R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-09-2008, 10:08 AM   #1
Tech Fanatic
 
mike williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: NO. ILL
Posts: 777
Trader Rating: 45 (100%+)
Default brushless dumb question

just had a couple of question that someone should be able to help with....first, i know that you can use different brand sensored motors with different esc but are all the sensor wires the same style plug(i.e. LRP, Novak, Speedpassion,GM,ect...) and who seems to have the best factory support.. couple buggies have novak,1 is extremely happy but the other is not happy at all with novak (because of the tech support)..just le me know what your opinions are so i can make an informed decision about what brand im gonna buy...and one more thing, it need to be easy to program, internal or external programming does not matter to me
Thaanks in advance
Mike W.
__________________
LOSI MF2 ....... too fast for me!!!!!!!!
mike williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2008, 10:12 AM   #2
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 5,360
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

Novak GTB, LRP Sphere, and Speedpassion GT seem to be the top 3 choices among racers. Everyone will have a different opinion on which of the 3. I would say LRP and Speedpassion seem to be the faster ones. Speedpassion and Novak have excellent customer service.
or8ital is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2008, 04:15 PM   #3
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bono,AR
Posts: 307
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

well like he siad everyone has there one they like better then the other I have bot lrp and novak ,, I like the novak better but I think it is really what you get use to useing
eflite300 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2008, 04:29 PM   #4
Tech Lord
 
syndr0me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 13,140
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

All of the ESC's and motors you mentioned have the same sensor plug, except for GM. I believe the GM ESC uses a different style plug (not sure on the motors), but adapters are available.
syndr0me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2008, 05:52 PM   #5
Tech Fanatic
 
nrtv20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Northwest Ohio
Posts: 879
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

I also have a 'dumb' question about brushless motors... why can't I use a brushed speed control with a 'non-sensored' brushless motor? Doesn't the motor work off of the same principle as a brushed only the magnets rotate? Feel free to make me feel stupid with you responses.
nrtv20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2008, 07:40 PM   #6
Super Moderator
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Rochester Hills Michigan
Posts: 7,232
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nrtv20 View Post
I also have a 'dumb' question about brushless motors... why can't I use a brushed speed control with a 'non-sensored' brushless motor? Doesn't the motor work off of the same principle as a brushed only the magnets rotate? Feel free to make me feel stupid with you responses.
In a brushless setup the esc does the switching as the motor spins, that the brushes and commutator used to do. I'm not sure, but I suspect your combo would move the motor to one position and hold it there. But it wouldn't keep turning, that takes switching of some type.

You're right as far as whether the magnets or coils are spinning, theoretically it can be either way with either system, of course practical considerations come into play to dictate how it is actually done.
Dave H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2008, 07:54 PM   #7
Tech Lord
 
syndr0me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 13,140
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Sensorless motors still "sense" the rotor position, they just use the back EMF to do so. The sensored motors have Hall effect sensors in them to detect the position of the rotor, report those reading to the ESC which then fires the segments accordingly.

This is probably an oversimplification, but should give you the gist of it.
syndr0me is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OK ANOTHER DUMB QUESTION.... NEVADAGARY Radio and Electronics 8 09-03-2008 04:24 PM
Probably a dumb question LaMark82 Radio and Electronics 2 09-03-2008 06:05 AM
Dumb question bozla Onroad Nitro Engine Zone 9 01-03-2008 03:38 PM
Dumb Question Inebriation Inc Electric Off-Road 2 03-30-2006 07:41 PM
dumb question????? protc3 Electric On-Road 1 12-26-2004 04:12 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:01 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net