R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-31-2003, 02:08 PM   #1861
Tech Master
 
DOMOisCOOL's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Daly City, California, U.S.A.
Posts: 1,914
Send a message via ICQ to DOMOisCOOL Send a message via AIM to DOMOisCOOL Send a message via Yahoo to DOMOisCOOL
Default

Thanks popsracer!

I think I have to rearrange my electronics position. The large cap. on my GT7 takes up a lot of space
DOMOisCOOL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2003, 02:24 PM   #1862
Tech Elite
 
popsracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: "Hot, Sunny Southern California"
Posts: 3,120
Default Upper Decks

Guys;

The reason I choose an HPI Upper Deck over any of the others was:

1) Looks. Plainly is the best looking upper deck out there.

2) It's one piece.

3) HPI always supplies everything needed to install. No hunting down screws, spacers, etc.

The Deck was designed to remove the Pack(s) without disassembly.
And I doubt the average racer will notice a 1/4" difference in Electronics placement.
popsracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2003, 02:42 PM   #1863
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 170
Default

It's not worth an argument but if you're using the tub chassis possible electronic placement is affected by a whole lot more than a 1/4" if you want to be able to slide out the batteries with the deck installed. You can alter the weight distribution drastically if you have the full range of the tub available in which to mount the electronics rather than just the back half.
calvin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2003, 02:54 PM   #1864
Tech Master
 
DOMOisCOOL's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Daly City, California, U.S.A.
Posts: 1,914
Send a message via ICQ to DOMOisCOOL Send a message via AIM to DOMOisCOOL Send a message via Yahoo to DOMOisCOOL
Default

Do you think it is easier to slide out the batt. if I would buy the CF chassis?
DOMOisCOOL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2003, 03:00 PM   #1865
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 170
Default

About the same. The biggest problem with the woven graphite chassis is finding a place to mount all your electronics. The wings seem to be real small when you try to mount everything.
calvin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2003, 03:04 PM   #1866
Tech Master
 
DOMOisCOOL's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Daly City, California, U.S.A.
Posts: 1,914
Send a message via ICQ to DOMOisCOOL Send a message via AIM to DOMOisCOOL Send a message via Yahoo to DOMOisCOOL
Default

Hmm..

Well heres my step by step :

DOMOisCOOL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2003, 03:04 PM   #1867
Tech Master
 
DOMOisCOOL's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Daly City, California, U.S.A.
Posts: 1,914
Send a message via ICQ to DOMOisCOOL Send a message via AIM to DOMOisCOOL Send a message via Yahoo to DOMOisCOOL
Default

Step 2:

DOMOisCOOL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2003, 03:05 PM   #1868
Tech Master
 
DOMOisCOOL's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Daly City, California, U.S.A.
Posts: 1,914
Send a message via ICQ to DOMOisCOOL Send a message via AIM to DOMOisCOOL Send a message via Yahoo to DOMOisCOOL
Default

Last step:



DOMOisCOOL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2003, 03:06 PM   #1869
Tech Master
 
DOMOisCOOL's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Daly City, California, U.S.A.
Posts: 1,914
Send a message via ICQ to DOMOisCOOL Send a message via AIM to DOMOisCOOL Send a message via Yahoo to DOMOisCOOL
Default

It is fairly easy now. I'm just afraid that the belt might snap.
DOMOisCOOL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2003, 10:12 PM   #1870
Tech Elite
 
popsracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: "Hot, Sunny Southern California"
Posts: 3,120
Default Upper Decks

DOMOisCOOL;

Quote:
Well I have the HPI graphite upper deck. It is impossible to take the battery out without taking the upper deck out. Anyone else find this annoying?
Not that it really matters, but that does not look like an HPI Upper Deck.
popsracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2003, 10:28 PM   #1871
Tech Master
 
DOMOisCOOL's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Daly City, California, U.S.A.
Posts: 1,914
Send a message via ICQ to DOMOisCOOL Send a message via AIM to DOMOisCOOL Send a message via Yahoo to DOMOisCOOL
Default

Well its the HB one. But I think its similar.
DOMOisCOOL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2003, 10:31 PM   #1872
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 992
Default

If you want stiff upper deck, get team prp and you can remove the battery from top without remove the upper deck.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg product_pro3td11.jpg (5.3 KB, 98 views)

Last edited by Aku-Man; 08-31-2003 at 10:38 PM.
Aku-Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2003, 10:36 PM   #1873
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 992
Default

DOMOisCOOL,
I think that way of removing battry is bad because you stretching the belt.
Aku-Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2003, 10:37 PM   #1874
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Tai Po, HKG
Posts: 133
Send a message via ICQ to Mingfinity
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by DOMOisCOOL
It is fairly easy now. I'm just afraid that the belt might snap.
There IS another easier way to do that.
I will try it to show it to you guys tonite.

you can trim down the battery brace post and remove the upper brace from the steering assembly. You can snap the battery strap pin from the ) side of the upper deck, so that you can do it by your hand instead of using some tools.
Mingfinity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2003, 11:32 PM   #1875
Tech Master
 
DOMOisCOOL's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Daly City, California, U.S.A.
Posts: 1,914
Send a message via ICQ to DOMOisCOOL Send a message via AIM to DOMOisCOOL Send a message via Yahoo to DOMOisCOOL
Default

Mingfinity, that'd be great.

Aku-Man, too bad im low on cash right now. If anyone has a PRP upper deck for sale, let me know.
DOMOisCOOL is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HPI Pro3 Drift Demon R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 1 06-26-2007 11:04 PM
HPI Pro3 Drift Demon Australia Wanted to Buy 0 06-21-2007 04:06 PM
pro3 for .12 better than you R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 4 04-25-2005 02:35 PM
HPI RS4 Pro3 Denso R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 01-26-2005 12:37 PM
FS: HPI Pro3 SteveM R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 7 12-04-2001 06:03 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:10 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net