Associated RC12R5

Reply

Old 02-04-2009, 05:16 PM
  #1021  
Tech Addict
Thread Starter
 
Ferrarimk13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Staten Island, New York
Posts: 630
Default

Originally Posted by chris moore View Post
Not the best pic but here you go.
hey chris, what esc are you using, a novak i'm guessing but which model? Thanks.
Ferrarimk13 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2009, 05:51 PM
  #1022  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (1)
 
xtrememadness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: new jersey
Posts: 966
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by wingracer View Post
It's just a really good shock. Lots of people run them on lots of different cars. I want to try out a Serpent shock myself.
hey wingracer i run a hotbodies shock on my bmi but i thought the r5 had a great shock with no rebound, droop adjustment and height adjustment on the antenna mount so i was just wondering why they would replace it unless they were having problems
xtrememadness is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2009, 06:26 PM
  #1023  
Tech Master
iTrader: (12)
 
CarlosG.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Falls City,TX
Posts: 1,145
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Chris, thanks for posting the pics. How does the car feel with the t-bar conversion compared to the non- t- bar version?
CarlosG. is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2009, 04:56 AM
  #1024  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 649
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by xtrememadness View Post
hey wingracer i run a hotbodies shock on my bmi but i thought the r5 had a great shock with no rebound, droop adjustment and height adjustment on the antenna mount so i was just wondering why they would replace it unless they were having problems
Some of the guys are running the old style shock to add rebound to the car. It's not really a problem but a tuning option.
Fred_B is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2009, 06:03 PM
  #1025  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (1)
 
xtrememadness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: new jersey
Posts: 966
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

thanx fred for clarifying. so what does having rebound do compared to the r5 shock. i mean whats the advantage. thanx
xtrememadness is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2009, 12:21 PM
  #1026  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (19)
 
DHMOTORSPORTS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Central IL.
Posts: 836
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Finally talked myself into a brushless motor.. Gonna try it out 2morrow 10.5.. I didnt have a chance to get the centered pod stuff yet.. Mabe next week if someone has all the stuff in stock.. Car was really good last week with the 19 in though..
Arcee you gotta pm
DHMOTORSPORTS is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2009, 10:56 AM
  #1027  
Tech Master
iTrader: (12)
 
CarlosG.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Falls City,TX
Posts: 1,145
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

I am looking at getting a 12r5 maybe, but I was wondering since the Fiber-lyte ride height adjusters won't work on this car on the front end, what is being used to adjust ride height? Anything like the Fiber-lyte?
CarlosG. is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2009, 11:39 AM
  #1028  
Tech Apprentice
 
JuhoL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 62
Default

Originally Posted by CarlosG. View Post
I am looking at getting a 12r5 maybe, but I was wondering since the Fiber-lyte ride height adjusters won't work on this car on the front end, what is being used to adjust ride height? Anything like the Fiber-lyte?
The kit comes with aluminum shims which are used to adjust the rideheight.
JuhoL is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2009, 06:41 PM
  #1029  
P2
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (15)
 
P2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Oahu, Hi
Posts: 865
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by CarlosG. View Post
I am looking at getting a 12r5 maybe, but I was wondering since the Fiber-lyte ride height adjusters won't work on this car on the front end, what is being used to adjust ride height? Anything like the Fiber-lyte?
Carlos....Ronnie and I made some sick ride height adjusters, go see him
P2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2009, 06:47 PM
  #1030  
Tech Master
iTrader: (12)
 
CarlosG.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Falls City,TX
Posts: 1,145
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

I was wondering if their were any other methods or shim setups since I will not be able to use my fyber-lyte shims.
CarlosG. is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2009, 01:02 PM
  #1031  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (12)
 
RC MARKET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: HK
Posts: 6,194
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Do you have see 12R5 the motor isn't in car center post ?
or need buy this 2 parts ?
Attached Thumbnails Associated RC12R5-4608.jpg   Associated RC12R5-4609.jpg  
RC MARKET is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2009, 02:11 PM
  #1032  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: MI
Posts: 1,544
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by RC MARKET View Post
Do you have see 12R5 the motor isn't in car center post ?
or need buy this 2 parts ?
If you want your brushless motor centered you will also need the carbon fiber upper and lower from the 10R5.
John St.Amant is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2009, 03:29 PM
  #1033  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (17)
 
Triton3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 264
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Hey guys, wats your stearing travel(EPA) on your 12R5?? i use a Futaba 9650 and if i go higher than 50% the car will spin easily...

Thanks
Mike
Triton3d is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2009, 04:31 PM
  #1034  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (47)
 
andrewdoherty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: ★Wylie, TX★
Posts: 3,782
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Triton3d View Post
Hey guys, wats your stearing travel(EPA) on your 12R5?? i use a Futaba 9650 and if i go higher than 50% the car will spin easily...

Thanks
Mike
I prefer to use turning radius at the slowest possible speed to communicate this information. It takes into account all the factors involved, whereas simply stating EPA or DR values do not. It also eliminates differences due to radios, servos, steering linkages etc, and keeps me aware of any differences left to right in my steering.

With that said I typically run about a 3.5 foot circle. This is indoors on a low-med grip ozite track. In my opinion you don't want to stray too far from this value as if your circle is too big you won't have enough steering to get through the slower sections as fast as possible and if you make your circle too small you will lose some speed all around as you scrub one or both tires trying to turn a smaller radius than the traction will allow for the speed your car is moving.
andrewdoherty is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2009, 04:41 PM
  #1035  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (24)
 
wingracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 12,976
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by andrewdoherty View Post
I prefer to use turning radius at the slowest possible speed to communicate this information. It takes into account all the factors involved, whereas simply stating EPA or DR values do not. It also eliminates differences due to radios, servos, steering linkages etc, and keeps me aware of any differences left to right in my steering.

With that said I typically run about a 3.5 foot circle. This is indoors on a low-med grip ozite track. In my opinion you don't want to stray too far from this value as if your circle is too big you won't have enough steering to get through the slower sections as fast as possible and if you make your circle too small you will lose some speed all around as you scrub one or both tires trying to turn a smaller radius than the traction will allow for the speed your car is moving.
That sounds about right, never measured it though
wingracer is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service