R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-05-2010, 12:34 PM   #751
Tech Regular
 
Barry_Hughes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ipswich, England
Posts: 438
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by decibels View Post
Yes with turbo 2 on you can produce a lot of rpm and will have to gear down about 9 teeth in gearing which is about 10mm for me but you need to make sure not to have any timing on your motor. but on a tight track you might need to try between turbo 1 and 2 as when you are on full throttle to much it heats up the motor to much and fades!! But this also depends on the motor you run as turbo 2 suits low reving motors a lot and brings new life to them!! and remember when running turbo the time shift setting is to control how revs before turbo kicks in!! Just some starting tips hope they help!!
9 teeth
I have just received my rb-s with the 13.5T Linear motor and going to put in my Cyclone TC, previously running Losi Excelerion 13.5 combo on 67/35 giving 4.13 FDR are you saying I should change to 67/26 or the equivalent to get 5.57 FDR.
Barry_Hughes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2010, 04:22 PM   #752
Tech Regular
 
deanomgwhiteguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Townsville
Posts: 271
Send a message via MSN to deanomgwhiteguy
Default

Thanks slot guys very helpful!
How are the linear motors doing up against others like speed passion and Orion
__________________
Dean Mellor
Xray T2'007/KO/ORION
AE SC10
deanomgwhiteguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2010, 08:51 PM   #753
Tech Adept
 
TEAMWAVE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 218
Default

runinonempty:
What is the problem actually? You can't start downloading the firmware or any other problem?

deanomgwhiteguy:
Linear motor is the same as speed passion motors but with 12.5mm rotor. (Some SP motors use 12.3mm rotor)
If you run 10.5T, you need RB-S. Yes, faster and cheaper !

Barry_Hughes:
That depends on your track size, you can keep your ratio if you have long straight.
TEAMWAVE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 01:28 AM   #754
Tech Regular
 
decibels's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: in a house
Posts: 431
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Barry_Hughes View Post
9 teeth
I have just received my rb-s with the 13.5T Linear motor and going to put in my Cyclone TC, previously running Losi Excelerion 13.5 combo on 67/35 giving 4.13 FDR are you saying I should change to 67/26 or the equivalent to get 5.57 FDR.
You can gear a bit more with the linear motor as they have a lot of torque but twin turbo is quite different! i say to gear down because i do not want you to cook your motor on the first run as you need to gear up slowly!! Otherwise it can mean more money!! better safe than sorry but i like rollout better and i went down 10mm on rollout which happens to be about 9 teeth for me but every car works out different but play safe if it is too slow then gear up and check your temps!! But start at around 5.3.
__________________
Team Wave Speedies
Thunder power lipo's
flying fox rc
!!And an idiot with a controller!!
decibels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 04:42 AM   #755
Tech Fanatic
 
runinonempty's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: IN FRONT OF YOU
Posts: 852
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Yes team wave I cannot put the new firmwear on to my rb 30 when I go through the correct process on one of the other guys at the track rb 30 as soon as I flick the switch on programing card the new firmwear begins instaling on the rb 30
when I try with mine nothing happens?
Based on the fact that we can get it to work on another rb30 eliminates the possibilty of a doggy USB cable and program card so it must be the speed control
as I mentioned before it stil works fine just a bit slow as it has not had the updated firmwear

what can do to rectify this problem?
__________________
Xray T4, Tamiya M05 S-Spec
with lots of dust
runinonempty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 06:33 AM   #756
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 5,310
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by runinonempty View Post
Yes team wave I cannot put the new firmwear on to my rb 30 when I go through the correct process on one of the other guys at the track rb 30 as soon as I flick the switch on programing card the new firmwear begins instaling on the rb 30
when I try with mine nothing happens?
Based on the fact that we can get it to work on another rb30 eliminates the possibilty of a doggy USB cable and program card so it must be the speed control
as I mentioned before it stil works fine just a bit slow as it has not had the updated firmwear

what can do to rectify this problem?
So you have updated a 30 previously with the same computer/cables/program box using the same com port and settings?
__________________
Blade: Andro Treiber H 79g AN
FH: Donic Bluefire M3 Max Blk
BH: Donic Bluefire M2 Max Red
Powered by Falco
Dragonfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 06:40 AM   #757
Tech Regular
 
deanomgwhiteguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Townsville
Posts: 271
Send a message via MSN to deanomgwhiteguy
Default

Hey all again!
Last question for me, can you update the firmware on the rb s?
Thanks
__________________
Dean Mellor
Xray T2'007/KO/ORION
AE SC10
deanomgwhiteguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 03:07 PM   #758
Tech Fanatic
 
runinonempty's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: IN FRONT OF YOU
Posts: 852
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dragonfire View Post
So you have updated a 30 previously with the same computer/cables/program box using the same com port and settings?
Yes
__________________
Xray T4, Tamiya M05 S-Spec
with lots of dust
runinonempty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 06:07 PM   #759
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 498
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by deanomgwhiteguy View Post
Hey all again!
Last question for me, can you update the firmware on the rb s?
Thanks

Yes you can if there is another firmware revision release for it. The new 1.2 is for the 30-50 not the RB-S.
xspower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2010, 08:43 PM   #760
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 517
Default

