R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-03-2003, 09:41 AM   #1741
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,212
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by newracer
I just got the Jet Aluminum steering bellcranks. What ballstuds have people used with them?
I used the stock ball studs even the bellcranks are drilled for metric....
__________________
HB WCE HARA EDITION CYCLONE: LRP Sphere TC, KO 2363 digital servo.
HB HARA EDITION PRO4: Gone to a new home..

SPEEDTECH|FUTABA|KO|ORION|SPEEDWORLD|HARA
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2003, 09:53 AM   #1742
Tech Addict
 
racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: ADVAN Le Mans Project
Posts: 707
Default

rc-zombies,

if you use the stock ball studs, what brand/size ball cups do you use?

i find that the hpi ball cups are too large and limits the steering arm from swinging to its max left/right.

Thanks in advance!
racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2003, 10:43 AM   #1743
Tech Elite
 
popsracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: "Hot, Sunny Southern California"
Posts: 3,120
Default Pro-3 update

Guys;

No racing going on this weekend locally (raining anyways).

I did have a chance to buy 2 new Battery Packs though. The Voltage looks really good, so we'll see how they work next weekend.
Have also not made any more changes to my Car, as it is really working well. Also don't have any future plans on retiring my Pro-3 unless parts become hard to find and so far so good.
popsracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2003, 05:53 PM   #1744
Tech Master
 
newracer's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Timnath, Colorado
Posts: 1,523
Default

I got some Yokomo ball studs and they work perfect. The ball is the same size and the thread is 3mm. The last 1mm isn't threaded so it had to be pursuaded but it worked great.

I also just noticed that the ball stud doesn't allow the full travel but it doesn't matter cuase I have my dual rate way down anyways.
newracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2003, 09:27 PM   #1745
Tech Addict
 
racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: ADVAN Le Mans Project
Posts: 707
Default

Quote:
I got some Yokomo ball studs and they work perfect. The ball is the same size and the thread is 3mm. The last 1mm isn't threaded so it had to be pursuaded but it worked great. I also just noticed that the ball stud doesn't allow the full travel but it doesn't matter cuase I have my dual rate way down anyways.
Thanks, newracer
racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2003, 04:19 PM   #1746
Tech Champion
 
JDM_DOHC_SiR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Chula Vista, CA
Posts: 9,070
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default Re: Pro3 spare parts????

What parts are you looking for??? I have a PRO3 that can be Used for parts for 350$ shipped

-Dave
__________________
Ȼ4.5 Centro+α ◊ TRF 501ӽ ◊ TRF 502ӽs ◊ TRF 503 ◊ TRF 511 ◊ TRF 201ӽr ◊ TRF 211ӽ
B5m ◊ T5m ◊SC5m ◊ B64deez nutz
Speedway PAL ◊ SDRC ◊ Shop UFO ◊ SMC
JDM_DOHC_SiR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2003, 09:56 PM   #1747
Tech Elite
 
popsracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: "Hot, Sunny Southern California"
Posts: 3,120
Default Freeing up Driveline on the Pro-3

Hi Guys;

Been working on freeing up the Drivetrain on my Pro-3 and it seems like the Front (long) belt is the sticking point. Even after months of racing with the Low Drag belt, it is still too tight and causing quite a bit of drag.

Has anyone found a solution to this or should I just buy another and hope the tolerances make it looser.

Thanks, Steven
popsracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2003, 10:12 PM   #1748
Tech Addict
 
racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: ADVAN Le Mans Project
Posts: 707
Default

popsracer,

got this picture from HPI Japan. you can try placing spacers under the steerings posts, where the chassis meets the front half of the car

hope this helps
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 05.jpg (18.8 KB, 99 views)
racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2003, 10:12 PM   #1749
Tech Champion
 
JDM_DOHC_SiR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Chula Vista, CA
Posts: 9,070
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default Re: Freeing up Driveline on the Pro-3

Quote:
Originally posted by popsracer
Hi Guys;

Been working on freeing up the Drivetrain on my Pro-3 and it seems like the Front (long) belt is the sticking point. Even after months of racing with the Low Drag belt, it is still too tight and causing quite a bit of drag.

Has anyone found a solution to this or should I just buy another and hope the tolerances make it looser.

