R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-02-2009, 05:26 AM   #586
Tech Elite
 
hacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Vic, Australia
Posts: 3,136
Trader Rating: 141 (100%+)
Default

is it true the latest firmware is NOT the one available in the download section on your website?
hacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2009, 10:29 AM   #587
Tech Regular
 
Conrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Scotland
Posts: 473
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default RB30 Setup Problems

Cant get my RB30 to setup, I've emailed Team Wave as well with a full description of the problem (see below). Does anyone else have any insight to share?

Quote:
I recently purchased a RB30 speed controller from rcmart, now its finally wired up and installed in the car (1/12th circuit 1S lipo) I cant get it to start/complete the radio setup. It will start radio setup most of the time (red light stays on, sometimes it goes off) but once in setup mode that's it, the setup button has no effect, neither does moving the stick on the transmitter while pressing setup. Twice out of about twenty attempts I've had the setup lights flash to indicate the next step in setup but after that nothing. My first thoughts were a dodgy setup button as its a bit fiddly but I am able to get in to profile mode and choose a page so the button is fine.

I've tried the speed controllerrrr with 1S lipo with and without a booster receiverrrr wire from the esc disconnected with the booster and esc switched on) aI've've tried it with a regular six cell NimH pack. After a couple of attempts with the NimH pack the setup light changes from three flashes to two to one to none during switch on. The servo only works the first time the car is switch on as well. With the 1S lipo I always get the three flashes on switch on and power to the servo.

The transmitter is a Futaba FF3 (40Mhz) and so far I've tried the setup with three different futaba receivers, a 1024PCM, R133F and a FP-R103F, the last two are both PPM receivers. Failsafes have been enabled/disabled in the transmitter, throttle is set to rev, atv and other limiters are at 100%, I've even reset the profile and created a new one from scratch with no luck. I've even tried it with the DSC lead plugged directly in to the receiver, I've also tried a different sensor cable and still nothing.

I noticed in your thread on rc-tech someone else has had issue with futaba equipment is it just a compatibility issue or something more serious?
Conrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2009, 02:32 PM   #588
Tech Fanatic
 
bukil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: BenTooWrah
Posts: 998
Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TEAMWAVE View Post
We will continue to support RB30/50 and new firmware will be available if needed.
So... the twin turbo that RBS has is not available to the RB30/50 by a firmware upgrade?
bukil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2009, 03:41 PM   #589
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 498
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Conrad View Post
Cant get my RB30 to setup, I've emailed Team Wave as well with a full description of the problem (see below). Does anyone else have any insight to share?
Question here. Do you have the voltage setting to off for the 3.7v or also the 4.6v. If the setting is to high then that also might be causing it check and see may not be it but could I was having a issue and the voltage limit was set to the lipo 6.4 I believe. Also when using the booster you have the red wire out of the speedo. Use the red wire if you use 4 cell or 6 cell but with the booster follow the instructions you will not meed to use the red wire in the speedo harness.
xspower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2009, 01:38 AM   #590
Tech Adept
 
wide_mouth_frog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: www.absdesigns.co.uk
Posts: 236
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Well what can I say, I tried the RB-S out with a 13.5 on Tuesday, and I have to say it is the fastest my car has ever gone, up till now I have been using the RB-50 and it has been the fastest at my local club, there for didnt really feel the need to upgrade to the RB-S.........

I ordered one anyhow to try as the price looked VERY appealing, and Oh My!!!! truely the fastest my car has lapped at my local.

I have tested the LRP Stock spec, and I didnt really like the way the double turbo function kicked in at the wrong moments, but the RB-S is so much smoother, but still has that kick to it.

I found gearing a lot easier also, I went down one 48dp pinion after practice, and I feel I could have gone down another pinion. I also took all the advance off the motor and just let the speed control do its business.

The motor did run a little warmer compared to my fellow racers, hence why I feel I should have gone down a gear, but on track performance was not hindered, and I would say slightly cooler than the RB50 with advancing the motor.

here is my speedo setup if anyone is interested..

1-3
2-4
3-2
4-7
5-8
6-5
7-3
8-4
9-1

That seemed like a good place to start, I did play about from there, but I found no real advantage, so I put it back to the above settings.

Hope this helps if people are wondering if it is worth getting

Adam
__________________
Team Wave - absdesigns.co.uk - Selections RC
wide_mouth_frog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2009, 02:03 AM   #591
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 230
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bukil View Post
So... the twin turbo that RBS has is not available to the RB30/50 by a firmware upgrade?
Doesn't seem to be, and if you look at the text from their website regarding the RB30/50 series it states


Expandable design

Both RB30 and RB50 are capable to update firmware through the optional handheld programmer. The handheld programmer not only provide easy setup of the controller but also features a USB link. With updateable firmware, you can enjoy all new features later without paying extra!


