R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-03-2002, 11:44 PM   #1276
Tech Master
 
newracer's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Timnath, Colorado
Posts: 1,523
Default

yes PRP is not Penguin, here is the site

http://home.attbi.com/~teamprp/pro3.html

I have the full chassis set
Attached Images
File Type: jpg prp1.jpg (64.6 KB, 69 views)
newracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2002, 12:10 AM   #1277
Tech Elite
 
popsracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: "Hot, Sunny Southern California"
Posts: 3,120
Default PRP upper deck

Hey guys;

1) Thanks for the link to PRP.

2) Man that upper deck is UGLY.

3) Thad Garner from HPI does NOT recommend mounting ANY type of upper deck to the Steering posts. It can cause the chassis to remain tweeked after a crash/hit. HPI's upper deck does NOT use the steering posts for mounting.

Think I'll just race without an upper deck for now and wait until I feel the need for a new ESC. With the electronics moved back, there is plenty of room to R & R the batteries with the HPI Deck.

Thanks for your comments,
popsracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2002, 02:10 AM   #1278
Tech Master
 
newracer's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Timnath, Colorado
Posts: 1,523
Default

the HPI upper deck has mounting screws into the steering post too. Just don't use them if it a concern.
newracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2002, 11:14 AM   #1279
Tech Elite
 
popsracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: "Hot, Sunny Southern California"
Posts: 3,120
Default HPI upper deck

Newracer;

I HAVE a HPI upper deck (not installed) and the instructions tell you to NOT mount to the steering posts. The screws go UNDER the deck and into the posts even though the deck has holes for them.
popsracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2002, 06:22 AM   #1280
Tech Elite
 
lem2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: OC
Posts: 3,061
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default Locked Differential

has anybody tried this on their pro3????

Thanks!!

Lem
lem2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2002, 08:14 AM   #1281
Tech Elite
 
sosidge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 3,865
Default

no, but i was thinking of making a home-made one
sosidge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2002, 07:21 PM   #1282
Tech Elite
 
popsracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: "Hot, Sunny Southern California"
Posts: 3,120
Default Locked FRONT Differential

Guys;

Locking the Front differential on the Pro-3 would cause the car to push more entering corners. Unless you are running Mod with all of the Graphite Chassis hop-ups. I would not recommend this on a Pro-3 as they ALREADY push in the front as it is.
The car responds well to less caster in the front ( 6 degrees or less) and also with a front one-way diff.
popsracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2002, 08:44 PM   #1283
Tech Master
 
ozone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,222
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default Re: Locked FRONT Differential

Quote:
Originally posted by popsracer
Guys;

Locking the Front differential on the Pro-3 would cause the car to push more entering corners. Unless you are running Mod with all of the Graphite Chassis hop-ups. I would not recommend this on a Pro-3 as they ALREADY push in the front as it is.
The car responds well to less caster in the front ( 6 degrees or less) and also with a front one-way diff.
sorry dude...i've gotta disagree wif u on tis...i've ran the pro 3 wif a home made front locked diff(epoxy and screwed the front diff together) and it doesn push...what u need to do is to hold throttle while makin a turn (tats where u gain corner speed)...

my 2 cents...
ozone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2002, 09:05 PM   #1284
Tech Elite
 
popsracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: "Hot, Sunny Southern California"
Posts: 3,120
Default What is the Advantage

Ozoned;

So what is the advantage of a locked diff over a One-way Front diff?
Almost everyone who races a Pro-3 will tell you that the car needs MORE steering and a LOCKED Front Diff is doing the opposite. Also now the Front tires cannot rotate at Different speeds in the corners so your gonna be scrubbing off speed because of this.
I could see in Mod class on a huge track, but I still think Double One-Ways are going to give you faster lap times over a Locked Diff set-up.

Just my opinion, you don't have to agree with it.
popsracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2002, 09:28 PM   #1285
Tech Master
 
ozone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,222
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

popsracer: no worries...its gd to hav tis kind of discussion...no hard feelings intended or any taken...we should b open minded

recently i read tat some tracks did not allow the use of one-ways, thus some of the drivers experimented wif locked front diff with very gd result...thus bein gullible i oso tried (ran oneways on my pro2, but not on my pro3 cos its too ex) and i like the way it handled...corner speed is gd and one tink abt using the locked front diff is tat u do not need to take tat "cetain line" like if u use oneways....btw i run in a small and tight track...but if i were given a chance to run in a wide, open track i will go for oneways, they're more efficient...
ozone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2002, 09:46 PM   #1286
Tech Elite
 
popsracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: "Hot, Sunny Southern California"
Posts: 3,120
Default Locked into One-ways

Ozone;

I also read about the Locked Front Diffs, but I believe that was for the TC3's and the XXXS running in MOD. I only run Stock with my Pro-3 so it doesn't have the power. I DO have a Friend that uses a Front Spool in his Yokomo Nitro GT4 and claims to like it very much. (I'm still faster with my Reflex NT)
Attached Images
File Type: jpg our cars 003.jpg (65.5 KB, 68 views)

Last edited by popsracer; 12-08-2002 at 09:51 PM.
popsracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2002, 10:50 PM   #1287
Tech Master
 
newracer's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Timnath, Colorado
Posts: 1,523
Default

HPI drivers, including Hara, where using locked front diffs and the Reedy Race. Oneways were not allowed.
newracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2002, 06:08 AM   #1288
Tech Elite
 
sosidge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 3,865
Default

ttt
sosidge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2002, 08:16 AM   #1289
Tech Regular
 
Thad Garner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Trabuco Canyon
Posts: 305
Default

Actually we weren’t using spools. We were just adjusting are diffs to be very tight.
Thad Garner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2002, 10:35 AM   #1290
Tech Elite
 
popsracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: "Hot, Sunny Southern California"
Posts: 3,120
Default Installing an Upper Deck

Thad Garner;

What would I expect to see from my Pro-3 by installing the HPI upper Deck.

What changes if any, should I make to the set-up. I'm running in Stock Class and using a front One-way.

Thanks,
popsracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HPI Pro3 Drift Demon R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 1 06-26-2007 11:04 PM
HPI Pro3 Drift Demon Australia Wanted to Buy 0 06-21-2007 04:06 PM
pro3 for .12 better than you R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 4 04-25-2005 02:35 PM
HPI RS4 Pro3 Denso R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 01-26-2005 12:37 PM
FS: HPI Pro3 SteveM R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 7 12-04-2001 06:03 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:50 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net