R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-20-2002, 09:56 AM   #1006
Tech Apprentice
 
DJ_GenR8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 52
Default

Is anybody using the Jet aluminum c-hubs on the front of their car?? I can't figure out how to mount them. They don't have the same 3 hole adjustment like the stock ones.....I also bought different shock towers, but I don't have hardware to mount them. I need spacers and machine screws. Can anybody tell me where I can get them from??? Thanks....
DJ_GenR8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2002, 11:27 AM   #1007
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 1,249
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

on the aluminum c hubs, to mount the upper link you will need a machine screw for each one. it will just thread in vertically to the top of the c hub. you can adjust the roll center by inserting spacer between the hub and the upper link.
Jarrod Langlois is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2002, 12:19 PM   #1008
Tech Apprentice
 
DJ_GenR8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 52
Default

Are you using a set??? What will adjusting the roll center give me??? Thats one adjustment I've always been confused about for some reason....
DJ_GenR8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2002, 12:29 PM   #1009
Tech Elite
 
sosidge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 3,865
Default

to understand roll-centre read this
sosidge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2002, 02:07 PM   #1010
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 1,249
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

no im not using the jet set but i do run the 4 degree hubs and those are basically the same design of the jet hubs. thats how mine are installed.
Jarrod Langlois is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2002, 08:49 AM   #1011
Tech Elite
 
lem2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: OC
Posts: 3,061
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default C-hub

M using a Jet Chub 3 degrees!!

Just like what spaz456 said

you have to use a machine screw
you will also need spacers between the c hub n the ball cap

and you might have to reposition the turnbuckle on hwre it connects to the shock tower.

Thats all!!

Lem
lem2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2002, 05:11 PM   #1012
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,212
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default HPI GRAPHITE TUB CHASSIS AND OTHER NEW OPTION PARTS

Let keep this thread on the front page..


Here's the topview of the soon to be released Graphite tub chassis.
release date Sept.15th in Japan.
Graphite Chassis plate will be release about the same time also.
Also will be released are graphite 3 and 4 deg. C-blocks. and
HB 2.5, 3.0, and 3.5 deg aluminum rear arm mounts.

see: http://www.hpiracing.co.jp/parts/w_a383_01.jpg
and http://www.hpiracing.co.jp/parts/w_73814_01.jpg
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2002, 10:37 AM   #1013
Tech Elite
 
lem2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: OC
Posts: 3,061
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default Question

I have just noticed (recently) that the steering of the Pro3 is a lot slower than the TAO4, TC3 and Yoke?

I have checked my car and the steering system for binding and there was none. Cleaned it also and when i remove the linkage to the servo, it does move freely and bindlessly (s.p.?)

I am using a Bnew Futaba 9402. From a KO PS-2173 cz i thought it was broken. but sill the same.

The guys at the track said the reaction time of the steering is slow?

Why is this?

Is it because the steering system has a lot of linkages??


Thanks for the help!!!!!

Last edited by lem2; 08-28-2002 at 10:44 AM.
lem2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2002, 10:45 AM   #1014
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,212
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

The Futaba 9402 is high speed servo w/ 0.10sec. transit time
this is great servo for the car. my servo has the same speed. and have no problems with reaction time. Linkage should not be a problem.. other cars have the same amount. as long as nothing is binding than you're ok... maybe it's the radio/receiver. What are you using... I'm using the Futaba 3PJS w/pcm receiver on my Pro3.
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2002, 10:50 AM   #1015
Tech Elite
 
lem2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: OC
Posts: 3,061
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default Thanks!!!!

That was a quick reply!
M using an LRP PHASER 40mhz and a KO EX-11 TX.


Actually its okay for me or I am used to driving that way,its just that I could not make aggresive turns.

And I noticed this when I used my spare car (tao4-R)
it turns a lot faster.

Is the 3 degree c hub a contributory factor??
lem2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2002, 11:05 AM   #1016
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,212
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Yes...get the 3deg C-hub and front one-way.. you'll definately corner alot faster and increase steering dramatically. if you do get the 3deg...use black sway bars in front.
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2002, 11:06 AM   #1017
Tech Master
 
TigeRyan's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Southern New Jersey
Posts: 1,389
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to TigeRyan
Default

Just a guess, do you have any settings on your controller that might be slowing down the servo any?????
TigeRyan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2002, 11:23 AM   #1018
Tech Elite
 
lem2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: OC
Posts: 3,061
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

I already have a 3 degree c hub n front one way. Though i have to change the gold sway bar in front into black.


TigerRyan: i have set my st.response to maximun and only a little improvement on speed.


Thanks guys!!!! fo rthe help it is much appreciated!! will just rebuild my steering system.



Lem
lem2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2002, 11:25 AM   #1019
Tech Master
 
newracer's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Timnath, Colorado
Posts: 1,523
Default

I am a little confused , does your wheels turn slow like it is binding even on the bench or does that car turn slow (push) while driving?
newracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2002, 04:37 AM   #1020
Tech Regular
 
purplepro3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Northern VA USA
Posts: 320
Default pro3 steering

lem2: if you compare the turn-in while the car is running, most probably it is on the set-up. if you want to find out the steering response of the servo itself, do it while the car is not moving. if it is slow, loosen the purple nut on the right bellcrank and/or replace the bearings in the bellcrank. you'll be able to determine if there is binding in the steering if you remove the servo linkage.

i use a 9550 servo (it is a bit slower and a tad lower on torque) and a 4deg c-hub but my car turns-in very aggressive. if you know jake de dios, ask him how aggressive my car is...he drove it once

Last edited by purplepro3; 08-29-2002 at 06:56 AM.
purplepro3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HPI Pro3 Drift Demon R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 1 06-26-2007 11:04 PM
HPI Pro3 Drift Demon Australia Wanted to Buy 0 06-21-2007 04:06 PM
pro3 for .12 better than you R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 4 04-25-2005 02:35 PM
HPI RS4 Pro3 Denso R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 01-26-2005 12:37 PM
FS: HPI Pro3 SteveM R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 7 12-04-2001 06:03 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:21 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net