R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-09-2002, 11:27 PM   #481
Tech Master
 
STARSCREAM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Seattle
Posts: 1,351
Default

of corse they are coming out with a pro4.....the pro2 was better than the 3, that thing is crap.......

besides, shouldnt they be called "amature3" or "newbie4" or something like that.....how many real pro drivers are running them besides Hara anyway........

Hpi and Traxxas should get together....their stuff is of the same level and they have about the same race results....maybe they could actually build a legit winner if they got together,,,,NOT
STARSCREAM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2002, 11:48 PM   #482
Tech Adept
 
MiSFitSLvR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Roseville, CA
Posts: 108
Send a message via AIM to MiSFitSLvR
Default

anyone know if my intellapeak mini is capable of charging nimh at more than 3 amps? it says to only charge it at 3, but why would that be? packs are suppost to be charged at atleast 4 amps anyway arent they???

help me out
thanks
MiSFitSLvR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2002, 10:40 AM   #483
Tech Champion
 
MikeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 5,044
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Yeah Kurt- you wanna be charging at atleast 5amps but sometimes at 6 or 7 if you want to wake your packs up. So if the Intellpeak doesn't you might want to upgrade some day- there are some great chargers for under $160.
__________________
www.exotekracing.com ☆ASSOCIATED☆DURANGO☆HPI☆HB RACING☆KYOSHO☆LOSI/TLR☆SERPENT☆TAMIYA☆TEKNO☆XRAY☆

A picture with your post, when trouble shooting, will probably get more rctech help than without...
MikeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2002, 10:57 AM   #484
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 1,249
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

blazn420 why are you already trashing on the pro4 you havnt even seen it run yet.
Jarrod Langlois is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2002, 11:02 AM   #485
Regional Moderator
 
daniz24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: D-Square Racing
Posts: 3,189
Default

New Pro4 = TC3 clones (shaft drive)??
daniz24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2002, 11:43 AM   #486
Tech Champion
 
MikeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 5,044
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

TC3= Predator clone
__________________
www.exotekracing.com ☆ASSOCIATED☆DURANGO☆HPI☆HB RACING☆KYOSHO☆LOSI/TLR☆SERPENT☆TAMIYA☆TEKNO☆XRAY☆

A picture with your post, when trouble shooting, will probably get more rctech help than without...
MikeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2002, 02:38 PM   #487
Super Moderator
 
charlie_b's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Anaheim
Posts: 9,832
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to charlie_b Send a message via MSN to charlie_b Send a message via Yahoo to charlie_b
Default

Predator=Tamiya Avante

For you Old School RC guys, the Avante was the first shaft drive design to incorporate the 2 gear gearbox for shaft drive like the TC3 and Predator. All the rest of the 4WD bugies had multi gears and Large gearboxes. So, with that said, Tamiya is still the Original design of the now cutting edge "shaft drive" which came out back in '87.

my 2 cents

charlie b
charlie_b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2002, 04:17 PM   #488
Tech Champion
 
MikeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 5,044
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

See what you started Daniz? You made Charlie bust out the Tamiya inovating R/C theory, which he's right of coarse.
__________________
www.exotekracing.com ☆ASSOCIATED☆DURANGO☆HPI☆HB RACING☆KYOSHO☆LOSI/TLR☆SERPENT☆TAMIYA☆TEKNO☆XRAY☆

A picture with your post, when trouble shooting, will probably get more rctech help than without...
MikeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2002, 04:52 PM   #489
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 112
Default

Does anyone have any pictures of this Pro4 from the Pre Worlds warm up. At least this way we can stop all the speculation and see wether or not it is a new car or just the HB converted Pro3.

If HPI were to bring out a Pro4, so what? Schumacher bring out a new kit every 12 months and nobody complains. If there's a conversion kit for the Pro3 all the better.

Yorkie
Yorkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2002, 08:12 PM   #490
Regional Moderator
 
daniz24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: D-Square Racing
Posts: 3,189
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by MikeR
See what you started Daniz? You made Charlie bust out the Tamiya inovating R/C theory, which he's right of coarse.
hahaha..... LOL
daniz24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2002, 08:16 PM   #491
Regional Moderator
 
daniz24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: D-Square Racing
Posts: 3,189
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Yorkie
Does anyone have any pictures of this Pro4 from the Pre Worlds warm up. At least this way we can stop all the speculation and see wether or not it is a new car or just the HB converted Pro3.

If HPI were to bring out a Pro4, so what? Schumacher bring out a new kit every 12 months and nobody complains. If there's a conversion kit for the Pro3 all the better.

Yorkie
Nobody allowed to take their car's pictures........ We don't know it is a Pro4 prototype or only Pro3 chassis modification... But one thing for sure it's shaft driven baby, LOL Btw, on Monday (right after the race) team Yokomo Japan (Masami, Adachi and Kitazawa) are testing NEW Yokomo Car...... Wow, lots of new car during World Championship
daniz24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2002, 10:28 PM   #492
Tech Adept
 
MiSFitSLvR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Roseville, CA
Posts: 108
Send a message via AIM to MiSFitSLvR
Default

hey guys,

i went to my lhs yesterday to buy some misc. parts and tires and i got to talking with the guy there. i was buying a set of hpi 33r's and he said they are great tires, but you can get the yokomo sprint tires in medium compound and they have better grip and life span. the best part is they are only 7.50 a pair! i will get some next time i am out there. thought i would let you know.

BTW he is an experienced racer, so dont think he is just making up some bulll.

later
MiSFitSLvR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2002, 09:34 AM   #493
Tech Elite
 
OSherman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: o0O In the FishBowl O0o
Posts: 3,273
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

I don't think that he making up any 'bull', and his advice is somewhat correct depending on what type of surface you are running on.

I have never used any of the HPI 33r's for an extensive amount of time to compare them to others, but I do know that TakeOff "WS" series and "CS" series, by far, outlast the Sprints. And not to mention they work better on a wider variety of surfaces. At least the different outdoor parkinglot/track surfaces we race down here.
__________________
•KO Propo America
•EXOTEK
OSherman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2002, 09:39 AM   #494
Tech Master
 
newracer's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Timnath, Colorado
Posts: 1,523
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by MiSFitSLvR
hey guys,

i went to my lhs yesterday to buy some misc. parts and tires and i got to talking with the guy there. i was buying a set of hpi 33r's and he said they are great tires, but you can get the yokomo sprint tires in medium compound and they have better grip and life span. the best part is they are only 7.50 a pair! i will get some next time i am out there. thought i would let you know.

BTW he is an experienced racer, so dont think he is just making up some bulll.

later
a lot of racers at my track use sprints, we'd all try the latest and greatest tires and always come back to running sprint mediums with medium molded inserts, we run on a blown and sprayed asphalt parking lot
newracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2002, 10:13 AM   #495
Tech Adept
 
MiSFitSLvR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Roseville, CA
Posts: 108
Send a message via AIM to MiSFitSLvR
Default

yeah he was talking about when he races at the parking lot track out front. it is pretty slippery too.
MiSFitSLvR is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HPI Pro3 Drift Demon R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 1 06-26-2007 11:04 PM
HPI Pro3 Drift Demon Australia Wanted to Buy 0 06-21-2007 04:06 PM
pro3 for .12 better than you R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 4 04-25-2005 02:35 PM
HPI RS4 Pro3 Denso R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 01-26-2005 12:37 PM
FS: HPI Pro3 SteveM R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 7 12-04-2001 06:03 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:46 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net