Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
SMC 28C 4000/5000 Hardcase Lipo part 2 > SMC 28C 4000/5000 Hardcase Lipo part 2

SMC 28C 4000/5000 Hardcase Lipo part 2

Reply

Old 04-15-2008, 03:38 AM
  #556  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
JimmyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: NC
Posts: 4,446
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by JimmyMac View Post
I have several runs on both my packs.

On the box,
Pack 1;
415 seconds 7.34v
4034 mAh 7.1 IR

Pack 2;
409 seconds 7.35v
3976 mAh 7.2 IR

Last nights cycle was,

Pack 1;
422 seconds 7.32v
4102 mAh 7.5 IR

Pack 2;
416 seconds 7.33v
4044 mAh 7.5 IR

I will cycle them again tonight and post my numbers. I'm gonna keep track of them every week and post up my numbers. See how things come out over the next several months. I am using a GFX lipo edition with 2.90 software. 35amp discharge with 4amp charge (4000mAh setting) and 180 seconds cool down. I discharge the pack down to 6v before the Cycle starts. No pack warming. All done at room temperature for the Cycle readings to keep consistency.
Originally Posted by JimmyMac View Post
Here is my cycle tonight. I'll cycle again next week after race day.

Pack 1;
420 seconds 7.34v
4083 mAh 7.2 IR

Pack 2;
416 seconds 7.33v
4044 mAh 7.2 IR
Here is my cycle after Sunday's trophy race. This race day I was charging at 12amps. When I got home, I of course went back to 1C at 4amp or 4000 mAh charge for the cycle. Previous race charges were at 8amp. And of course at 1C for the cycle.

Pack 1;
417 seconds 7.35v
4054 mAh 7.2 IR

Pack 2;
413 seconds 7.35v
4015 mAh 7.1 IR

Back again next weekend after another trophy race out of state in Arkansas (Nats track). I'll continue the 12amp charge and see what comes of it.
JimmyMac is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2008, 07:04 AM
  #557  
mo
Tech Master
iTrader: (7)
 
mo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 1,362
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by NUCRPTRACER View Post
What balancer do you use w/these packs....sorry new to lipo
I'm using the Astroflight Blinky.
mo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2008, 07:11 AM
  #558  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (50)
 
TimNJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 947
Trader Rating: 50 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Danny/SMC View Post
I have never balanced my packs but it may be a good thing to do as the theory behind balancing is really good. Plus a balancer isn't expensive. The ElectriFly Equinox from Great Planes will work with our connector and so will the Astroflight Blinky.

Please let us know how you like our new pack.
Hi Danny,
I'm new to the forum and I'm interested in purchasing 1 each of the 5028LD and the 4028LD LiPo packs and have another balancer related question. I already have a Team Checkpoint LiPo balancer, which appears to have the same plug configuration as the Electrifly Equinox balancer. Would I be able to simply purchase the $15 Electrifly adapter plug to go from my Checkpoint balancer into your LiPo packs? The two adapters I had in mind are:
http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXNGC4&P=V
and
http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXSEK4&P=V

Thank you in advance for any help you can offer.

Tim
TimNJ is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2008, 09:39 AM
  #559  
Company Representative
Thread Starter
iTrader: (2)
 
Danny/SMC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Elkton, VA
Posts: 3,097
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

It looks like a copy of the Equinox with a different adapter. I would purchase the Equinox adapters and when you plug the pack into the balancer you should see 2 leds blink for a few seconds which indicates that everything is o.k..
Danny/SMC is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2008, 10:03 AM
  #560  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (32)
 
syndr0me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 13,189
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by TimNJ View Post
Hi Danny,
I'm new to the forum and I'm interested in purchasing 1 each of the 5028LD and the 4028LD LiPo packs and have another balancer related question. I already have a Team Checkpoint LiPo balancer, which appears to have the same plug configuration as the Electrifly Equinox balancer. Would I be able to simply purchase the $15 Electrifly adapter plug to go from my Checkpoint balancer into your LiPo packs? The two adapters I had in mind are:
http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXNGC4&P=V
and
http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXSEK4&P=V

Thank you in advance for any help you can offer.

Tim
That balancer appears to be an OEM of the Hyperion LBA6, like just about every other balancer on the market (Orion, Checkpoint, TrakPower, etc.) Between the different OEM brands, you should be able to find any adapter you could ever want.
syndr0me is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2008, 10:56 AM
  #561  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (50)
 
TimNJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 947
Trader Rating: 50 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Danny/SMC View Post
It looks like a copy of the Equinox with a different adapter. I would purchase the Equinox adapters and when you plug the pack into the balancer you should see 2 leds blink for a few seconds which indicates that everything is o.k..
Danny & Syndrome,
Thanks, guys. That's what I was thinking. Same balancer just with different packaging and brand name. I just wanted to run it by the experts first, to be absolutely sure. Thanks again.

