R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-22-2008, 06:44 PM   #1081
Company Representative
 
Danny/SMC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Elkton, VA
Posts: 3,097
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Our 3200 , 4000 and 5000 Lipos come with 12 guage wires and a Deans or Traxxas connector. The saddle pack comes with 10 gauge wire to lower resistnace due to the extra jumper wire. Our cases are glued and can't be opened without damaging the case so the wires can't be replaced.

Last edited by Danny/SMC; 08-23-2008 at 10:51 AM.
Danny/SMC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2008, 12:11 PM   #1082
Tech Elite
 
Jake S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Erie PA
Posts: 4,607
Trader Rating: 66 (92%+)
Send a message via AIM to Jake S Send a message via MSN to Jake S
Default

im getting excited its getting close to the end of the month, any production pictures of saddles?
Jake S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2008, 04:14 PM   #1083
Company Representative
 
Danny/SMC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Elkton, VA
Posts: 3,097
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Actually I was just informed by our supplier yesterday that they are having troubles installing/soldering the 10gauge wire so they will have to use 12 guage. This may delay the ship date by 2-3 days. As soon as they come in we will take pictures and post them in the offroad section.
Danny/SMC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2008, 04:33 PM   #1084
Moderator
 
StephenSobottka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 3,267
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to StephenSobottka
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Danny/SMC View Post
Actually I was just informed by our supplier yesterday that they are having troubles installing/soldering the 10gauge wire so they will have to use 12 guage. This may delay the ship date by 2-3 days. As soon as they come in we will take pictures and post them in the offroad section.
See you in a day in Vegas!
__________________
~~Stephen Sobottka~~
SMC Racing
StephenSobottka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2008, 05:49 PM   #1085
Tech Elite
 
Jake S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Erie PA
Posts: 4,607
Trader Rating: 66 (92%+)
Send a message via AIM to Jake S Send a message via MSN to Jake S
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Danny/SMC View Post
Actually I was just informed by our supplier yesterday that they are having troubles installing/soldering the 10gauge wire so they will have to use 12 guage. This may delay the ship date by 2-3 days. As soon as they come in we will take pictures and post them in the offroad section.

thats ok just wondering, i cant wait, im sure you will sellout of these quickly.

wish i could get my hands on a pack to test in 4wd mod
Jake S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2008, 06:33 PM   #1086
Tech Champion
 
Cameron Kellogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Idaho
Posts: 5,744
Trader Rating: 45 (100%+)
Default

Hi Danny, I tried to search the post but could not find my answer.

I was wonding if it is possible to send in my side exit 4000mha lipo and have the case swaped for a top exit case.
Cameron Kellogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2008, 09:21 AM   #1087
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 517
Default

I think I seem it somewhere saying that SMC lipo is made in China. What is the manufacture?
ioxqq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2008, 09:34 AM   #1088
Company Representative
 
Danny/SMC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Elkton, VA
Posts: 3,097
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

[QUOTE=Cameron Kellogg;4769829]Hi Danny, I tried to search the post but could not find my answer.

I was wonding if it is possible to send in my side exit 4000mha lipo and have the case swaped for a top exit case.[/QUOT

Sorry it's not possible to change cases as the new top wire cases needs a change in the tabs where the wires are soldered plus our cases are glued which makes the very hard to take apart.
Danny/SMC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2008, 09:35 AM   #1089
Company Representative
 
Danny/SMC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Elkton, VA
Posts: 3,097
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ioxqq View Post
I think I seem it somewhere saying that SMC lipo is made in China. What is the manufacture?

Yes our Lipos are made in China and were not using any of the mainstream Lipo manufacturers.
Danny/SMC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2008, 01:52 PM   #1090
Tech Adept
 
xraysteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: blissfield,mi
Posts: 146
Default

just some advice for people thinking of what to get. I have the smc 4000 hard case and i can not run it in mod because it dos not have enough mah. i run 4.5 onroad with 6min mains. it will do 5min no problem but 6min will not. just a heads up i wish i would have bought the 5000mah.
__________________
lazer speedway everything else is a parking lot
xraysteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2008, 02:53 PM   #1091
Company Representative
 
Danny/SMC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Elkton, VA
Posts: 3,097
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

How short are you on runtime ?

Do you have allot of speed with your 4.5 ? Some racers I know have used 6.5 with more gear which gives very good speeds and should give you back some runtime.
Danny/SMC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2008, 03:22 PM   #1092
Tech Master
 
Verndog's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: PPDBillet.com USA
Posts: 1,845
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xraysteve View Post
just some advice for people thinking of what to get. I have the smc 4000 hard case and i can not run it in mod because it dos not have enough mah. i run 4.5 onroad with 6min mains. it will do 5min no problem but 6min will not. just a heads up i wish i would have bought the 5000mah.
How many tracks are running 6 min. mod mains? I would think that would create issues with alot of people. I'm using 3300 mah in 5mins with a 7700kv motor. I would be at 3960 mah to run 6 mins. and no 5000 pack will fit an xray without lifting the top deck which is more effort then I'd do.
__________________
--->Dial-a-Grip for TC6
Kevin -- PPDBillet---TC6---Exoray 008
---Team Hoarders---
Verndog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2008, 05:22 PM   #1093
Company Representative
 
Danny/SMC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Elkton, VA
Posts: 3,097
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I think that driving style and car setup has allot to do with how much capacity you will use. I also think that different speed controls and motors may be more or less efficient. If the track has very high bite and your able to drive punched most of the lap then I can see where this would be hard on capacity.
Danny/SMC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2008, 07:43 PM   #1094
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: No where near home.
Posts: 130
Send a message via AIM to Mongo Send a message via Yahoo to Mongo
Default

What's the biggest LiPo I can fit in a T2 Xray and what mods do I have to do to get it to fit?

If I run a LiPo in the first heat, can I just re-peak it after every run? (PLR type gatherings).

Do you have to balance?

To make it easier, is there a FAQ section for LiPo's (And maybe brushless as well?) I haven't raced in 2 years and just got the bug again, but I seem to be out in left field with the new tech that is out there.
Mongo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2008, 12:50 AM   #1095
Tech Addict
 
MaTt 93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Australia, NSW
Posts: 581
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to MaTt 93
Default

Hi Danny,
just wondering what the price of the saddle pack will be and what are some of the online shops that will carry the saddle packs?
thanks,
Matt
__________________
TLR 22 - Spektrum - 7.5 Speed Passion V3 - LRP
Durango DEX410R - Spektum - 5.5 Speed Passion V3 - LRP

SECOND PLACE IS THE FIRST LOOSER !!
MaTt 93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
* * * BRAND NEW * * * FTB4, SMC 5000 28c Hardcase 7.4 Lipo, JR Z8800s jpeck R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 12 10-26-2008 04:03 AM
FOR SALE: SMC 4000 28C HARDCASE LIPO'S commander Australia For Sale/Trade 4 10-20-2008 11:08 AM
SMC 4000 mah Hardcase Lipos 28C NIB rraden R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 11 09-12-2008 11:20 AM
SMC 28C 4000 hardcase lipo fred kellner R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 04-09-2008 08:31 AM
New SMC Lipos 7.4v 2s 4000 and 5000mah HardCase IOwNMkeG R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 4 03-30-2008 01:54 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:44 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net