R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-07-2008, 01:32 PM   #856
Tech Elite
 
a_main_attendee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Colorado, USA, The land of the free and the home of the brave!
Posts: 2,880
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Danny/SMC View Post
Just buy them now while the wires come out the side. It's very hard to come out with a product that will fit everyones need. The number one goal of our Lipos is to offer the lowest IR and highest average voltage. Due to all the RTRs with BL motors we have to look into top wire positioning.
Is there a possibility where the case could be slotted so the wires could be posistioned in both a top and side wire configuration, or would that eliminate the "hardcase" safety?
To me that would seem to please everybody,
But that may not be of par to what ROAR needs for safety of a hardcase lipo.
__________________
Support your local tracks!--|--e-teamhobbyplex.com--|--corrc.org--|

NNFaN Paints - Add some pride to YOUR ride.
a_main_attendee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2008, 01:37 PM   #857
Tech Champion
 
MikeXray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 5,749
Trader Rating: 73 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by a_main_attendee View Post
Is there a possibility where the case could be slotted so the wires could be posistioned in both a top and side wire configuration, or would that eliminate the "hardcase" safety?
To me that would seem to please everybody,
But that may not be of par to what ROAR needs for safety of a hardcase lipo.
You have a type-r right? the core RC fits with wires coming out of the top, I wouldn't discount that their packs won't fit in the car just yet.
__________________
Mike L. Awesomatixusa.com | TQWire.com | Islandraceway.com |JacksonRCracing.com | Horsham RC | Sweepracingusa.com
MikeXray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2008, 01:41 PM   #858
Tech Elite
 
a_main_attendee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Colorado, USA, The land of the free and the home of the brave!
Posts: 2,880
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

yeah, but i know the promatch won't fit, and they have top wires. I guess it would be a matter of finding some old configuration cells or finding somebody at the track with the new pack to let me see if it will fit.

I do understand how my car is in the minority and how top wires may be beneficial to most as well.
__________________
Support your local tracks!--|--e-teamhobbyplex.com--|--corrc.org--|

NNFaN Paints - Add some pride to YOUR ride.
a_main_attendee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2008, 02:48 PM   #859
Company Representative
 
Danny/SMC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Elkton, VA
Posts: 3,097
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Hopefully our new website will be up soon.

For anyone who needs the wires coming out the side you can buy a pack now or in the next 6 weeks or so. The wires on top will only be available in a month or so.

The problem we have is the packs are produced and assembled in one place and to have wires coming out the side or top would require extra part numbers and inventory which is not good. I think that the change we have made to have the wires on top will work for more applications than it currently does now with side wires. It's very hard to have where it works perfectly for everyone.
Danny/SMC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2008, 05:47 PM   #860
Super Moderator
 
Grizzbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Sand Springs, OK
Posts: 3,063
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Danny/SMC View Post
Hopefully our new website will be up soon.

For anyone who needs the wires coming out the side you can buy a pack now or in the next 6 weeks or so. The wires on top will only be available in a month or so.

The problem we have is the packs are produced and assembled in one place and to have wires coming out the side or top would require extra part numbers and inventory which is not good. I think that the change we have made to have the wires on top will work for more applications than it currently does now with side wires. It's very hard to have where it works perfectly for everyone.
Agreed, while I like the side-exiting wires for my application(my Tamiya 416), I have no problem with the top-exit version, I can make use of that if need be. And if that's what the majority of cars needs to make the pack an easy fit, then that's what you gotta do. It may not look as pretty with strapping tape on it, but as long as it'll still make the car run like a scalded dog, then it's fine by me....
__________________
Bob Seay
Tamiya TRF417, TA05v.2, TRF211XM, M-05ver.2R, XRAY X12, Associated B5m Factory Lite

Go Pokes!!!
Grizzbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2008, 12:52 PM   #861
Tech Regular
 
Jeff Crosson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 427
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

What cells do you guys use in your 5000 packs? Enerland, Saehan, Kokam?
Jeff Crosson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2008, 01:22 PM   #862
Tech Regular
 
keepitmovin504's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Ellicott City, MD
Posts: 476
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to keepitmovin504
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff Crosson View Post
What cells do you guys use in your 5000 packs? Enerland, Saehan, Kokam?
I dont they ever revealed that. I may be wrong though
__________________
AE T5M/B5M/B44.3
TLR SCTE 3.0
keepitmovin504 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2008, 09:01 PM   #863
Company Representative
 
Danny/SMC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Elkton, VA
Posts: 3,097
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff Crosson View Post
What cells do you guys use in your 5000 packs? Enerland, Saehan, Kokam?
We don't use any of the major Lipo manufacturers. The manufacturer we use is relatively new at making high C batteries but so far out of all the cells we have tested his cells have the lowest IR and highest average voltage.

