R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-21-2011, 08:52 AM   #1816
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 396
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Hi all, I've run into a snag here and hope you guys can help me out.

I've been running the RB 50 with the v1.1 firmware. Want to upgrade to the latest 1.4a.
Had the esc wires connected to the hand held, the additional red wire from the hand held to the switch, followed by the USB from my comp. The esc switch is in "OFF", while the hand held switch stayed in "Profile Setup" position.
After USB was attached, flashing green LED on hand held seen and soon indicates "E r", though slightly dim.

Got the "RB Programmer" app running. Selected the latest 1.4a FRM file selected and indicates "Ready, Waiting for target". Selected the port which in the Device Manager states "Prolific USB-to-Serial Comm Port".

Slide the hand held switch to "Press to trigger PC transfer".

Then that's the problem, nothing happens....

Wonders if there's anything that I'd done wrong? Any advise would be great. Thanks.

Cheers!!
__________________
K.I.S.S.
Keep It Simple Stupid
kerk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2011, 11:05 AM   #1817
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 156
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

As I remember max mentioned sometimes you need to put the switch to "trigger" then plug in the 3 pin plug in the handheld. I did that and the update process just started.
cup racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2011, 04:25 PM   #1818
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: victoria BC
Posts: 810
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

hey Max

just curious with the new firmware. is there any recommendation for spec racing with the 17.5 and what roll out go for.
cyrrus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2011, 09:00 PM   #1819
Tech Adept
 
TEAMWAVE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 218
Default

For 17.5T, you can try :

1/ +2 motor timing if your motor has hardware timing
2/ ESC setting: 5/7/5/3/4/2/4/4/1
3/ Gear ~5.5

Depends on the track size and layout, change timeshift to 6 or turbo to 6 which fit you most.
TEAMWAVE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2011, 04:48 PM   #1820
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: victoria BC
Posts: 810
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Hey Max

i was refering to blinky mode not turbo racing.
cyrrus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2011, 06:58 PM   #1821
Tech Adept
 
V-Liqour's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Windsor Nsw Australia
Posts: 105
Default Blinky mode Rbs

Blinky mode (spec racing),
When in roar mode (page 9 setting 2) the timing is disabled
ie no time shift , turbo etc, all you can adjust is your brakes, temp and voltage cutoff as for what rollout that depends on your motor and track size
I use my RBS for spec and turbo racing the rollout varies greatly from track to track and motor to motor 4.5 Fdr is a good start point for 17.5 but keep an eye on the temp
Scott
__________________
Purples Great HB:TC:TCX:BLITZ ESE: And More Xxx's
HobbyWing V3:Xtreme : EXOTEC: HBX : HBXX : SPEC R:
XXX4 : B4 : JET:Pro Amp: STRC
: and other stuff I can't remember??
"Genuine Authentic Copy". "tunay na tunay na kopya"

Last edited by V-Liqour; 07-26-2011 at 07:02 PM. Reason: Additioo
V-Liqour is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2011, 09:03 PM   #1822
Tech Adept
 
TEAMWAVE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 218
Default

For blinky mode 17.5T, some customer run down to 3.xx FDR !!
It depends much on track layout. 4.5 is a good starting point.
TEAMWAVE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2011, 02:22 AM   #1823
Tech Master
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1,303
Trader Rating: 43 (100%+)
Default

Wondering if anyone can assist, I have an RB50, running 21.5, which has no power. It has the latest firmware, (1.4 I think it is) and at full throttle the rpm is very low. No timing or turbo boost can be heard either. Have tried a new sensor cable with no effect. Other thought was maybe I have incorrect settings on it? There was no attachment with firmware for revised hand held programmer settings, but maybe I have them set incorrectly. Perhaps someone can link me to the current sheet for the hand held unit so I can check against mine?

Thanks in advance.
matrix101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2011, 03:37 AM   #1824
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: South Africa
Posts: 80
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by matrix101 View Post
Wondering if anyone can assist, I have an RB50, running 21.5, which has no power. It has the latest firmware, (1.4 I think it is) and at full throttle the rpm is very low. No timing or turbo boost can be heard either. Have tried a new sensor cable with no effect. Other thought was maybe I have incorrect settings on it? There was no attachment with firmware for revised hand held programmer settings, but maybe I have them set incorrectly. Perhaps someone can link me to the current sheet for the hand held unit so I can check against mine?

Thanks in advance.
AFAIK Ver1.4 software is meant for those using the RB50 running mod/low turn motors.

I use Ver 2.2F on my RB50 to run my stock motors i.e 13.5 and 17.5 and they run pretty well.
The sheet for the hand held unit for the Ver2.2f is in the zip file.
SeanV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2011, 10:37 PM   #1825
Tech Master
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1,303
Trader Rating: 43 (100%+)
Default

Looks like the problem is a little more serious. When I connect the program card, the letters "er" appear.
matrix101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2011, 02:21 AM   #1826
Tech Fanatic
 
mc4798's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 971
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by matrix101 View Post
Looks like the problem is a little more serious. When I connect the program card, the letters "er" appear.
It is supposed to when connected to a pc.

if you are trying to adjust profiles and are getting that 'er" check to make sure the switch is to profile setup.
__________________
ckhobby.com
USA Distributor of Dualsky Advanced Electronics
mc4798 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2011, 02:43 AM   #1827
Tech Master
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1,303
Trader Rating: 43 (100%+)
Default

"er" appeared only when ESC was connected to program card, set to profile mode. Was not connected to pc.
matrix101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2011, 02:53 AM   #1828
Tech Fanatic
 
mc4798's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 971
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

maybe an issue but have you tried re-installing ver 1.4 or 2.2 ?

I have just been using the RB-S for alittle over month with a 17.5 and it rips using software 2.2
__________________
ckhobby.com
USA Distributor of Dualsky Advanced Electronics
mc4798 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2011, 03:46 AM   #1829
Tech Master
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1,303
Trader Rating: 43 (100%+)
Default

Is 2.2 suitable for RB50? I've only seen it listed for RB-S.
matrix101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2011, 03:54 AM   #1830
Tech Fanatic
 
mc4798's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 971
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by matrix101 View Post
Is 2.2 suitable for RB50? I've only seen it listed for RB-S.

seems it is possible to use RB-S software with the rb-30/50 from what I have read in the thread but would proably be best to let Max answer that question.
__________________
ckhobby.com
USA Distributor of Dualsky Advanced Electronics
mc4798 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Novak Racing Brushless System (3.5) andy85 Electric On-Road 2 07-12-2007 07:24 AM
Novak 3.5R Brushless Racing System TRiN Australia For Sale/Trade 2 04-02-2007 04:56 AM
Novak 3.5R Brushless Racing System Wolverini R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 03-04-2007 03:28 PM
tekin brushless racing system??? streetracer745 Electric Off-Road 7 01-16-2007 01:46 PM
Team Wave - Lightning Discharge / equalizing system TEAMWAVE Electric On-Road 271 11-19-2006 08:06 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:18 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net