R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-17-2010, 08:30 AM   #1666
Tech Adept
 
wide_mouth_frog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: www.absdesigns.co.uk
Posts: 236
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Hi Jason,

Nice to see a fellow Teamwave runner in the UK...

I found running the FRD lower, my turbo did not kick in early enough and was peaking on a sweeper (out track is square, so the straight always has a nearly flat out 90 right in it!!)

I tried the gearing of 7.2 so it would kick in earlier due to the speedo settings being activated (so to speak) but the RPM.

That being said I am still lacking some puntch to a well sorted Tekin driver... so maybe more fettling is needed heheheh

if you ever have any questions or help, just ask away


ooo forgot to ask... do you run a motor fan?
__________________
Team Wave - absdesigns.co.uk - Selections RC
wide_mouth_frog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2010, 12:47 PM   #1667
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: England
Posts: 12
Default

hi adam. I stopped running a fan with the latest firmware. How about you? I have only just switched from 10.5 to 13.5 in the last 2 weeks so still looking for a sweet spot. I hope to try your fdr and settings for a heat tomorrow night and i will let you know how i get on.
SilverScooby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2010, 02:18 PM   #1668
Tech Adept
 
ATLASCOPCO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: ENGLAND
Posts: 191
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wide_mouth_frog View Post
Hi Jason,

Nice to see a fellow Teamwave runner in the UK...

I found running the FRD lower, my turbo did not kick in early enough and was peaking on a sweeper (out track is square, so the straight always has a nearly flat out 90 right in it!!)

I tried the gearing of 7.2 so it would kick in earlier due to the speedo settings being activated (so to speak) but the RPM.

That being said I am still lacking some puntch to a well sorted Tekin driver... so maybe more fettling is needed heheheh

if you ever have any questions or help, just ask away :
ooo forgot to ask... do you run a motor fan?




Hi Adam,
I thought the turbo kick in was by time and not rpm ??
Let me know

I know the 202g was done on rpm
__________________
XRAY T4 2014
HOBBYWING V3.1
HOBBYWING MOTORS
ATLASCOPCO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2010, 03:44 PM   #1669
Tech Adept
 
wide_mouth_frog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: www.absdesigns.co.uk
Posts: 236
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SilverScooby View Post
hi adam. I stopped running a fan with the latest firmware. How about you? I have only just switched from 10.5 to 13.5 in the last 2 weeks so still looking for a sweet spot. I hope to try your fdr and settings for a heat tomorrow night and i will let you know how i get on.
Well, I personally always run a fan just to keep everything nice and cool.... do let us know how you get on!
__________________
Team Wave - absdesigns.co.uk - Selections RC
wide_mouth_frog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2010, 03:54 PM   #1670
Tech Adept
 
wide_mouth_frog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: www.absdesigns.co.uk
Posts: 236
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ATLASCOPCO;82[LIST=1
[/LIST]23360]Hi Adam,
I thought the turbo kick in was by time and not rpm ??
Let me know

I know the 202g was done on rpm
for sure you have the .1 .2 and .3 but the time shift was the main function i was talking about..... i confuse my self often hehehe
__________________
Team Wave - absdesigns.co.uk - Selections RC
wide_mouth_frog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2010, 06:15 AM   #1671
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: England
Posts: 12
Default

This may or may not be useful info, but came from team Wave.

Page 1 is Timeshift, it affect the whole range of motor timing. Start at
6 when playing 10.5T-21.5T motor

Page 2 is Timeshift gain, which is the power band of the motor timing
defined in page 1.

Page 3 is Turbo which is the added motor timing when full throttle is
triggered

Page 4 is the Turbo ramp and Delay. Delay 0.1s means turbo will start to
kick in after 0.1s of full throttle applied. Ramp is the time needed to
reach the maximum preset turbo. The higher the ramp, the faster the
turbo reach its maximum.

Page 5 is Drive profile, which is similar to throttle curve, higher
value means more punch.

Also, these are the drag brake values for version d and e firmware
0%,4%,8%,12%,16%,20%,24%,28%,32%

Hope this is of some use

Jason
SilverScooby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2010, 03:17 PM   #1672
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: victoria BC
Posts: 810
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Hey guy

I need a good set up for a 17.5 non turbo set up.

running rug and with jaco blue and the car is a tc5 with the exoteck chassis.

i can use either a rb s or a rb3o unsure what motor i will use though.
cyrrus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2010, 04:41 PM   #1673
Tech Adept
 
wide_mouth_frog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: www.absdesigns.co.uk
Posts: 236
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cyrrus View Post
Hey guy

I need a good set up for a 17.5 non turbo set up.