Isn't Twin Turbo and timeshift 7 a new feature?, but in order for us to get it we do have to pay extra!. The RB-S uses the same usb setting card, so does the RB-S have some significant hardware changes?, or is it just an RB30 with a fan and new firmware?
MoonTrap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2009, 02:14 AM   #592
Tech Champion
 
cannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: A total distraction
Posts: 7,266
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wide_mouth_frog View Post
Well what can I say, I tried the RB-S out with a 13.5 on Tuesday, and I have to say it is the fastest my car has ever gone, up till now I have been using the RB-50 and it has been the fastest at my local club, there for didnt really feel the need to upgrade to the RB-S.........

I ordered one anyhow to try as the price looked VERY appealing, and Oh My!!!! truely the fastest my car has lapped at my local.

I have tested the LRP Stock spec, and I didnt really like the way the double turbo function kicked in at the wrong moments, but the RB-S is so much smoother, but still has that kick to it.

I found gearing a lot easier also, I went down one 48dp pinion after practice, and I feel I could have gone down another pinion. I also took all the advance off the motor and just let the speed control do its business.

The motor did run a little warmer compared to my fellow racers, hence why I feel I should have gone down a gear, but on track performance was not hindered, and I would say slightly cooler than the RB50 with advancing the motor.

here is my speedo setup if anyone is interested..

1-3
2-4
3-2
4-7
5-8
6-5
7-3
8-4
9-1

That seemed like a good place to start, I did play about from there, but I found no real advantage, so I put it back to the above settings.

Hope this helps if people are wondering if it is worth getting

Adam
How did you order one when they dont seem to be available yet?

They are not even on the Team Wave website online buying yet?

A team driver doing some sneeky prerelease promotion?

It is good to see that the ESC seems fast but dont give a false impression that you are a general racer (you posted once before that you had a Wave ESC before release)
__________________
www.feralbatteries.com ........... new website
cannon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2009, 03:35 AM   #593
Tech Adept
 
TEAMWAVE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 218
Default

RB-S is released in some country, we already send out the first batch to some distributor such that they can sell before we put on our web shop.

As we said we will provide firmware update for RB30/RB50 with new features, that's why we release firmware update v1.1 and v1.2 later.

The firmware of RB-S has too much power that RB-30 can't handle

The settings of RB-S is specially designed for stock racing only while RB50 need to take care of both modify class and stock class.
TEAMWAVE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2009, 04:02 AM   #594
Tech Adept
 
wide_mouth_frog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: www.absdesigns.co.uk
Posts: 236
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I there, I am just saying how it is really... I had the RB-30 and it was a good speedo, I found the RB-50 a HUGE step forward, and what I have found the RB-S even better for stock racing.

I am sure there is nothing to choose between all the high end speed controls, but pound for punch I have no complaints in recommending the RB-S, and when its my hard earnt money, I do not mind saying when I find something I think others will like, just trying to be helpfull.

no offence taken btw


Quote:
Originally Posted by cannon View Post
How did you order one when they dont seem to be available yet?

They are not even on the Team Wave website online buying yet?

A team driver doing some sneeky prerelease promotion?

It is good to see that the ESC seems fast but dont give a false impression that you are a general racer (you posted once before that you had a Wave ESC before release)
__________________
Team Wave - absdesigns.co.uk - Selections RC
wide_mouth_frog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2009, 04:07 AM   #595
Tech Champion
 
cannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: A total distraction
Posts: 7,266
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TEAMWAVE View Post
RB-S is released in some country, we already send out the first batch to some distributor such that they can sell before we put on our web shop.

As we said we will provide firmware update for RB30/RB50 with new features, that's why we release firmware update v1.1 and v1.2 later.

The firmware of RB-S has too much power that RB-30 can't handle

The settings of RB-S is specially designed for stock racing only while RB50 need to take care of both modify class and stock class.

Max,

so you are saying that the RB30 cannot cope .. that is fine. Does this mean that the RB50 can cope and that the firmware of the RB-S can be uploaded because that is what it seems you are saying
__________________
www.feralbatteries.com ........... new website
cannon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2009, 05:15 AM   #596
Tech Adept
 
Redwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Scotland
Posts: 188
Default

Sorry to distract you all from the excitement of the new RB-S, but I have ordered an RB-50 (at exactly the worst time) and will be running it with a speed passion 17.5 (v2). What is a good starting point for FDR and speedo settings.

Also, how should these settings differ if I go for a faster motor, 13.5 or 10.5?

Last question: My 13.5 has adjustable timing, as far as I read, this should be fully down for the RB-50, is that right?

Thanks in advance,

Neal
Redwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2009, 05:22 AM   #597
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 230
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TEAMWAVE View Post

As we said we will provide firmware update for RB30/RB50 with new features, that's why we release firmware update v1.1 and v1.2 later.
Will 1.2 have the features of more timing shift or twin turbo?, if not then i dont see what new features the 1.2 will have

Quote:
Originally Posted by TEAMWAVE View Post
The firmware of RB-S has too much power that RB-30 can't handle
Looking at the specs of the RB-S it looks to be the same/similar to an RB30 with both being 200A. So surely the RB50 can handle the RB-S firmware, so why not release it for the RB50


Quote:
Originally Posted by TEAMWAVE View Post
The settings of RB-S is specially designed for stock racing only while RB50 need to take care of both modify class and stock class.
Then why not release the twin turbo firmware for the RB50, So then RB50 users can have a firmware for stock, and then if they want to run mod they can use 1.1/1.2. Many other speedo makers have firmware dedicated to different racing classes.