Thanks, Steven

Hey Pop`s have you tried to take the belt out of the Car and try to stretch the belt??.. add about 5lbs to it and hang it from something for a day or two

Just an idea

-Dave
__________________
Ȼ4.5 Centro+α ◊ TRF 501ӽ ◊ TRF 502ӽs ◊ TRF 503 ◊ TRF 511 ◊ TRF 201ӽr ◊ TRF 211ӽ
B5m ◊ T5m ◊SC5m ◊ B64deez nutz
Speedway PAL ◊ SDRC ◊ Shop UFO ◊ SMC
JDM_DOHC_SiR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2003, 11:11 PM   #1750
Tech Elite
 
popsracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: "Hot, Sunny Southern California"
Posts: 3,120
Default Pro-3 Front Belt tension

JDM_DOHC_SiR;

That is an Idea, but you would think after 6 months of racing the belt is stretched to the Max. My Nitro cars will stretch a new belt out in a few weekends of racing.
If someone doesn't have a better solution, I'll buy a second belt and try hanging it with some weight.

Too bad the Bearing adjusters from the Rear won't fit the Front diff housing.
popsracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2003, 11:29 PM   #1751
Tech Champion
 
JDM_DOHC_SiR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Chula Vista, CA
Posts: 9,070
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default Re: Pro-3 Front Belt tension

Quote:
Originally posted by popsracer
JDM_DOHC_SiR;

That is an Idea, but you would think after 6 months of racing the belt is stretched to the Max. My Nitro cars will stretch a new belt out in a few weekends of racing.
If someone doesn't have a better solution, I'll buy a second belt and try hanging it with some weight.

Too bad the Bearing adjusters from the Rear won't fit the Front diff housing.
I`m trin th weight thinng right now on My pro3 so I`ll let you know in a couple of days

-Dave
__________________
Ȼ4.5 Centro+α ◊ TRF 501ӽ ◊ TRF 502ӽs ◊ TRF 503 ◊ TRF 511 ◊ TRF 201ӽr ◊ TRF 211ӽ
B5m ◊ T5m ◊SC5m ◊ B64deez nutz
Speedway PAL ◊ SDRC ◊ Shop UFO ◊ SMC
JDM_DOHC_SiR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2003, 12:01 AM   #1752
Tech Elite
 
popsracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: "Hot, Sunny Southern California"
Posts: 3,120
Default Using "Weight" for stretching

JDM_DOHC_SiR;

I've actually heard of this "Weight" thing before..but it wasn't a Belt that was trying to be stretched (lengthened)
popsracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2003, 05:55 AM   #1753
Tech Addict
 
Barry White's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: HEAVEN
Posts: 720
Default

JDM_DOHC_SiR (Reminds me of Honda terms ). Could you list your PRO3 option's?
Barry White is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2003, 06:45 AM   #1754
Tech Regular
 
yobbism's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: newcastle, Australia
Posts: 278
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

hey,
i remember when i tried to stretch a street weapon belt. i was a bit uncarefull and the apparatus was.......lol....not so great. cost me a new belt! but before it broke it was goin great guns. stretching the belts would put the teeth out of synck with the pully id think....wouldnt it?
what else have you done to free up the pro3?

AND.......with the HPI full length upperdeck, can you get packs out without takin the deck off? (i use ladderpacks, no wire in the middle just a solid pack!.....not a stick pack though...yuk!)

thanks.

on guiness i think one time i saw a guy stretching...........
yobbism is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2003, 09:45 AM   #1755
Tech Master
 
newracer's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Timnath, Colorado
Posts: 1,523
Default

My kit belt was very tight and so is my new low friction belt. With the kit belt I was running a turnbuckle from the battery plate to motor top plate. I could shorten it a little to tweak the chassis and get the belt to run loose. I tried lengthening the turnbuckle, tweaking the chassis the other way, and left it like that for 2 weeks, didn't help at all. I really put a lot of pressure on it too. Anybody tried WD-40? I have heard that it will soften the belt and help it stretch. I also agree that if you try to stretch it by any other means than on the car it might cause the spacing of the teeth to be non-uniform.
newracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HPI Pro3 Drift Demon R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 1 06-26-2007 11:04 PM
HPI Pro3 Drift Demon Australia Wanted to Buy 0 06-21-2007 04:06 PM
pro3 for .12 better than you R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 4 04-25-2005 02:35 PM
HPI RS4 Pro3 Denso R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 01-26-2005 12:37 PM
FS: HPI Pro3 SteveM R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 7 12-04-2001 06:03 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:29 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net