R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-15-2008, 02:23 AM   #1036
Tech Elite
 
kschu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kota Kinabalu,Sabah
Posts: 4,598
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to kschu
Default

hi, can i charge higher than 1c for smc4000 lipo ??

what is the cons if i do so ?? the lipo will spoil ?
__________________
Give the best while u can !
kschu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2008, 10:36 AM   #1037
Company Representative
 
Danny/SMC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Elkton, VA
Posts: 3,097
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Our Lipos can be charged at 2 to 3C but I reccomend 2C as this should not reduce the cycle life of the pack. The advantage of charging at 2C is faster charge times.
Danny/SMC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2008, 10:46 AM   #1038
Tech Addict
 
rjs_13203's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: lowell, nc
Posts: 725
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

u guys going to make anything for the b44, or saddle packs in general
rjs_13203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2008, 11:35 AM   #1039
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 793
Default

Read the first post at the top of this page.
Jack Rimer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2008, 12:32 PM   #1040
Tech Addict
 
rjs_13203's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: lowell, nc
Posts: 725
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

lol i seen that after i already posted
rjs_13203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2008, 08:27 PM   #1041
Tech Regular
 
Jsaves's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Montana
Posts: 495
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

What are you guys using for chargers that are easy to travel?
Thanks and God Bless
__________________
Proud member of Magic City RC Racers
Magic City R/C (Facebook)
CRC GT-R
CRC WTF-1
Jsaves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2008, 09:29 PM   #1042
Tech Regular
 
keepitmovin504's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Ellicott City, MD
Posts: 476
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to keepitmovin504
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jsaves View Post
What are you guys using for chargers that are easy to travel?
Thanks and God Bless
The trusty Duratrax Ice
__________________
AE T5M/B5M/B44.3
TLR SCTE 3.0
keepitmovin504 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2008, 10:07 PM   #1043
Tech Champion
 
Still Bill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 7,234
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jsaves View Post
What are you guys using for chargers that are easy to travel?
Thanks and God Bless
And ease of use, the LRP Pulsar 3.
__________________
Constantly evolving CRC WGT and WGT-R/T...Carpet & Asphalt...All thanks to Team CRC.

And a pair of Associated B6 buggies for turf and clay tracks.
Still Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2008, 10:56 AM   #1044
Tech Champion
 
STLNLST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 8,988
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by keepitmovin504 View Post
The trusty Duratrax Ice
+1
STLNLST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2008, 11:48 AM   #1045
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Michigan, USA
Posts: 1,199
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

When charging at 2C on a 4000 pack. I noticed that when you set the battery mah to 4000, the max you can charge it at is 4 amps.
Does everyone just put in the mah to 8000 so they are able to charge at 8 amps ( 2C ) or is there a different way to do it?
Thanks
Kingsbury is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2008, 01:00 PM   #1046
Tech Elite
 
ta_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 4,359
Trader Rating: 151 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kingsbury View Post
When charging at 2C on a 4000 pack. I noticed that when you set the battery mah to 4000, the max you can charge it at is 4 amps.
Does everyone just put in the mah to 8000 so they are able to charge at 8 amps ( 2C ) or is there a different way to do it?
Thanks
Depends on the charger. The Hyperion EOS0610i I use will let you set the charge rate to at least 2C (10 amps on a 5000 pack). You don't have to lie to it about the capacity. The Turbo35 would probably let you do that or more.
ta_man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2008, 01:46 PM   #1047
Company Representative
 
Danny/SMC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Elkton, VA
Posts: 3,097
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kingsbury View Post
When charging at 2C on a 4000 pack. I noticed that when you set the battery mah to 4000, the max you can charge it at is 4 amps.
Does everyone just put in the mah to 8000 so they are able to charge at 8 amps ( 2C ) or is there a different way to do it?
Thanks

Some chargers won't allow you to charge higher than 1C but you can trick the charger by putting the mAh at 8000 which should allow you to charge at 8 amps.
Danny/SMC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2008, 03:12 PM   #1048
Tech Master
 
Verndog's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: PPDBillet.com USA
Posts: 1,845
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kingsbury View Post
Does everyone just put in the mah to 8000 so they are able to charge at 8 amps ( 2C ) or is there a different way to do it?
Thanks
I carry 3 batteries so charging @ 1c keeps me running during practice. Those that want to charge 2c with the Ice do just that, put 8000 mah into capacity for 4000 @2c = 8 amps.
__________________
--->Dial-a-Grip for TC6
Kevin -- PPDBillet---TC6---Exoray 008
---Team Hoarders---
Verndog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2008, 04:13 PM   #1049
Team EAM
 
EAMotorsports's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Posts: 9,158
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to EAMotorsports
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ta_man View Post
Depends on the charger. The Hyperion EOS0610i I use will let you set the charge rate to at least 2C (10 amps on a 5000 pack). You don't have to lie to it about the capacity. The Turbo35 would probably let you do that or more.
The GFX requires a Mah setting. So to charge at 8 amps you must set the mah to 8000 and so on.

The pulsar 3 allows you to charge at any rate you wish....it doesnt have a mah setting.

Those are the only two I know of.

EA
EAMotorsports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2008, 05:38 PM   #1050
Tech Master
 
yokemad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,150
Default

Hi Guys
I recently ordered SMC 4000 Pack but My current Pack is Trackpower 4900 and I've got Trakpower Balancer!
Balancing connections are different as you know
Do I have to do Balance Charge?
or
Is that what I need?

2/3/6S HIGHRATE - V BALANCER HARNESS

Last edited by yokemad; 08-16-2008 at 06:50 PM.
yokemad is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
* * * BRAND NEW * * * FTB4, SMC 5000 28c Hardcase 7.4 Lipo, JR Z8800s jpeck R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 12 10-26-2008 04:03 AM
FOR SALE: SMC 4000 28C HARDCASE LIPO'S commander Australia For Sale/Trade 4 10-20-2008 11:08 AM
SMC 4000 mah Hardcase Lipos 28C NIB rraden R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 11 09-12-2008 11:20 AM
SMC 28C 4000 hardcase lipo fred kellner R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 04-09-2008 08:31 AM
New SMC Lipos 7.4v 2s 4000 and 5000mah HardCase IOwNMkeG R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 4 03-30-2008 01:54 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:44 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net