There are more spec/stock racers these days in many countries than there are mod racers, dont be like other manufacturers and make the customers buy a new speedo every year when a new feature comes out. Treat your existing Team Wave customers right that have invested money in the systems.
MoonTrap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2009, 05:46 AM   #598
Tech Champion
 
Slotmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Germantown Maryland
Posts: 5,699
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to Slotmachine
Default

Quote:
I recently purchased a RB30 speed controller from rcmart, now its finally wired up and installed in the car (1/12th circuit 1S lipo) I cant get it to start/complete the radio setup. It will start radio setup most of the time (red light stays on, sometimes it goes off) but once in setup mode that's it, the setup button has no effect, neither does moving the stick on the transmitter while pressing setup. Twice out of about twenty attempts I've had the setup lights flash to indicate the next step in setup but after that nothing. My first thoughts were a dodgy setup button as its a bit fiddly but I am able to get in to profile mode and choose a page so the button is fine.

I've tried the speed controllerrrr with 1S lipo with and without a booster receiverrrr wire from the esc disconnected with the booster and esc switched on) aI've've tried it with a regular six cell NimH pack. After a couple of attempts with the NimH pack the setup light changes from three flashes to two to one to none during switch on. The servo only works the first time the car is switch on as well. With the 1S lipo I always get the three flashes on switch on and power to the servo.

The transmitter is a Futaba FF3 (40Mhz) and so far I've tried the setup with three different futaba receivers, a 1024PCM, R133F and a FP-R103F, the last two are both PPM receivers. Failsafes have been enabled/disabled in the transmitter, throttle is set to rev, atv and other limiters are at 100%, I've even reset the profile and created a new one from scratch with no luck. I've even tried it with the DSC lead plugged directly in to the receiver, I've also tried a different sensor cable and still nothing.

I noticed in your thread on rc-tech someone else has had issue with futaba equipment is it just a compatibility issue or something more serious?
If you are having a problem setting up your speedo (getting it to recognize your radio signal) try switching the throttle setting to reverse.......
Slotmachine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2009, 06:05 AM   #599
Tech Elite
 
hacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Vic, Australia
Posts: 3,136
Trader Rating: 141 (100%+)
Default

yeh I bought 2x team waves a couple of weeks ago to replace my tekins thinking cos the firmware is upgradeable, that there would be no new speedies from team wave for a long time.

I race only stock class, and bought my rb50's for that purpose, and now to hear that there is a new speedy out for stock spec class, is like getting a kick in the gut while lying down.

surely you can somehow integrate your new rb-s technology into the rb-50.

I would look pretty silly trying to keep up with a rb-s with my rb-50
hacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2009, 09:33 AM   #600
Tech Elite
 
vr6cj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Modesto, CA
Posts: 4,052
Trader Rating: 124 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wide_mouth_frog View Post
Well what can I say, I tried the RB-S out with a 13.5 on Tuesday, and I have to say it is the fastest my car has ever gone, up till now I have been using the RB-50 and it has been the fastest at my local club, there for didnt really feel the need to upgrade to the RB-S.........

I ordered one anyhow to try as the price looked VERY appealing, and Oh My!!!! truely the fastest my car has lapped at my local.

I have tested the LRP Stock spec, and I didnt really like the way the double turbo function kicked in at the wrong moments, but the RB-S is so much smoother, but still has that kick to it.

I found gearing a lot easier also, I went down one 48dp pinion after practice, and I feel I could have gone down another pinion. I also took all the advance off the motor and just let the speed control do its business.

The motor did run a little warmer compared to my fellow racers, hence why I feel I should have gone down a gear, but on track performance was not hindered, and I would say slightly cooler than the RB50 with advancing the motor.

here is my speedo setup if anyone is interested..

1-3
2-4
3-2
4-7
5-8
6-5
7-3
8-4
9-1

That seemed like a good place to start, I did play about from there, but I found no real advantage, so I put it back to the above settings.

Hope this helps if people are wondering if it is worth getting

Adam
Where did you buy your speedo at?
vr6cj is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Novak Racing Brushless System (3.5) andy85 Electric On-Road 2 07-12-2007 07:24 AM
Novak 3.5R Brushless Racing System TRiN Australia For Sale/Trade 2 04-02-2007 04:56 AM
Novak 3.5R Brushless Racing System Wolverini R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 03-04-2007 03:28 PM
tekin brushless racing system??? streetracer745 Electric Off-Road 7 01-16-2007 01:46 PM
Team Wave - Lightning Discharge / equalizing system TEAMWAVE Electric On-Road 271 11-19-2006 08:06 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:08 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net