R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-05-2004, 12:37 AM   #2056
Tech Apprentice
 
sparky123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 52
Default

it took one of the major races in france apparently so i guess that it handles pretty well! it looks a beauty as well!
sparky123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2004, 06:02 AM   #2057
Tech Master
 
BrainTeased's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1,342
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

hi may i ask you guys if the pro 2 is still competive? will it still be competive against those tb-02 or tb-evo 3 ?
__________________
www.feralbatteries.com.au
BrainTeased is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2004, 09:42 AM   #2058
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,212
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by BrainTeased
hi may i ask you guys if the pro 2 is still competive? will it still be competive against those tb-02 or tb-evo 3 ?
The pro2 is outdated...but still very competative.
__________________
HB WCE HARA EDITION CYCLONE: LRP Sphere TC, KO 2363 digital servo.
HB HARA EDITION PRO4: Gone to a new home..

SPEEDTECH|FUTABA|KO|ORION|SPEEDWORLD|HARA
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2004, 09:43 AM   #2059
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,212
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default Re: mutant pro 3

Quote:
Originally posted by sparky123
check out what this guy did to his pro 3, or at least thats what the website said it was!
that pic is like 2 years old...
__________________
HB WCE HARA EDITION CYCLONE: LRP Sphere TC, KO 2363 digital servo.
HB HARA EDITION PRO4: Gone to a new home..

SPEEDTECH|FUTABA|KO|ORION|SPEEDWORLD|HARA
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2004, 08:06 PM   #2060
Tech Master
 
BrainTeased's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1,342
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by rc-zombies
The pro2 is outdated...but still very competative.
thanks for that also can pro 2's use stick battery packs? or do i need to get those satalite packs?
__________________
www.feralbatteries.com.au
BrainTeased is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2004, 09:00 PM   #2061
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,212
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by BrainTeased
thanks for that also can pro 2's use stick battery packs? or do i need to get those satalite packs?
yes if you have the stick pack adapter... if not you'll get better performance using saddle packs (3x3)
__________________
HB WCE HARA EDITION CYCLONE: LRP Sphere TC, KO 2363 digital servo.
HB HARA EDITION PRO4: Gone to a new home..

SPEEDTECH|FUTABA|KO|ORION|SPEEDWORLD|HARA
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2004, 05:13 AM   #2062
Tech Master
 
BrainTeased's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1,342
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

thanks for that! i just got the car today! the stick pack kinda tucks under the belt will this be ok?
__________________
www.feralbatteries.com.au
BrainTeased is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2004, 01:18 PM   #2063
Tech Regular
 
Ian_da_bomb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Bay Area/Long Beach, California
Posts: 287
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Ian_da_bomb Send a message via Yahoo to Ian_da_bomb
Default

Hey guys, can anyone find those moulded carbon fiber tub chassis anywhere? I would love to get one.... Anyone?
Ian_da_bomb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2004, 01:50 PM   #2064
Tech Apprentice
 
sparky123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 52
Default cf tub chassis

hpi stopped making them i think, i know that there was a company making them in england but they stopped making them too, so pretty much the only way of getting one is second hand
sparky123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2004, 02:09 PM   #2065
Tech Regular
 
Ian_da_bomb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Bay Area/Long Beach, California
Posts: 287
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Ian_da_bomb Send a message via Yahoo to Ian_da_bomb
Default

What are some of the companies who made aftermarket CF chassis for the pro 3? I found the HPI narrow one, the Penguin, and PRP? I think thats what it was... i forget the name exactly. Does Cross or 3racing make one? Can you guys link me to some manufacturer sites where I can buy these chassis? Or is anyone willing to let go of their CF tub?>

Last edited by Ian_da_bomb; 06-21-2004 at 02:13 AM.
Ian_da_bomb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2004, 01:09 AM   #2066
Tech Regular
 
Ian_da_bomb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Bay Area/Long Beach, California
Posts: 287
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Ian_da_bomb Send a message via Yahoo to Ian_da_bomb
Default

bump
Ian_da_bomb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2004, 01:58 AM   #2067
Tech Regular
 
Ian_da_bomb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Bay Area/Long Beach, California
Posts: 287
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Ian_da_bomb Send a message via Yahoo to Ian_da_bomb
Default battery attachment options??

Has anyone tried to slot the chassis just infront and rear of the battery and strapping tape it in? Seems almost easier than having to deal with all the crap to get to the pack. I am finding this is a large problem for my new car... any ideas.???
Ian_da_bomb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2004, 11:57 AM   #2068
Tech Elite
 
popsracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: "Hot, Sunny Southern California"
Posts: 3,120
Default Pro-3

Ian_da_bomb;

Last time I looked (about 2 weeks ago), the CF (Tub) Chassis was still availible from 'Buy HPI'. I think Tower has some left too. Check them both out.

What chassis are you currently using?

Getting the Batteries in and out on the Tub Chassis is really a piece of cake. Move the ESC all the way rearward and don't attach any wires directly to the packs. Solder or use the tubular type plugs and you will have plenty of clearance.

Using a pair of needlenose pliers also makes it easier to remove the body clip for the battery retainer.
popsracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2004, 12:18 PM   #2069
Tech Regular
 
Ian_da_bomb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Bay Area/Long Beach, California
Posts: 287
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Ian_da_bomb Send a message via Yahoo to Ian_da_bomb
Default

pops, i usually hardwire all my connections . Because I also have a tc3 (which has no trouble with battery in/out) i wouldnt need plugs on that. Im not THAT worried about getting the pack out - it just seems way easier to strapping tape it in. I plan on getting a Jet Upperdeck soon and right now im running the graphite plastic tub. Another question - does the Jet motor mount and pulley mount make a more aligned and free drivetrain? Right now I just have the HPI pulley mount and the stock thin purple motor mount and I am having trouble aligning the two so that the shaft will spin freely enough for my tastes.
Ian_da_bomb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2004, 12:40 PM   #2070
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,212
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Ian_da_bomb
pops, i usually hardwire all my connections . Because I also have a tc3 (which has no trouble with battery in/out) i wouldnt need plugs on that. Im not THAT worried about getting the pack out - it just seems way easier to strapping tape it in. I plan on getting a Jet Upperdeck soon and right now im running the graphite plastic tub. Another question - does the Jet motor mount and pulley mount make a more aligned and free drivetrain? Right now I just have the HPI pulley mount and the stock thin purple motor mount and I am having trouble aligning the two so that the shaft will spin freely enough for my tastes.
The Jet 3 piece motor mount is the best one to use... when I had my Pro3 I used HPI's pulley mount and motor mount and had no problem with the shaft alignment... and I used the Jet aluminum battery mount as well..
__________________
HB WCE HARA EDITION CYCLONE: LRP Sphere TC, KO 2363 digital servo.
HB HARA EDITION PRO4: Gone to a new home..

SPEEDTECH|FUTABA|KO|ORION|SPEEDWORLD|HARA
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HPI Pro3 Drift Demon R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 1 06-26-2007 11:04 PM
HPI Pro3 Drift Demon Australia Wanted to Buy 0 06-21-2007 04:06 PM
pro3 for .12 better than you R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 4 04-25-2005 02:35 PM
HPI RS4 Pro3 Denso R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 01-26-2005 12:37 PM
FS: HPI Pro3 SteveM R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 7 12-04-2001 06:03 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:21 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net