R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-16-2003, 05:24 AM   #31
Tech Fanatic
 
davioh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: hong kong
Posts: 778
Default

i just copied it from my old evo3 chassis...i put some tape on the sheet of CF and then went over the holes and slots. i filed them down alreayd and yea they fit 3300's...i didn't hav to make them wider cuz i hav GP's...which aren't as wide as sanyo's...so therefore the 3300 sanyo i hav isn't very good with the chassis
davioh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2003, 09:54 AM   #32
Registered User
 
Calvin Ng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,556
Send a message via ICQ to Calvin Ng
Default

thats sweet

whered you learn how to do it?
im very intrested myself

i wanna make something so my trf414mII doesnt use saddle packs
Calvin Ng is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2003, 10:57 AM   #33
Tech Fanatic
 
davioh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: hong kong
Posts: 778
Default

well i got alot of tools and help from my dad.

1. you get CF and cover it with masking tape (don't overlap)
2. trace the chassis onto the CF
3. drill a hole whereever there is a 90 degree angle because it is hard to turn corners with a jigsaw
4. use the jig saw to go along the lines you made
5. use a file to file down any parts that aren't perfect and rough
6. for batt slots and motor slots, drill holes on the four corners and cut it
7. for the holes...you first drill out the 3.1 (or something) mm on the places you need to hav holes (once again sketch them on from the original.)
8. for the screw slots...you need a drill machine and you set it so that it doesn't drill through you can use a hand drill...but it would be hard
9. file down any places needed to be filed!

it's pretty simple but u just need the right tools. for the jigsaw, my dad had it attached to a "table" he made with a few pieces of wood...this made it like a cutter and you could easily cut the CF. make sure you hav really really good saw bits, we lost 2...CF is tough...we lost them after ONE batt slot
davioh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2003, 11:03 AM   #34
Registered User
 
Calvin Ng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,556
Send a message via ICQ to Calvin Ng
Default

just wondering but where do you get carbon fiber???????
Calvin Ng is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2003, 11:04 AM   #35
Tech Fanatic
 
davioh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: hong kong
Posts: 778
Default

it was some shop that sold all kinds of fibers...glass fiber, carbon fiber and PVC ect...
davioh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2003, 11:05 AM   #36
Tech Fanatic
 
davioh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: hong kong
Posts: 778
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Calvin Ng
just wondering but where do you get carbon fiber???????
go to the first page...some said something about it
davioh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2003, 12:51 PM   #37
Tech Apprentice
 
Fully Hopped's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: follow the leader
Posts: 55
Thumbs up Nice!!!

Quote:
Originally posted by davioh
finally made the chassis...took 6 hours and 2 broken bits
You did an excellent job on that! Great work.
Fully Hopped is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2003, 09:10 PM   #38
Registered User
 
Calvin Ng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,556
Send a message via ICQ to Calvin Ng
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by davioh
go to the first page...some said something about it
it just says some warehouse store

how bout you canadian guyz out there any stores that have it?
Calvin Ng is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2003, 09:19 PM   #39
Tech Fanatic
 
davioh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: hong kong
Posts: 778
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Mingfinity
The GPM store has 2mm for sale, dunno about 2.5 or even 3mm
if you found that.. tell me.
i was browsing MK one day and i saw a 3mm for 250hkd but only for one chassis....the CF my dad bought was enuf for 3 chassis and extra bits and for only 230hkd. im not really sure where it is, but if u wanna know i'll find out the place from my dad
davioh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2003, 09:24 PM   #40
Tech Fanatic
 
davioh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: hong kong
Posts: 778
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by wpc
Talk to steve from speedtechrc, he can get you woven graphite sheet at a very reasonable price.
here calvin
davioh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2003, 09:35 PM   #41
Tech Elite
 
Brian McGreevy's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Illinois
Posts: 4,081
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Brian McGreevy Send a message via Yahoo to Brian McGreevy
Default

That is not woven carbon fiber, correct?
__________________
USVTA Member #211

Support Formula SAE - get kids into engineering!
http://motorsports.illinois.edu/
Brian McGreevy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2003, 09:37 PM   #42
Registered User
 
Calvin Ng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,556
Send a message via ICQ to Calvin Ng
Default

oh its woven alright

i dunno if i can find it here at a store that will be great. i dont like waiting
Calvin Ng is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2003, 10:02 PM   #43
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 132
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Axiom5B
That is not woven carbon fiber, correct?
Looks more like fibreglass sandwiched between carbon fibre cloth or Black Glass Cloth..
If it is Carbon Fibre how come it has a light colored centre???
CustomfibreR/C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2003, 10:35 PM   #44
Registered User
 
Calvin Ng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,556
Send a message via ICQ to Calvin Ng
Default

maybe it is sorry

look at pic 2 it looks woven really finely
could be just the top/bottom
Calvin Ng is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2003, 10:55 PM   #45
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 132
Default

I'm Just going by what I see in the Pics. It really looks like fibreglass with Black Glass cloth used on the top and bottom. The local fibreglass supplier sells the same stuff and it is cheap.
$230HK Dollars for enough genuine 3mm Carbon Fibre Sheet to do 3 chassis is too cheap to be correct.
My money is on it being Fibreglass...
CustomfibreR/C is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anyone ever try making their own chassis? onebeatuptc3 Electric On-Road 19 10-10-2010 10:52 AM
Protecting your lower chassis? TGA78 Nitro Off-Road 6 07-04-2007 11:40 PM
Making a chassis Toesup Electric On-Road 16 12-15-2006 07:46 PM
Tamiya 415 2.5mm lower chassis GroffBall R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 1 11-06-2005 05:51 PM
Is there anyone making a TC4 oval chassis? Ginsu Oval, Larger Scales and More 13 05-06-2005 06:46 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:59 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net