R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-29-2002, 02:21 PM   #1351
Tech Elite
 
sosidge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 3,865
Default

By my calculations, you need the 1mm spacer on the block to get the standard position.
sosidge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2002, 02:28 PM   #1352
Tech Elite
 
popsracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: "Hot, Sunny Southern California"
Posts: 3,120
Default Camber link mount on 3-4 caster blocks

sosidge, newracer;

Thanks guys,

I still havent broken anything on my car yet. That's after 6 months of racing ALMOST every weekend.

I would like to run with the 2 deg kick-up and still have 5-6 degs of total caster, so the 3-4 deg blocks sound just right. Any advantages/Disadv. to using the Graphite blocks instead of the plastic ones.

Thanks again,
popsracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2002, 04:33 PM   #1353
Tech Regular
 
purplepro3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Northern VA USA
Posts: 320
Default Re: Camber link mount on 3-4 caster blocks

Quote:
Originally posted by popsracer
sosidge, newracer;

Thanks guys,

I still havent broken anything on my car yet. That's after 6 months of racing ALMOST every weekend.

I would like to run with the 2 deg kick-up and still have 5-6 degs of total caster, so the 3-4 deg blocks sound just right. Any advantages/Disadv. to using the Graphite blocks instead of the plastic ones.

Thanks again,
go for the graphite composite C hub. i got the pastic version when it was released and somehow, the figure C opens up over time so the front knuckles would have an up-down slop, affecting your ride height. i switched to the graphite version and problem solved. the graphite also further reduces front end flex and lessens the chance of stripping the grab screw for the hinge pin.
purplepro3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2002, 08:05 AM   #1354
Tech Elite
 
lee82gx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Land Of peace , Malaysia
Posts: 2,304
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Does anyone know how to actually use the aluminium spur hub?
i was using it for the 1st time today and everytime i braked/hit something the nut would come out and also the spur gear....
lee82gx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2002, 09:21 AM   #1355
Tech Elite
 
lem2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: OC
Posts: 3,061
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by lee82gx
Does anyone know how to actually use the aluminium spur hub?
i was using it for the 1st time today and everytime i braked/hit something the nut would come out and also the spur gear....
Yep, it does happen. My suggestion, get the spur gear/pulley combo made by Cross Racing!! No problems!!
lem2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2002, 09:45 AM   #1356
Tech Elite
 
lee82gx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Land Of peace , Malaysia
Posts: 2,304
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Unhappy

but does it have to happen so often?i think abt 2-3 times per battery pack.what is the official HPI instructions?i got it used from friend
lee82gx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2002, 09:49 AM   #1357
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,212
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by lee82gx
Does anyone know how to actually use the aluminium spur hub?
i was using it for the 1st time today and everytime i braked/hit something the nut would come out and also the spur gear....
There is a hole on the spur gear nut...place your 2mm hex wrench in it and use it to tighten the nut.

Even the the Cross spur gear adapter is easy to use..it is also twice as heavy as the HPI spur gear adapter. Which will slow down your acceleration slightly.
__________________
HB WCE HARA EDITION CYCLONE: LRP Sphere TC, KO 2363 digital servo.
HB HARA EDITION PRO4: Gone to a new home..

SPEEDTECH|FUTABA|KO|ORION|SPEEDWORLD|HARA
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2002, 12:54 PM   #1358
Tech Elite
 
popsracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: "Hot, Sunny Southern California"
Posts: 3,120
Default HPI spur gear adapter

lee82gx;

Put a Allen wrench in the hole on the nut and crank that sucker down tight. NEVER not once had mine come loose. Use the biggest allen that will fit in the hole so you don't bend it when tightening/loosening.
popsracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2002, 04:13 PM   #1359
Tech Champion
 