I just installed RB-S, the lipo setting set at 6v cutoff. When the battery is low, I see my car suddenly goes so slow. Just like a ant is walking on the track, I think this this dangerous on the track to put back the car. Is this normal?
ioxqq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2010, 08:47 PM   #761
Tech Master
 
Pablo Diablo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 1,005
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via Skype™ to Pablo Diablo
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ioxqq View Post
I just installed RB-S, the lipo setting set at 6v cutoff. When the battery is low, I see my car suddenly goes so slow. Just like a ant is walking on the track, I think this this dangerous on the track to put back the car. Is this normal?
This is what happens when the ESC goes into Lipo cut. Try a lower voltage cut off or no cut off. The RB-S will draw a lot off current and need good fresh Lipo's.
__________________
Paul H

Losi Type R | Xray T3 | CRC Gen XL | CRC Gen X 10 ME(Messiah Edition) | Black Diamond

www.FlyingFoxRC.com | Advanced Electronics | Team CRC | Factory Messiah
Pablo Diablo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2010, 09:27 PM   #762
Tech Fanatic
 
runinonempty's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: IN FRONT OF YOU
Posts: 852
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Team Wave is there any solution to my problem?
__________________
Xray T4, Tamiya M05 S-Spec
with lots of dust
runinonempty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2010, 09:58 PM   #763
Tech Adept
 
TEAMWAVE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 218
Default

ioxqq,

When LiPo cut engage, it will slow down your car and let you drive to a safe area, other ESC will straightly cut your power and that is danger !!

runinonempty:
Did you try "Step 8, notes" on the handheld programmer manual?? (You can download from our website)


The "Linear motor" has a wider gear ratio than other "rpm type" motor. You can use timeshift, turbo 1, turbo 2, drive profile and gear ratio to tune what you need. That will cover all low,mid,high power.
TEAMWAVE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2010, 01:46 AM   #764
Tech Addict
 
cherry2blost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: London
Posts: 713
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pablo Diablo View Post
This is what happens when the ESC goes into Lipo cut. Try a lower voltage cut off or no cut off. The RB-S will draw a lot off current and need good fresh Lipo's.
Hey Pablo I am not normally one to criticize but you have just given possibly the worst piece of advice ever!

What happens to LiPo's when we discharge them below 6v, they either become paperweights or, worse still they GO UP IN SMOKE.

Why on earth would you suggest that someone, who is obviously deep discharging there LiPo's, should turn off the protection for their batteries by dropping the voltage threshold below 6v or worse still TURNING OFF the LiPo cutoff altogether.

I am hoping that the above post was meant as a tongue in cheek joke and was not a serious post, if this is the case then I apologise for getting so het up about this.
__________________
Tamiya TA05 Ver II, Hobbywing 13.5T, KO PROPO PDS-2501 ICS, Eagle Racing 6000 65C LiPo, Hobbywing XTREME STOCK 518/213) Sanwa/Airtronics MT4 2.4G Radio.
www.racersinexile.org.uk | 'Official Certified' UK/Euro Importer for the Hobbywing XERUN Series Equipment We ship the world !!!| Quote code 'cherry' for 10% discount on our Web Store.
cherry2blost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2010, 07:31 AM   #765
Tech Master
 
Pablo Diablo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 1,005
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via Skype™ to Pablo Diablo
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cherry2blost View Post
Hey Pablo I am not normally one to criticize but you have just given possibly the worst piece of advice ever!

What happens to LiPo's when we discharge them below 6v, they either become paperweights or, worse still they GO UP IN SMOKE.

Why on earth would you suggest that someone, who is obviously deep discharging there LiPo's, should turn off the protection for their batteries by dropping the voltage threshold below 6v or worse still TURNING OFF the LiPo cutoff altogether.

I am hoping that the above post was meant as a tongue in cheek joke and was not a serious post, if this is the case then I apologise for getting so het up about this.
Sorry for trying to help.

Most people who race, the people who this ESC is suitable for, would never run their lipo down to 6V. Only people bashing on the street have to worry about this. It is possible for the voltage to drop below 6V, for a very breif moment, when racing when the current draw is very high. Like when on full throttle, using twin turbo, out of a tight corner. Even if the resting voltage of the lipo is over 7V, it can go below 6V momentarily when in use. I assumed you were not stupid enough to run your lipo till it dumped, maybe I was wrong on that assumption. It is common for people with not the latest and greatest Lipo's on the market to have to disable Lipo cut.

Can I suggest you don't over react so much next time you don't fully understand someone else advice??
__________________
Paul H

Losi Type R | Xray T3 | CRC Gen XL | CRC Gen X 10 ME(Messiah Edition) | Black Diamond

www.FlyingFoxRC.com | Advanced Electronics | Team CRC | Factory Messiah
Pablo Diablo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Novak Racing Brushless System (3.5) andy85 Electric On-Road 2 07-12-2007 07:24 AM
Novak 3.5R Brushless Racing System TRiN Australia For Sale/Trade 2 04-02-2007 04:56 AM
Novak 3.5R Brushless Racing System Wolverini R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 03-04-2007 03:28 PM
tekin brushless racing system??? streetracer745 Electric Off-Road 7 01-16-2007 01:46 PM
Team Wave - Lightning Discharge / equalizing system TEAMWAVE Electric On-Road 271 11-19-2006 08:06 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:56 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net