R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-27-2008, 10:11 PM   #916
Tech Champion
 
JayBee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: 12TH-MAN COUNTRY
Posts: 6,813
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Oops!!
__________________
R C 3 G R A F I X _ F U S I O N . G R A P H I X _ S E A T T L E - R/C - R A C E R S _ E M E R A L D C I T Y R C . C O M

A E - 12R5.2 _ S M - REV8 PRO
JayBee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2008, 10:14 PM   #917
Tech Champion
 
JayBee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: 12TH-MAN COUNTRY
Posts: 6,813
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Still Bill View Post
Hi Danny,

Any chance of having the new 5000 packs with the wires coming out of the top by the IIC? Thanks.
Like the Orion packs......yuck. I prefer them out the side


Quote:
Originally Posted by ottoman View Post
Can't plug in a deans backwards and smoke your batt or ESC... seen a guy in a hurry plug his bullets in wrong
__________________
R C 3 G R A F I X _ F U S I O N . G R A P H I X _ S E A T T L E - R/C - R A C E R S _ E M E R A L D C I T Y R C . C O M

A E - 12R5.2 _ S M - REV8 PRO
JayBee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2008, 10:23 PM   #918
Company Representative
 
Danny/SMC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Elkton, VA
Posts: 3,097
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JayBee View Post
Like the Orion packs......yuck. I prefer them out the side
We will not use a circuit board with bullet connectors like the Orion packs as this adds extra resistance. All were doing is getting the wires to come out on top so offroad cars and ready to runs don't need any grinding of the battery channel.
Danny/SMC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2008, 11:07 PM   #919
Tech Master
 
mojoman's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Straight, No Chaser
Posts: 1,995
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

How much longer are you going to be producing the side wire batteries? I might as well stock up.
Casey
__________________
Casey Castleman
Team Driver: OHP / Jaco / Razor Graphix / Thorpewood
RIP The Coliseum at HobbyTown USA Frederick, MD
mojoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2008, 12:24 AM   #920
Company Representative
 
Danny/SMC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Elkton, VA
Posts: 3,097
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

The top wire placement is a running change so when we start getting in the new cases whatever is left in distribution with side wires will be it. I think it will take atleast 6 to 8 weeks before the side wires aren't around anymore.

As soon as we get a sample pack with top wires I will send one who has a JRXS to see if it can fit.
Danny/SMC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2008, 08:10 AM   #921
Tech Elite
 
Mike Haynes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Area 51
Posts: 3,699
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

As long as the wires are right at the corner, it should be able to fit in a type r.
__________________
Team Associated - Reedy Power - Sweep - Protoform - TQ Wire - Lacher paint
Mike Haynes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2008, 05:21 PM   #922
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 183
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Just ran the 4000mah pack this weekend worked great can you tell me how many times in (one) raceday I can safely use/recharge without losing performance.Thanks
__________________
Joe Sumasky
joejoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2008, 07:10 PM   #923
Tech Master
 
mojoman's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Straight, No Chaser
Posts: 1,995
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rcracingkid View Post
As long as the wires are right at the corner, it should be able to fit in a type r.
Did you have to dremel the steel tray to get your 4000 to fit inside the actual tray? I took about .020 off of the inside edge, it's tight but the pack fits. Just curious.
Casey
__________________
Casey Castleman
Team Driver: OHP / Jaco / Razor Graphix / Thorpewood
RIP The Coliseum at HobbyTown USA Frederick, MD
mojoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2008, 07:35 AM   #924
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Graduate Hospital
Posts: 966
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Deznuts05
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by joejoe View Post
Just ran the 4000mah pack this weekend worked great can you tell me how many times in (one) raceday I can safely use/recharge without losing performance.Thanks
from my few weeks with the SMC's I've notice that they don't decrease or increase in performace which is perfect! they stay pretty stable through out each run.

That's running for 5 mins then resting for another 5 mins for me to marshal then straight back on the charger.
__________________
"Power is nothing without control" Ryuken
Deznuts05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2008, 07:38 AM   #925
Tech Elite
 
Mike Haynes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Area 51
Posts: 3,699
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mojoman View Post
Did you have to dremel the steel tray to get your 4000 to fit inside the actual tray? I took about .020 off of the inside edge, it's tight but the pack fits. Just curious.
Casey
Yes you will need to shave the inside of the steel tray to get the pack in there. I took out enough to have the wider side in the tray, leaving the narrow part up high to give clearance to the pullies.
__________________
Team Associated - Reedy Power - Sweep - Protoform - TQ Wire - Lacher paint
Mike Haynes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2008, 08:07 AM   #926
Tech Master
 
mojoman's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Straight, No Chaser
Posts: 1,995
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rcracingkid View Post
Yes you will need to shave the inside of the steel tray to get the pack in there. I took out enough to have the wider side in the tray, leaving the narrow part up high to give clearance to the pullies.
Thanks Mike,
I might need to take a little more than .020. The packs are really tough to get in and out of the tray.
Peace,
Casey
__________________
Casey Castleman
Team Driver: OHP / Jaco / Razor Graphix / Thorpewood
RIP The Coliseum at HobbyTown USA Frederick, MD
mojoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2008, 10:19 AM   #927
Company Representative
 
Danny/SMC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Elkton, VA
Posts: 3,097
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by joejoe View Post
Just ran the 4000mah pack this weekend worked great can you tell me how many times in (one) raceday I can safely use/recharge without losing performance.Thanks

That is a hard one to say as we have not done enough testing to figure out if running them to many times will hurt them but from what I have tested so far I would say you can run them many times in day. I know some racers will repeak and run the same pack 10 or more times per day with no issues.
Danny/SMC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2008, 04:15 PM   #928
Tech Elite
 
LOW ET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: cleveland, ohio
Posts: 2,881
Trader Rating: 97 (100%+)
Default

where exactly will the wires exit the top of the new packs?
LOW ET is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2008, 05:07 PM   #929
Company Representative
 
Danny/SMC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Elkton, VA
Posts: 3,097
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

The wires will come out the corner and if you put them in a Sedan the wires will be outside rear of the car. The balance connector comes out with the power leads in the same corner.
Danny/SMC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2008, 05:27 PM   #930
Tech Fanatic
 
miccal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 768
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Default

I am currently researching the lipo's and have almost decided on the SMC lipos. My current charger is a Muchmore CTX-C Cellmaster, so I think I will need a new charger?

If money is no object, what charger is the best for lipo's? I know this has been asked many times, but there seems to be so many chargers out there.
miccal is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
* * * BRAND NEW * * * FTB4, SMC 5000 28c Hardcase 7.4 Lipo, JR Z8800s jpeck R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 12 10-26-2008 04:03 AM
FOR SALE: SMC 4000 28C HARDCASE LIPO'S commander Australia For Sale/Trade 4 10-20-2008 11:08 AM
SMC 4000 mah Hardcase Lipos 28C NIB rraden R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 11 09-12-2008 11:20 AM
SMC 28C 4000 hardcase lipo fred kellner R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 04-09-2008 08:31 AM
New SMC Lipos 7.4v 2s 4000 and 5000mah HardCase IOwNMkeG R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 4 03-30-2008 01:54 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:37 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net