Korey Harbke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 6,126
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by lee82gx
Sushi Boy:
Are those setups good/applicable to stock?Which leadsme to my 2nd question:what is a good 27T stock motor?guys here use trinity but i hear some 'monster' motor is better...locally , team orion , reedy motors are available.of this 3(or may there be others?),which should i choose?and what about ESC?i've been thinking of ordering thru the Net , but have been told that it's better to buy from LHS in case of burn out.Any opinions?
Thanks
YES! This is a great Stock setup. Stock motors don't really push the chassis to the limit so it would be really easy to drive. Try a 36t pinion and a 100T spur to start. I use a Fantom P2K. Good motor. Already tuned and stuff. I haven't seen a Trinity Monster Stock go yet. I buy most of my esc's of the net. I alway get novak though. They have an awesome support system. If it blows up in 120 days or something liek that they replace it. I just send my old Cyclone back once a year to get refurbished with new fets and all that good stuff. It's like a tune up. I heard the New Novak GT7 was a great ESC. Very smooth. Have fun man. If ya wanted to look at fantom Stock Motors just check out this website. You can buy the motors from them too. www.fantom-motors.com

-Sushi Boy
Korey Harbke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2002, 04:19 PM   #1360
Tech Champion
 
Korey Harbke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 6,126
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default Re: To: Sushi Boy

Quote:
Originally posted by popsracer
How are you running your front kick-up 0 or 2 degs? Do the 3 & 4 deg Caster blocks change the camber link position (raise/lower) by mounting at the pivot?
I like my roll centers as they are now and would like to duplicate the position if I go to the 3 & 4 deg caster blocks.

Thanks,
I used 2 degrees of kickup. If it seems a bit touchy just go back to the 6 degree blocks. I did this every once in a while. I think I put one spacer under the camber link. I haven't really looked at my car for a long time. Been running my XXX-S. I think you can just try and get it to be around the same height as the reg. caster blocks. That's kind of what I did. You just have to play with it a bit.

-Sushi Boy
Korey Harbke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2002, 06:14 PM   #1361
Tech Regular
 
wrxmy99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 353
Default Re: HPI spur gear adapter

Quote:
Originally posted by popsracer
lee82gx;

Put a Allen wrench in the hole on the nut and crank that sucker down tight. NEVER not once had mine come loose. Use the biggest allen that will fit in the hole so you don't bend it when tightening/loosening.
Gotta agree there, just crank it! I've used mine since they were first released and never had it come loose...

Cheers

Andy
wrxmy99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2002, 10:21 PM   #1362
Tech Elite
 
lee82gx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Land Of peace , Malaysia
Posts: 2,304
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default Oh i see

So i just crank it real tight?i see.was just using my fingers.will try once the threadlock i tried comes loose.Thanks guys i appreciate that ppl are actually helpful
lee82gx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2002, 03:13 AM   #1363
Tech Regular
 
purplepro3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Northern VA USA
Posts: 320
Default Sibling Rivalry

my purple pros (sorry about the picture quality)
Attached Images
File Type: jpg s330 008.jpg (87.4 KB, 87 views)
purplepro3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2002, 07:01 AM   #1364
Tech Elite
 
lee82gx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Land Of peace , Malaysia
Posts: 2,304
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!!!!
May God Bless all of us.Long live the Pro3!!!!!!
lee82gx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2002, 02:15 PM   #1365
Tech Champion
 
Korey Harbke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 6,126
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default Re: Sibling Rivalry

Quote:
Originally posted by purplepro3
my purple pros (sorry about the picture quality)
Pic Quality isn't that bad. It's better than some that I've seen. Have a happy new year everybody.

-Sushi Boy
Korey Harbke is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HPI Pro3 Drift Demon R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 1 06-26-2007 11:04 PM
HPI Pro3 Drift Demon Australia Wanted to Buy 0 06-21-2007 04:06 PM
pro3 for .12 better than you R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 4 04-25-2005 02:35 PM
HPI RS4 Pro3 Denso R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 01-26-2005 12:37 PM
FS: HPI Pro3 SteveM R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 7 12-04-2001 06:03 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:57 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net