB50 is there any point in doing a firmware update?
I guess not
ark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2010, 03:30 PM   #1233
Tech Elite
 
Johnny Wishbone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,419
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ark View Post
I guess not
If your upgrading the specific firmware for the RB50 then yes its worth it.

If your thinking of RBS firmware on a RB50 for mod then its not really worth it, unless you want to try it, but it sort of defeats the application that its built for. Be very careful and monitor temps, although that doesn't seem to be a fool proof system either, so again, be very careful.
Johnny Wishbone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2010, 06:54 PM   #1234
Tech Master
 
Pablo Diablo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 1,005
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via Skype™ to Pablo Diablo
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ark View Post
I guess not
Sorry Ark. We haven't tested the new firmware with anything like a 4.5 yet. I will soon and will let you know. The current RB50 firmware will be very hard to improve on for 4.5 or 4.0. It really is very smooth and that is all that matters in mod, Power is already there. I use RB50 firmware with turbo on with a 5.5 with equal top end to 4.5 but more driveability.
__________________
Paul H

Losi Type R | Xray T3 | CRC Gen XL | CRC Gen X 10 ME(Messiah Edition) | Black Diamond

www.FlyingFoxRC.com | Advanced Electronics | Team CRC | Factory Messiah
Pablo Diablo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2010, 08:43 PM   #1235
ark
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 703
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Thanks Johnny and Pablo, interesting about turbo for mod. I never tried it before. Ill have a play with it this weekend. cheers
ark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2010, 11:55 PM   #1236
Tech Adept
 
TEAMWAVE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 218
Default

Hi ARK,

We don't suggest you use turbo on 4.0T/4.5T, It may burn even for 1 lap !
For 5.5T, using turbo need lots of tunning technique such as gear ratio, size of the spur/pinion, brake adjustment.....Beware that the faster the motor, the weaker the brake you should use ! Many people apply 100% brake at the end of the straight with a fast motor, the results is blow off the motor and ESC ! Especially if you are running foam tyre.
TEAMWAVE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2010, 12:04 AM   #1237
ark
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 703
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

thanks TEAMWAVE that probably saved me some tears I will leave it the way it is.
FYI here is my setting with 4.0 rubber tyre ashfelt outdoor air temp 24deg technical but with a 40m straight 9.38 ratio:
Neutral brake 9
Brake force 1
Turbo 2
Time shift 4
Drive profile 3
Brake profile 1
Temp cut 5
Lipo cut 7
Motor type 1
any suggestions welcome.
ark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2010, 02:54 AM   #1238
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: OXON,UK
Posts: 18
Default Help with RB-50 setup, please!

Hi folks,

I've just joined this fine forum hoping for some help with a RB-50.

I've just bought one off a friend, but I'm having trouble setting it up to work with my radio. The ESC will not go into setup mode. When I hold down the 'set button' and switch on, the green led does not come on. I have tried it on another RX with the same result. Do you think it is faulty?

It is responding to the TX but obviously the neutral/full power/max brakes points are not set correctly. It's as if the 'set button' is not working. It is connected to a Spectrum micro RX.

Thanks for any help and advice.

Cheers, Frank
Frankgw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2010, 04:33 AM   #1239
Tech Adept
 
TEAMWAVE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 218
Default

Hi Frankgw,

Try to press longer time and see the RED LED flashing. If yes, that mean you can go into profile setup and the button is fine. If no, you have a failure button.

TEAM WAVE
TEAMWAVE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2010, 04:56 AM   #1240
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: OXON,UK
Posts: 18
Default

Thanks TEAMWAVE for the quick response.

I have tried holding down the button for longer. No LEDs light up.
Looks like it could be a faulty button.

Is this a common problem?
Is it possible to fix?
Do you have a repair service in the UK and how much would it cost?

Sorry about all the questions. It would be a shame to bin it if it's only a button problem. I would like to use it if possible, the new firmware sounds great!

Thanks again, Frank
Frankgw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2010, 06:06 AM   #1241
Tech Adept
 
TEAMWAVE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 218
Default

Hi Frankgw,

You can contact much-more UK for help or just ship it to us and we fix for you for free. (but you need to pay USD7.99 for shipping back to you)
TEAMWAVE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2010, 06:23 AM   #1242
Tech Adept
 
ATLASCOPCO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: ENGLAND
Posts: 191
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TEAMWAVE View Post
Hi Frankgw,

You can contact much-more UK for help or just ship it to us and we fix for you for free. (but you need to pay USD7.99 for shipping back to you)
Now thats what i call service repairing a second hand speedo for free
ATLASCOPCO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2010, 07:51 AM   #1243
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: OXON,UK
Posts: 18
Default

Yep, that's fantastic service!

I'll speak to the guy who sold it to me and get back.

Cheers, Frank
Frankgw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2010, 11:21 AM   #1244
Tech Apprentice
 
AdminD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 74
Default TEAMWAVE After sales services

Quote:
Originally Posted by TEAMWAVE View Post
Hi Frankgw,

You can contact much-more UK for help or just ship it to us and we fix for you for free. (but you need to pay USD7.99 for shipping back to you)
I am amaze TEAMWAVE, by your after sales and services.
__________________
Sliders
AdminD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2010, 07:31 AM   #1245
Tech Initiate
 
Nikstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Austria
Posts: 22
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to Nikstar
Default

Hi!

I run my RB-50 with a 6.5T Motor. My question is: Can I use the ESC without any power capacitor?

Regards,
Niko
Nikstar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Novak Racing Brushless System (3.5) andy85 Electric On-Road 2 07-12-2007 07:24 AM
Novak 3.5R Brushless Racing System TRiN Australia For Sale/Trade 2 04-02-2007 04:56 AM
Novak 3.5R Brushless Racing System Wolverini R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 03-04-2007 03:28 PM
tekin brushless racing system??? streetracer745 Electric Off-Road 7 01-16-2007 01:46 PM
Team Wave - Lightning Discharge / equalizing system TEAMWAVE Electric On-Road 271 11-19-2006 08:06 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:26 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net