R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-05-2003, 03:49 AM   #1831
Tech Elite
 
lee82gx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Land Of peace , Malaysia
Posts: 2,304
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Of course,the outside wheel(right side when turning left) is the one that holds most of the traction.
forward momentum will push most weight to go against a turn,meaning most weight goes to the right side on a left turn.
sounds like a source of trouble to me,but i tot sway bars dont influence handling that much?
and also,since one side is not fastened,u should have NO antisway for both sides...????
lee82gx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2003, 12:03 PM   #1832
Tech Elite
 
popsracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: "Hot, Sunny Southern California"
Posts: 3,120
Default Pro-3 handling problems

Look for something to be different on one side of the Car.

A sticky Bearing, Shock lengths not equal side to side, a bent Hinge Pin, a Tire with a partially unglued sidewall, Chassis Tweak.

Unless you're racing Oval, it is very important for all of the settings to be equal on both sides of the Car. Shock lengths are especially important on a Car without Droop Screws, like the Pro-3.
popsracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2003, 07:59 PM   #1833
Tech Master
 
Speed Demon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: ROCK GARDEN
Posts: 1,053
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by lee82gx
Of course,the outside wheel(right side when turning left) is the one that holds most of the traction.
forward momentum will push most weight to go against a turn,meaning most weight goes to the right side on a left turn.
sounds like a source of trouble to me,but i tot sway bars dont influence handling that much?
and also,since one side is not fastened,u should have NO antisway for both sides...????
No.. it's not the holder with the ball-cup at the lower arms..
It's the holder at the front bulkhead that's gone..
__________________
CUSTOM CRAWLER & ROCK STACKER
Speed Demon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2003, 08:09 PM   #1834
Tech Elite
 
lee82gx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Land Of peace , Malaysia
Posts: 2,304
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

dude i just bought myself a used FTTC3..
let me rebuilt it and get some batteries..then we race!
why dont u remove the whole front sway bar and see how it goes?
lee82gx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2003, 08:19 PM   #1835
Tech Master
 
Speed Demon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: ROCK GARDEN
Posts: 1,053
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

That's good... how much ?

I actually quite bz... I only found out the holder missing when I reach home... so,, up to today I haven't test it yet....
__________________
CUSTOM CRAWLER & ROCK STACKER
Speed Demon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2003, 08:23 PM   #1836
Tech Master
 
TigeRyan's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Southern New Jersey
Posts: 1,389
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to TigeRyan
Default

Hey Guys,

Getting ready for an HPI Challenge in my parts where I will be running Pro Electric (Mod Motor) - I was planning on a 13x2 D3.5 motor....The track in a asphalt parking lot track fairly open with an 80' straight...Could someone give me a starting point for gearing???

Thanks!
John
__________________
SixFootTiger Cell Phone R/C Calculator - http://cell.sixfoottiger.com -
Android Marketing Place - R/C Calculator (https://market.android.com/details?id=com.sixfoottiger.andoid.rccalc&feature=search_result)
TigeRyan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2003, 04:41 PM   #1837
Regional Moderator
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: IRT #122
Posts: 3,364
Default

if there is a andrew that emailed me for transponder holders for the pro 3 please email me again my computer crashed and i have lost your mailing info to send your transponder holders out.
Ko Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2003, 06:41 PM   #1838
Tech Elite
 
popsracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: "Hot, Sunny Southern California"
Posts: 3,120
Default transponder holders for the pro 3


The Associated TC3 uses a similar lexan transponder holder that will fit and is easier to find.
Mount it to your steering servo, with double stick Foam Tape.

Last edited by popsracer; 08-13-2003 at 10:10 AM.
popsracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2003, 06:17 AM   #1839
Regional Moderator
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: IRT #122
Posts: 3,364
Default Re: transponder holders for the pro 3

Quote:
Originally posted by popsracer
Ko Racer;

The Associated TC3 uses a similar lexan transponder holder that will fit and is easier to find.
Mount it to your steering servo, with double stick Foam Tape.

hi pops.... i dont need any i use to make woven graphite trans holders when i ran hpi and there is a guy name andrew that wanted some and i was trying to find him because i have lost his email addy when my computer crashed . i have them ready to mail to him just need to get hold of him to get info .
Ko Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2003, 02:46 PM   #1840
Tech Adept
 
SuperRooster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: BUFFALO,NY
Posts: 129
Send a message via AIM to SuperRooster
Default need help

ok does anyone have a setup for a loose parking lot track i will be using the woven graphite chassis and upper deck
Thanks
SuperRooster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2003, 04:42 PM   #1841
Tech Master
 
TigeRyan's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Southern New Jersey
Posts: 1,389
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to TigeRyan
Default

Ok, I'll ask again...anyone have a starting gear ratio for a medium sized outdoor track running a 13x2???
__________________
SixFootTiger Cell Phone R/C Calculator - http://cell.sixfoottiger.com -
Android Marketing Place - R/C Calculator (https://market.android.com/details?id=com.sixfoottiger.andoid.rccalc&feature=search_result)
TigeRyan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2003, 03:13 AM   #1842
Super Moderator
 
charlie_b's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Anaheim
Posts: 9,832
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to charlie_b Send a message via MSN to charlie_b Send a message via Yahoo to charlie_b
Default

SRooster-I rin no onw ways on a loose track. right now, i have the yellow(new) springs all the way around, 40 wt, and 2 deg camber. That's a start.

TigeRyan-116/37
charlie_b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2003, 10:58 AM   #1843
Tech Elite
 
popsracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: "Hot, Sunny Southern California"
Posts: 3,120
Default Pro-3 update

Guys;

I recently changed the Droop settings on my Pro-3 to full Droop Front and Back. Really smoothed out the handling of the Car and with no noticable bad side effects.

Now I will be able to go up 1 rate on the springs even. (currently Rear: #6844, RED, Front: #6846, GREEN) and maintain the same level of traction. (Medium bite Asphalt)

Will keep everyone updated.

Last edited by popsracer; 08-17-2003 at 11:05 AM.
popsracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2003, 04:57 PM   #1844
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: ABQ
Posts: 347
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Popsracer -

Does full droop refer to lengthening the shocks as far as possible? I'm not sure of how droop is correctly adjusted on the pro 3. Thanks.
Vmax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2003, 05:09 PM   #1845
Tech Elite
 
popsracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: "Hot, Sunny Southern California"
Posts: 3,120
Default Droop on the Pro-3

Vmax;

Before I added the HPI upper deck, the Car worked better with less droop F & R. With less Chassis twist now, the added droop just makes the Car so much easier to drive, smoother and faster in the corners.

My Shocks have the Foams compensators removed, Firm Bladders installed and NO spacers what-so-ever inside the shocks.

Right now the Shock ends are screwed all the down, then adjusted to be equal length with Dial Calipers. (to .0005)
popsracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HPI Pro3 Drift Demon R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 1 06-26-2007 11:04 PM
HPI Pro3 Drift Demon Australia Wanted to Buy 0 06-21-2007 04:06 PM
pro3 for .12 better than you R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 4 04-25-2005 02:35 PM
HPI RS4 Pro3 Denso R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 01-26-2005 12:37 PM
FS: HPI Pro3 SteveM R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 7 12-04-2001 06:03 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:48 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net