R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-26-2008, 12:04 PM   #1
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 84
Default Brushless Motor not working

hi everyone i have brought a gtb brushless esc with a 4.5 turn brushless motor and after all the programming i hae done i cant seem to get it to work properly it only seems to get pulses of power and sounds really rough, also the esc gets quite hot and the battery does also, what can i do ????
any help will be appreciated
thaks Jordan
jordan.norwood@ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2008, 01:59 PM   #2
Tech Master
 
tfrahm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Missouri
Posts: 1,024
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to tfrahm
Default

This is a bit of a wild guess, but if you get the three power wires out of order on the motor, it will sound terrible and not "run"... Make sure you have them in the right sequence, etc...

Second thing -- make sure the sensor wires are not damaged and that the white plug is FULLY seated into the ESC's socket.
__________________
"If you cannot win, make the one ahead of you break the record."
Biff Racing Team #420 (Ah... The "good old days"...)
The local indoor Offroad Track: The RC Race Barn
TLR22-3.0, TLR22T-2.0, TLR22SCT-1.0
tfrahm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2008, 02:33 PM   #3
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 84
Default

yep the wires are the right way round, then sensor wire does work as i have tried a different motor on it.

i just thought thier would be something i could do to the motor that is a quick fix??
jordan.norwood@ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2008, 02:50 PM   #4
Tech Master
 
tfrahm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Missouri
Posts: 1,024
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to tfrahm
Default

Just about the only other thing (besides a defective motor) would be if the rotor wasn't shimmed properly -- if it can move too much in/out of the can, the sensors can have trouble determining rotor position/rotation, etc. and that can make the motor stutter, etc.. However, your problem sounds more severe than that...

You might try posting your problem in this thread -- Steve is a BIG help on brushless motors/issues:

http://www.rctech.net/forum/showthread.php?t=50964
__________________
"If you cannot win, make the one ahead of you break the record."
Biff Racing Team #420 (Ah... The "good old days"...)
The local indoor Offroad Track: The RC Race Barn
TLR22-3.0, TLR22T-2.0, TLR22SCT-1.0
tfrahm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2008, 03:53 PM   #5
Tech Elite
 
ALBERTO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: LONG ISLAND, NEW YORK
Posts: 2,986
Trader Rating: 23 (96%+)
Send a message via AIM to ALBERTO Send a message via Yahoo to ALBERTO
Default

Start simple. Make sure the motor screws mounting the motor to car, are not too long..
ALBERTO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2008, 04:15 PM   #6
Tech Elite
 
SWTour's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central Coast...CALIF.
Posts: 2,873
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

...make sure also no solder is bridged across the wires on the motor...and that the wires are not touching each other. (seen that happen on more than one occasion)

Does the ESC work with a different motor?
__________________
Joe Myers
R/C Racing since 1985 ~ Santa Maria, CA (Central Coast)
2001-2012 - South-West Tour R/C Oval Series...will the SWT be revived?
Things are headed towards a return of the SWT Series, but for
2017 the focus will be on the Encino Velodrome (and dirt oval racing)
SWTour is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anybody heard if KO is working on a brushless esc? porschejim911 Electric On-Road 5 09-09-2007 04:40 AM
epic stock motor not working BADDMAN Electric Off-Road 2 04-15-2007 06:33 PM
WTB: Any Nitro Motor (Working) .12-.18 Feint Motion R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 2 05-30-2006 09:43 PM
New STS motor not working ScottishRacer Nitro On-Road 16 02-22-2004 01:14 PM
New STS motor not working ScottishRacer Rookie Zone 3 02-20-2004 05:56 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:39 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net