Tim
TimNJ is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2008, 11:10 AM
  #562  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (42)
 
John Tag's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Huntersville, NC
Posts: 8,925
Trader Rating: 42 (100%+)
Default

Danny.. Give me a call asap..THX..
John Tag is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2008, 09:51 AM
  #563  
Company Representative
Thread Starter
iTrader: (2)
 
Danny/SMC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Elkton, VA
Posts: 3,097
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

John- Email me your phone number as I can't seem to find it.
Danny/SMC is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2008, 02:31 PM
  #564  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 396
Default

Sorry everybody but I have an off topic question for Danny.

I want to use my original 5000 packs I used all winter for my starter box now that the outdoor season is starting. I want to use them up so I can get new electric racing packs in the fall.

Any thoughts if this will work?


Ted
Ted Flack is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2008, 06:10 PM
  #565  
Company Representative
Thread Starter
iTrader: (2)
 
Danny/SMC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Elkton, VA
Posts: 3,097
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Yes that should work but I think you need to put them in series to double the voltage as I think starter box motors need more than 7.4volts. Make sure that 14.8 is not to much for the motor.

If you put them in series you will need to charge them as 4S pack so make sure your charger is set at 4 cells.
Danny/SMC is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2008, 06:55 PM
  #566  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 396
Default

Yes they need to be in series, I use two 3800 stick packs now. But, the Lipo's will be more voltage than two NiMh.

I charge each pack separately.

I guess I will give it a go and see if smoke comes out of the box instead of the exhaust!

Thanks
Ted Flack is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2008, 09:27 PM
  #567  
Super Moderator
iTrader: (2)
 
Grizzbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Sand Springs, OK
Posts: 3,063
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Ted Flack View Post
Yes they need to be in series, I use two 3800 stick packs now. But, the Lipo's will be more voltage than two NiMh.

I charge each pack separately.

I guess I will give it a go and see if smoke comes out of the box instead of the exhaust!

Thanks
You might also wanna check out the most recent issue of RC Driver, I believe it has an article going through exactly that(switching out a lead acid or gel cell battery in a starter box for 2 LiPos or one 4S pack), might make it easier to visualize.....
Grizzbob is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2008, 05:44 AM
  #568  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (245)
 
Scottrik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Billings, MT
Posts: 6,216
Trader Rating: 245 (100%+)
Default

Hey Danny,

There's been a brief discussion re: saddle pack heights at http://www.rctech.net/forum/showthre...=1#post4368908

It seems the Track Power saddle pack has come in at about 30mm high which is, apparently, too tall for some of the more common applications (B44, etc). I know you'd indicated you were working on saddle pack--this might be something to keep your eye on rather than mimmicking the Track Power dimension (or, it sounds like, even close to them).

Just a heads up. I'd sure like the SMC saddle to fit my DB10R if at all possible...
Scottrik is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2008, 10:24 PM
  #569  
Super Moderator
iTrader: (2)
 
Grizzbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Sand Springs, OK
Posts: 3,063
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by fire929 View Post
Will the 5000 pack fit the TA05MS or is the 4000 a better fit???
Well, looks like the 4000 would be your best bet. My friend brought his MS with him today, so I tried a test fitting with my 5000, & while it just BARELY clears the upper deck(but it's a squeeze, not sure if it might tweak the chassis when running), it bumps into the aluminum standoffs that connect the lower & upper decks, pushed in as far as it would go, I could see about 3.5mm of the battery slots still exposed(because the 5000 couldn't sit far enough in to cover tham) & it was kinda hanging off the very end of the chassis(just barely). So I don't think it'd be worth trying to shoehorn the 5000 in there....
Grizzbob is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2008, 09:56 AM
  #570  
Company Representative
Thread Starter
iTrader: (2)
 
Danny/SMC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Elkton, VA
Posts: 3,097
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I finally got a serial adapter that allows me to capture the data from my Lipo T35GFX. Here is a graph of our 28C 4000 and 5000. At 121 seconds you will see an increase in voltage which is normal as this is when the GFX tests for IR.

The 4000 cycled out at 430 seconds - 7.35 voltage and 7.5 IR

The 5000 cycled out at 530 - 7.39 - 6.2
Attached Thumbnails SMC 28C 4000/5000 Hardcase Lipo part 2-smc-28c-lipos.jpg  
Danny/SMC is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Terms of Service