R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-02-2010, 10:36 PM   #721
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 5,310
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MatsNorway View Post
Some questions:

* Does the TW linear motors deliver the power at lower revs than most BL motors out there?
* And is all brushless linear motors?
* Does anyone have a god page with info about rc dc motors? types of BL, etc.
The "Linear" motors are torque type motors meanig they have lots and lots of power at low RPM but less up high. The opposite end of the spectrum would be novaks motors which are all top end and have little bottom end grunt. With speedies developing to give more and more top end anyway (like the RB-S) the torque type motors are fast becoming the better choice.
__________________
Blade: Andro Treiber H 79g AN
FH: Donic Bluefire M3 Max Blk
BH: Donic Bluefire M2 Max Red
Powered by Falco
Dragonfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2010, 04:21 AM   #722
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 436
Default

thanks.

but what about the other questions.

Novak got more torque than lrp x12 btw.

MatsNorway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2010, 04:37 AM   #723
PDR
Tech Master
 
PDR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,826
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Default Limp / go-slow mode?

Has anyone else seen this?

A couple of times at the track and once or twice at home, my RB-30 goes into "go-slow" or "limp" mode. Full throttle results in about 5-10% power at the wheels. It's easy to fix, just switch the ESC off and back on and all is well again.

Unfortunately, this is quite inconvenient when I'm on the driver's stand

I've updated to the firmware listed on the Team wave site and it still does it. It appears random, and more likely to occur during warm-up than a race.

All electrical connections are solid and it's happened with different battery packs. I originally suspected heat, but it did it today after a few blips of the throttle while I held the car in my hand and ambient temperature would have been mid 20's (degC).

Smells like bug to me...
__________________
Looking for chassis | Multiple Kids
2011 Slowest Winner - 21.5 Muchmore Masters & NSW State Titles Demo Class
https://www.facebook.com/phatdadracing/
Making an A Main at a Scotty Ernst event. Awesome. Scotty calling you first in A1. Priceless

Last edited by PDR; 01-03-2010 at 02:33 PM. Reason: Brain fade
PDR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2010, 04:42 AM   #724
Tech Champion
 
cannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: A total distraction
Posts: 7,266
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PDR View Post
Has anyone else seen this?

A couple of times at the track and once or twice at home, my RB-30 goes into "go-slow" or "limp" mode. Full throttle results in about 5-10% power at the wheels. It's easy to fix, just switch the ESC off and back on and all is well again.

Unfortunately, this is quite inconvenient when I'm on the driver's stand

I've updated to the firmware listed on the Tekin site and it still does it. It appears random, and more likely to occur during warm-up than a race.

All electrical connections are solid and it's happened with different battery packs. I originally suspected heat, but it did it today after a few blips of the throttle while I held the car in my hand and ambient temperature would have been mid 20's (degC).

Smells like bug to me...
Updated a Wave with the update on a TEKIN site Now that is interesting
__________________
www.feralbatteries.com ........... new website
cannon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2010, 05:23 AM   #725
Tech Master
 
Pablo Diablo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 1,005
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via Skype™ to Pablo Diablo
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PDR View Post
Has anyone else seen this?

A couple of times at the track and once or twice at home, my RB-30 goes into "go-slow" or "limp" mode. Full throttle results in about 5-10% power at the wheels. It's easy to fix, just switch the ESC off and back on and all is well again.

Unfortunately, this is quite inconvenient when I'm on the driver's stand

I've updated to the firmware listed on the Tekin site and it still does it. It appears random, and more likely to occur during warm-up than a race.

All electrical connections are solid and it's happened with different battery packs. I originally suspected heat, but it did it today after a few blips of the throttle while I held the car in my hand and ambient temperature would have been mid 20's (degC).

Smells like bug to me...
Quote:
Originally Posted by cannon View Post
Updated a Wave with the update on a TEKIN site Now that is interesting
You could try the new speed passion 312 firmware and if that doesn't work test the new castle programs
__________________
Paul H

Losi Type R | Xray T3 | CRC Gen XL | CRC Gen X 10 ME(Messiah Edition) | Black Diamond

www.FlyingFoxRC.com | Advanced Electronics | Team CRC | Factory Messiah
Pablo Diablo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2010, 06:49 AM   #726
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 5,310
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PDR View Post
Has anyone else seen this?

A couple of times at the track and once or twice at home, my RB-30 goes into "go-slow" or "limp" mode. Full throttle results in about 5-10% power at the wheels. It's easy to fix, just switch the ESC off and back on and all is well again.

Unfortunately, this is quite inconvenient when I'm on the driver's stand

I've updated to the firmware listed on the Tekin site and it still does it. It appears random, and more likely to occur during warm-up than a race.

All electrical connections are solid and it's happened with different battery packs. I originally suspected heat, but it did it today after a few blips of the throttle while I held the car in my hand and ambient temperature would have been mid 20's (degC).

Smells like bug to me...
LOL a few funny posts above!