running rug and with jaco blue and the car is a tc5 with the exoteck chassis.

i can use either a rb s or a rb3o unsure what motor i will use though.
Hi there, I would use the rbs, as it has been developed for spec racing at a high level... as for motors, I would either go for a team wave, as they are a good strong motor that will last, or maybe a variable timing motor so you have more tuning options. But to be honest with the development with speed controls, fixed motor timing is less of an issue, also depends what your club rules allow.
__________________
Team Wave - absdesigns.co.uk - Selections RC
wide_mouth_frog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2010, 06:41 AM   #1674
Tech Elite
 
dameetz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: The Sky
Posts: 2,542
Default

Team Wave, do you have a replacement sensor for Linear motor? I have Linear 5.5t motor that I ve been using for 2 months, somehow the sensor is not working right now. If you have the replacement do let me know.
__________________
Dudududududuuuuuu.....
dameetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2010, 11:12 AM   #1675
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Vilnius - Lithuania
Posts: 494
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default Problem with hadheld programmer

Hi,

when I connect handheld programmer to ESC it shows E r only. Can not set any parameters with it. Can I change parameters with button on ESC? Or I have to buy new programmer? ESC seems to work ok...
__________________
Audrius

www.rc-cars.lt - offroad in Lithuania
www.lasa.lt - onroad in Lithuania
audriusv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2010, 04:28 PM   #1676
Tech Adept
 
wide_mouth_frog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: www.absdesigns.co.uk
Posts: 236
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by audriusv View Post
Hi,

when I connect handheld programmer to ESC it shows E r only. Can not set any parameters with it. Can I change parameters with button on ESC? Or I have to buy new programmer? ESC seems to work ok...
firstly make sure the switch on the programmer is not on pc transfer, the unplug you esc from the receiver, plug your cells in, then switch on your esc. It should be good to go from there... never easy when its not infront of you but give it a go!
__________________
Team Wave - absdesigns.co.uk - Selections RC
wide_mouth_frog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2010, 12:20 AM   #1677
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Vilnius - Lithuania
Posts: 494
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wide_mouth_frog View Post
firstly make sure the switch on the programmer is not on pc transfer, the unplug you esc from the receiver, plug your cells in, then switch on your esc. It should be good to go from there... never easy when its not infront of you but give it a go!
I am done this many times before and it worked. Now it does not. So it is not user fault... . Before that I was trying to upgrade ESC to newest firmware but without success... So maybe something went wrong with upgrade... But ESC works... I can go with my Car as before upgrade attempt...
__________________
Audrius

www.rc-cars.lt - offroad in Lithuania
www.lasa.lt - onroad in Lithuania
audriusv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2010, 08:54 AM   #1678
Tech Adept
 
ATLASCOPCO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: ENGLAND
Posts: 191
Default

A question for Max TEAMWAVE time shift gain p2 can you tell me at what the ramp speeds are from value 1 up to 9 and are they done by time or rpm.
Also p4 value 1 up to 3 these say 0.1s what is the difference between the three of them
I feel that there is so much more to come out of these controllers only if we had a more information on what the settings do
Cheers
__________________
XRAY T4 2014
HOBBYWING V3.1
HOBBYWING MOTORS
ATLASCOPCO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2010, 09:07 AM   #1679
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 2,054
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ATLASCOPCO View Post
A question for Max TEAMWAVE time shift gain p2 can you tell me at what the ramp speeds are from value 1 up to 9 and are they done by time or rpm.
Also p4 value 1 up to 3 these say 0.1s what is the difference between the three of them
I feel that there is so much more to come out of these controllers only if we had a more information on what the settings do
Cheers
can't help but notice your username reminds me of work Anyway, they're great products
cheapskate.brok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2010, 09:11 AM   #1680
Tech Adept
 
ATLASCOPCO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: ENGLAND
Posts: 191
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cheapskate.brok View Post
can't help but notice your username reminds me of work Anyway, they're great products
I`m sorry it reminds you of work
__________________
XRAY T4 2014
HOBBYWING V3.1
HOBBYWING MOTORS
ATLASCOPCO is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Novak Racing Brushless System (3.5) andy85 Electric On-Road 2 07-12-2007 07:24 AM
Novak 3.5R Brushless Racing System TRiN Australia For Sale/Trade 2 04-02-2007 04:56 AM
Novak 3.5R Brushless Racing System Wolverini R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 03-04-2007 03:28 PM
tekin brushless racing system??? streetracer745 Electric Off-Road 7 01-16-2007 01:46 PM
Team Wave - Lightning Discharge / equalizing system TEAMWAVE Electric On-Road 271 11-19-2006 08:06 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:44 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net