I hope people can understand that we don't want to reveal our source as we spent allot of time and money to come out with our Lipo line. Our supplier makes the high C rate cells using the best materials exclusively for us but we still need to protect our source.
Danny/SMC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2008, 12:25 PM   #864
Tech Champion
 
STLNLST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 8,996
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Danny/SMC View Post
We don't use any of the major Lipo manufacturers. The manufacturer we use is relatively new at making high C batteries but so far out of all the cells we have tested his cells have the lowest IR and highest average voltage.

I hope people can understand that we don't want to reveal our source as we spent allot of time and money to come out with our Lipo line. Our supplier makes the high C rate cells using the best materials exclusively for us but we still need to protect our source.
Your secret is safe with me Batman.....LOL Thanks for all the help. I have the Equinox dialed in. Now all I need is some luck on my side and I should just fine for this weekend. If I'm ahead of Mo do I have to pull over before the finish line.....
STLNLST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2008, 06:52 PM   #865
mo
Tech Master
 
mo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 1,359
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by STLNLST View Post
Your secret is safe with me Batman.....LOL Thanks for all the help. I have the Equinox dialed in. Now all I need is some luck on my side and I should just fine for this weekend. If I'm ahead of Mo do I have to pull over before the finish line.....
I don't think that will be a problem after your runs today, except when I come around to lap you.
__________________
TLR, Spektrum, Tekin, SMC, MO-GRIP, www.factory-rc.com https://www.shapeways.com/shops/MPP
mo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2008, 08:06 AM   #866
Tech Champion
 
STLNLST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 8,996
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mo View Post
I don't think that will be a problem after your runs today, except when I come around to lap you.
You got lucky. I was testing Still bummed about the radio though. I have no clue what the problem could be now other than the spektrums for KO have a glitch. C-ya in about an hour.
STLNLST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2008, 01:06 PM   #867
Tech Elite
 
DavidAlford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 4,151
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to DavidAlford
Default

Any new word on the release date for the saddle packs?
DavidAlford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2008, 01:10 PM   #868
Company Representative
 
Danny/SMC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Elkton, VA
Posts: 3,097
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Today were starting to ship out our new 3200/28C/7.4V pack. This new pack comes in the same casing as our 4000 pack and retails for 135.00. This pack uses the same materials as our 4000 and 5000 packs so the IR and voltage is very good. We were asked to release this pack as the 21.5 ROAR Oval class has a 3200 mAh limit.

Here are the numbers of a random pack cycled at 35 amps. 334 seconds , 7.28 average voltage and 7.9 IR.


Saddle pack samples are in and I have sent out a pack to a racer to test the fit and wire length. As soon as we know that the fit is o.k. we will go into production. The pack will be rated at 4900/22C and will come with 10 gauge wire to keep the resistance as low as possible. The dimensions are H 25mm x L 67mm x 45mm.

The pack I tested at 35 amps has 515 seconds , 7.34 average voltage and 7.2 IR. I think this is pretty good especially when you consider the length of the jumper wire.
Danny/SMC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2008, 10:56 PM   #869
Tech Champion
 
Still Bill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 7,234
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Hi Danny,

Will the new SMC 5000 packs with the wires coming out of the top be available in time for the IIC? Thanks.

Bill
__________________
Constantly evolving CRC WGT and WGT-R/T...Carpet & Asphalt...All thanks to Team CRC.

And a pair of Associated B6 buggies for turf and clay tracks.
Still Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2008, 03:19 AM   #870
Tech Initiate
 
riccardo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: italy
Posts: 23
Send a message via MSN to riccardo
Default

for Danny : who sell SMC lipo in europe?

many US seller do not ship oversea.
riccardo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
* * * BRAND NEW * * * FTB4, SMC 5000 28c Hardcase 7.4 Lipo, JR Z8800s jpeck R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 12 10-26-2008 04:03 AM
FOR SALE: SMC 4000 28C HARDCASE LIPO'S commander Australia For Sale/Trade 4 10-20-2008 11:08 AM
SMC 4000 mah Hardcase Lipos 28C NIB rraden R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 11 09-12-2008 11:20 AM
SMC 28C 4000 hardcase lipo fred kellner R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 04-09-2008 08:31 AM
New SMC Lipos 7.4v 2s 4000 and 5000mah HardCase IOwNMkeG R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 4 03-30-2008 01:54 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:03 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net