It might be an idea to start with what speedy you have. Is it a TW, Tekin, or something else. Just need to make sense out of what you are saying as there is a little confusion.
__________________
Blade: Andro Treiber H 79g AN
FH: Donic Bluefire M3 Max Blk
BH: Donic Bluefire M2 Max Red
Powered by Falco
Dragonfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2010, 02:35 PM   #727
PDR
Tech Master
 
PDR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,826
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Default

Ok - my bad. Brain fade

I've edited the post. I've updated the ESC with the 1.2a firmware from the download section of the TeamWave site. Still does the go-slow. Not all the time, just randomly.
__________________
Looking for chassis | Multiple Kids
2011 Slowest Winner - 21.5 Muchmore Masters & NSW State Titles Demo Class
https://www.facebook.com/phatdadracing/
Making an A Main at a Scotty Ernst event. Awesome. Scotty calling you first in A1. Priceless
PDR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2010, 08:50 PM   #728
Tech Adept
 
TEAMWAVE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 218
Default

Hi PDR,

Just make sure your LiPo cut off is set correctly. If Red LED is flashing after cut out, it is LiPo cut, if Red LED goes solid, it is Temp cut. If only Green LED after cut out and car goes slow, you may need to send it back for repair.

TEAM WAVE
TEAMWAVE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2010, 09:31 PM   #729
PDR
Tech Master
 
PDR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,826
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TEAMWAVE View Post
Hi PDR,

Just make sure your LiPo cut off is set correctly. If Red LED is flashing after cut out, it is LiPo cut, if Red LED goes solid, it is Temp cut. If only Green LED after cut out and car goes slow, you may need to send it back for repair.

TEAM WAVE
Thanks for the note - appreciated.

Fairly confident that there are no lights on other than green. I have set the LiPo cutoff, but the red light doesn't appear to come on at all. I've taken it out of the car for the moment, since it's hopefully going in my new one which I'm building at the moment.

If it does it again, I'll see if I can take a video of it.

Thanks,
Phil.
__________________
Looking for chassis | Multiple Kids
2011 Slowest Winner - 21.5 Muchmore Masters & NSW State Titles Demo Class
https://www.facebook.com/phatdadracing/
Making an A Main at a Scotty Ernst event. Awesome. Scotty calling you first in A1. Priceless
PDR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2010, 11:38 PM   #730
Tech Rookie
 
Iceman 69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: South Africa
Posts: 18
Default

Morning Gents,

Please could someone assist, i have 2x TW rb 50's and for some reason i cant download the latest firmware, has anyone experianced the same problem?
the problem is that when i download the new firmware it saves it as a HTML file where its suppose to be a .FRM file.

Your help is much appreciated

__________________
Cyclone TC~SP GT pro~10.5????????
Cyclone ~ RS Pro ~ SP13.5 V3
Cyclone ~ Spare
Iceman 69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2010, 11:51 PM   #731
Tech Regular
 
decibels's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: in a house
Posts: 431
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Iceman 69 View Post
Morning Gents,

Please could someone assist, i have 2x TW rb 50's and for some reason i cant download the latest firmware, has anyone experianced the same problem?
the problem is that when i download the new firmware it saves it as a HTML file where its suppose to be a .FRM file.

Your help is much appreciated

did you right click and save link as?? because when i did it lists a .frm. don't open link just right click and save if that is what you are doing then maybe browser settings. but i use mozilla fire fox as a browser and no probs.
Hope that helps!!
__________________
Team Wave Speedies
Thunder power lipo's
flying fox rc
!!And an idiot with a controller!!
decibels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2010, 06:30 AM   #732
Tech Rookie
 
Iceman 69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: South Africa
Posts: 18
Default

Thanks decibels,

it worked well all sorted, just one question what is the diffeance in the 2 firmwares?

Thanks again
__________________
Cyclone TC~SP GT pro~10.5????????
Cyclone ~ RS Pro ~ SP13.5 V3
Cyclone ~ Spare
Iceman 69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2010, 09:10 AM   #733
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 5,310
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Iceman 69 View Post
Thanks decibels,

it worked well all sorted, just one question what is the diffeance in the 2 firmwares?

Thanks again
It dosen't feel any different but it does seem to be slightly faster if by only a tenth.
__________________
Blade: Andro Treiber H 79g AN
FH: Donic Bluefire M3 Max Blk
BH: Donic Bluefire M2 Max Red
Powered by Falco
Dragonfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2010, 09:15 AM   #734
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 5,310
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PDR View Post
Ok - my bad. Brain fade

I've edited the post. I've updated the ESC with the 1.2a firmware from the download section of the TeamWave site. Still does the go-slow. Not all the time, just randomly.
If you haven't recalibrated your radio try that 1st. If it is still playing up try updating the software again or go back to the previous software. On my computer it seems to go funny 1/2 way through updating sometimes while another computer I have works fine all the time. It may have been a glitch during the update process.
__________________
Blade: Andro Treiber H 79g AN
FH: Donic Bluefire M3 Max Blk
BH: Donic Bluefire M2 Max Red
Powered by Falco
Dragonfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2010, 10:39 AM   #735
Tech Regular
 
jdm19turn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 404
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I just bought a teamwave rb-s esc is there a noticeable difference in it and the rb30 or rb50 and how close is it to other current brands with.the crazy rpm software on them I figured there's some guys running them against the tekins and mambas now how are they doing?
__________________
mi4 ,mi5
jdm19turn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Novak Racing Brushless System (3.5) andy85 Electric On-Road 2 07-12-2007 07:24 AM
Novak 3.5R Brushless Racing System TRiN Australia For Sale/Trade 2 04-02-2007 04:56 AM
Novak 3.5R Brushless Racing System Wolverini R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 03-04-2007 03:28 PM
tekin brushless racing system??? streetracer745 Electric Off-Road 7 01-16-2007 01:46 PM
Team Wave - Lightning Discharge / equalizing system TEAMWAVE Electric On-Road 271 11-19-2006 08:06 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:56 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net