Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
SMC 28C 4000/5000 Hardcase Lipo part 2 >

SMC 28C 4000/5000 Hardcase Lipo part 2

SMC 28C 4000/5000 Hardcase Lipo part 2

Reply

Old 08-15-2008, 02:23 AM
  #1036  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (16)
 
kschu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kota Kinabalu,Sabah
Posts: 4,598
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

hi, can i charge higher than 1c for smc4000 lipo ??

what is the cons if i do so ?? the lipo will spoil ?
kschu is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2008, 10:36 AM
  #1037  
Company Representative
Thread Starter
iTrader: (2)
 
Danny/SMC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Elkton, VA
Posts: 3,097
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Our Lipos can be charged at 2 to 3C but I reccomend 2C as this should not reduce the cycle life of the pack. The advantage of charging at 2C is faster charge times.
Danny/SMC is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2008, 10:46 AM
  #1038  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (5)
 
rjs_13203's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: lowell, nc
Posts: 725
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

u guys going to make anything for the b44, or saddle packs in general
rjs_13203 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2008, 11:35 AM
  #1039  
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 793
Default

Read the first post at the top of this page.
Jack Rimer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2008, 12:32 PM
  #1040  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (5)
 
rjs_13203's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: lowell, nc
Posts: 725
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

lol i seen that after i already posted
rjs_13203 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2008, 08:27 PM
  #1041  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (4)
 
Jsaves's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Montana
Posts: 506
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

What are you guys using for chargers that are easy to travel?
Thanks and God Bless
Jsaves is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2008, 09:29 PM
  #1042  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (31)
 
keepitmovin504's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Ellicott City, MD
Posts: 488
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Jsaves View Post
What are you guys using for chargers that are easy to travel?
Thanks and God Bless
The trusty Duratrax Ice
keepitmovin504 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2008, 10:07 PM
  #1043  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (12)
 
Still Bill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 7,325
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Jsaves View Post
What are you guys using for chargers that are easy to travel?
Thanks and God Bless
And ease of use, the LRP Pulsar 3.
Still Bill is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2008, 10:56 AM
  #1044  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (26)
 
STLNLST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 9,122
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by keepitmovin504 View Post
The trusty Duratrax Ice
+1
STLNLST is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2008, 11:48 AM
  #1045  
Tech Master
iTrader: (47)
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Michigan, USA
Posts: 1,212
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

When charging at 2C on a 4000 pack. I noticed that when you set the battery mah to 4000, the max you can charge it at is 4 amps.
Does everyone just put in the mah to 8000 so they are able to charge at 8 amps ( 2C ) or is there a different way to do it?
Thanks
Kingsbury is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2008, 01:00 PM
  #1046  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (154)
 
ta_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 4,545
Trader Rating: 154 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Kingsbury View Post
When charging at 2C on a 4000 pack. I noticed that when you set the battery mah to 4000, the max you can charge it at is 4 amps.
Does everyone just put in the mah to 8000 so they are able to charge at 8 amps ( 2C ) or is there a different way to do it?
Thanks
Depends on the charger. The Hyperion EOS0610i I use will let you set the charge rate to at least 2C (10 amps on a 5000 pack). You don't have to lie to it about the capacity. The Turbo35 would probably let you do that or more.
ta_man is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2008, 01:46 PM
  #1047  
Company Representative
Thread Starter
iTrader: (2)
 
Danny/SMC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Elkton, VA
Posts: 3,097
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Kingsbury View Post
When charging at 2C on a 4000 pack. I noticed that when you set the battery mah to 4000, the max you can charge it at is 4 amps.
Does everyone just put in the mah to 8000 so they are able to charge at 8 amps ( 2C ) or is there a different way to do it?
Thanks

Some chargers won't allow you to charge higher than 1C but you can trick the charger by putting the mAh at 8000 which should allow you to charge at 8 amps.
Danny/SMC is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2008, 03:12 PM
  #1048  
Tech Master
iTrader: (16)
 
Verndog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: PPDBillet.com USA
Posts: 1,845
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Kingsbury View Post
Does everyone just put in the mah to 8000 so they are able to charge at 8 amps ( 2C ) or is there a different way to do it?
Thanks
I carry 3 batteries so charging @ 1c keeps me running during practice. Those that want to charge 2c with the Ice do just that, put 8000 mah into capacity for 4000 @2c = 8 amps.
Verndog is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2008, 04:13 PM
  #1049  
Team EAM
iTrader: (79)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Posts: 9,353
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by ta_man View Post
Depends on the charger. The Hyperion EOS0610i I use will let you set the charge rate to at least 2C (10 amps on a 5000 pack). You don't have to lie to it about the capacity. The Turbo35 would probably let you do that or more.
The GFX requires a Mah setting. So to charge at 8 amps you must set the mah to 8000 and so on.

The pulsar 3 allows you to charge at any rate you wish....it doesnt have a mah setting.

Those are the only two I know of.

EA
EAMotorsports is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2008, 05:38 PM
  #1050  
Tech Master
 
yokemad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,150
Default

Hi Guys
I recently ordered SMC 4000 Pack but My current Pack is Trackpower 4900 and I've got Trakpower Balancer!
Balancing connections are different as you know
Do I have to do Balance Charge?
or
Is that what I need?

2/3/6S HIGHRATE - V BALANCER HARNESS

Last edited by yokemad; 08-16-2008 at 06:50 PM.
yokemad is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service