Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
23T motor thread >

23T motor thread

23T motor thread

Old 08-14-2004, 10:21 AM
  #751  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (6)
 
lem2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: OC
Posts: 3,061
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default JDM_DOHC_SiR

Hi!!! Do you also run 1/12th scale pan cars?

If so what rollout are you using with these 23t motors?
Or what spur / pinion combinations are you using?

Thanks!

Lem
lem2 is offline  
Old 08-14-2004, 03:47 PM
  #752  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (31)
 
JDM_DOHC_SiR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Chula Vista, CA
Posts: 9,087
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default Re: RPM on 23T motor

Originally posted by GTTurbo
I just bought a Tamiya RZ motor, and trying to tune it to get a higher RPM.

What is the highest RPM that a 23T motor can do?? And why it is so low compare to a moster 27T?

Also, does anyone know what is the timing deg on the RZ, because I don't think it is 24deg.

Thanks in advance
Well lets see if I can help you..
the highest RPM a 23T motor can do?? well I have a few yokomo LR`s that can turn over 43000rpm as far as low rpm on your RZ compared to a 27T motor..the RZ has to be gear very different than a 27T...but it will be just as fast with more torque than a 27t motor due to the fact that the cars are very diiferent on the 23T ..for example the 27T rotor is very light about 35 grams on average due to the split type laminations..and the 23T rotor will always have a full stack rotor that is about 52 grams on average... so due to the fact that the 27t rotor is lighter it has a bunch more RPM..but what it gains in rpm it`s loosing in torque..
Basically I would put any 23T motor against any 27T motor...or19T motor that "I" own any day of the week...much more of a solid motor

as fas as the timing goes the 23T motors have only 20 deg of timing
-Dave
JDM_DOHC_SiR is offline  
Old 08-14-2004, 09:33 PM
  #753  
Tech Regular
 
gcooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 269
Default Re: Re: RPM on 23T motor

Originally posted by JDM_DOHC_SiR
Basically I would put any 23T motor against any 27T motor...or19T motor that "I" own any day of the week...much more of a solid motor

as fas as the timing goes the 23T motors have only 20 deg of timing
If given a choice I would prefer the 19t bb motor with 24 deg advance vs a 23t bushing motor with 18 degree advance. Then again maybe you know something about tweaking the 23t to beat the 19t?

Coop
gcooper is offline  
Old 08-14-2004, 11:00 PM
  #754  
Tech Initiate
 
GTTurbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 27
Default Re: Re: RPM on 23T motor

Originally posted by JDM_DOHC_SiR
Well lets see if I can help you..
the highest RPM a 23T motor can do?? well I have a few yokomo LR`s that can turn over 43000rpm as far as low
43,000 rpm

How on earth did you get that?? This is with the spiral comm and ligther lamm??

Care to pass on some of the secret? Have you ever tuned the RZ yet?

Thanks Dave...
GTTurbo is offline  
Old 08-15-2004, 01:36 AM
  #755  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (31)
 
JDM_DOHC_SiR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Chula Vista, CA
Posts: 9,087
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default Re: Re: Re: RPM on 23T motor

Originally posted by gcooper
If given a choice I would prefer the 19t bb motor with 24 deg advance vs a 23t bushing motor with 18 degree advance. Then again maybe you know something about tweaking the 23t to beat the 19t?

Coop
I do know a few things about the 23T motors that "can" make them very fast
-Dave
JDM_DOHC_SiR is offline  
Old 08-15-2004, 01:42 AM
  #756  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (31)
 
JDM_DOHC_SiR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Chula Vista, CA
Posts: 9,087
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default Re: Re: Re: RPM on 23T motor

Originally posted by GTTurbo
43,000 rpm

How on earth did you get that?? This is with the spiral comm and ligther lamm??

Care to pass on some of the secret? Have you ever tuned the RZ yet?

Thanks Dave...
The LR is the king of RPM for the 23T`s that are out now a little brush magic and a some hood adjustments with a little spring tweaking and you can get 40000+ rpm form the LR..
as far as the RZ goes.. I know if a few tricks but it will not come near 40000 RPM... the most I have been able to get from the RZ is about 37000 ish
-Dave
JDM_DOHC_SiR is offline  
Old 08-15-2004, 08:58 PM
  #757  
Tech Fanatic
 
Rob Mincey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 872
Default

Dave - Were those pictures what you needed? Looking forward to some of your "tweaks."

Rob
Rob Mincey is offline  
Old 08-15-2004, 09:07 PM
  #758  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (31)
 
JDM_DOHC_SiR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Chula Vista, CA
Posts: 9,087
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by losirob
Dave - Were those pictures what you needed? Looking forward to some of your "tweaks."

Rob
I"ll have some to send your way.. here tonight
-Dave
JDM_DOHC_SiR is offline  
Old 08-15-2004, 09:13 PM
  #759  
Tech Fanatic
 
Rob Mincey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 872
Default

Rock!

Rob
Rob Mincey is offline  
Old 08-16-2004, 01:08 PM
  #760  
Tech Elite
 
Neil Rabara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Lone Star
Posts: 4,821
Default

Dave, YGPM.
Neil Rabara is offline  
Old 08-21-2004, 04:39 AM
  #761  
DJB
Tech Regular
iTrader: (17)
 
DJB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 499
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

hey guys

I just bought a super stock type R and a comm stick and some fantom 315 brushes. when the brushes get worn can i re serate them or do i have to get new ones. and with the comm stick how many turns should i need to do before the comm is nice and shiny??

thanks
DJB is offline  
Old 08-22-2004, 10:20 AM
  #762  
Tech Fanatic
 
Rob Mincey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 872
Default

Dave - you have those pics ready for me?

Thanks again!

Rob
Rob Mincey is offline  
Old 08-22-2004, 11:22 PM
  #763  
Tech Elite
 
Neil Rabara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Lone Star
Posts: 4,821
Default

Dave, YGPM.
Neil Rabara is offline  
Old 08-23-2004, 12:04 AM
  #764  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (22)
 
mafiaracers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: West Linn, Oregon
Posts: 3,759
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by DJB
hey guys

I just bought a super stock type R and a comm stick and some fantom 315 brushes. when the brushes get worn can i re serate them or do i have to get new ones. and with the comm stick how many turns should i need to do before the comm is nice and shiny??

thanks
Always run new brushes. It really isn't worth the effort to try and rebuild a brush. Personal opinon, chuck the stick and bum a lathe off of someone. In the long run, a stick will promote a groove in the comm. The stick just cleans the comm surface, it doesn't give you a fresh surface to work with.
mafiaracers is offline  
Old 08-23-2004, 12:11 AM
  #765  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (31)
 
JDM_DOHC_SiR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Chula Vista, CA
Posts: 9,087
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by Neil Rabara
Dave, YGPM.
back to you with answers to your questions
JDM_DOHC_SiR is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.