R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-15-2008, 04:38 AM   #556
Tech Elite
 
JimmyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: NC
Posts: 4,443
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JimmyMac View Post
I have several runs on both my packs.

On the box,
Pack 1;
415 seconds 7.34v
4034 mAh 7.1 IR

Pack 2;
409 seconds 7.35v
3976 mAh 7.2 IR

Last nights cycle was,

Pack 1;
422 seconds 7.32v
4102 mAh 7.5 IR

Pack 2;
416 seconds 7.33v
4044 mAh 7.5 IR

I will cycle them again tonight and post my numbers. I'm gonna keep track of them every week and post up my numbers. See how things come out over the next several months. I am using a GFX lipo edition with 2.90 software. 35amp discharge with 4amp charge (4000mAh setting) and 180 seconds cool down. I discharge the pack down to 6v before the Cycle starts. No pack warming. All done at room temperature for the Cycle readings to keep consistency.
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimmyMac View Post
Here is my cycle tonight. I'll cycle again next week after race day.

Pack 1;
420 seconds 7.34v
4083 mAh 7.2 IR

Pack 2;
416 seconds 7.33v
4044 mAh 7.2 IR
Here is my cycle after Sunday's trophy race. This race day I was charging at 12amps. When I got home, I of course went back to 1C at 4amp or 4000 mAh charge for the cycle. Previous race charges were at 8amp. And of course at 1C for the cycle.

Pack 1;
417 seconds 7.35v
4054 mAh 7.2 IR

Pack 2;
413 seconds 7.35v
4015 mAh 7.1 IR

Back again next weekend after another trophy race out of state in Arkansas (Nats track). I'll continue the 12amp charge and see what comes of it.
__________________
M.J. McIntyre

Yokomo YRX12
Tamiya TB03
JimmyMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2008, 08:04 AM   #557
mo
Tech Master
 
mo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 1,359
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NUCRPTRACER View Post
What balancer do you use w/these packs....sorry new to lipo
I'm using the Astroflight Blinky.
__________________
TLR, Spektrum, Tekin, SMC, MO-GRIP, www.factory-rc.com https://www.shapeways.com/shops/MPP
mo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2008, 08:11 AM   #558
Tech Fanatic
 
TimNJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 947
Trader Rating: 50 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Danny/SMC View Post
I have never balanced my packs but it may be a good thing to do as the theory behind balancing is really good. Plus a balancer isn't expensive. The ElectriFly Equinox from Great Planes will work with our connector and so will the Astroflight Blinky.

Please let us know how you like our new pack.
Hi Danny,
I'm new to the forum and I'm interested in purchasing 1 each of the 5028LD and the 4028LD LiPo packs and have another balancer related question. I already have a Team Checkpoint LiPo balancer, which appears to have the same plug configuration as the Electrifly Equinox balancer. Would I be able to simply purchase the $15 Electrifly adapter plug to go from my Checkpoint balancer into your LiPo packs? The two adapters I had in mind are:
http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXNGC4&P=V
and
http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXSEK4&P=V

Thank you in advance for any help you can offer.

Tim
TimNJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2008, 10:39 AM   #559
Company Representative
 
Danny/SMC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Elkton, VA
Posts: 3,097
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

It looks like a copy of the Equinox with a different adapter. I would purchase the Equinox adapters and when you plug the pack into the balancer you should see 2 leds blink for a few seconds which indicates that everything is o.k..
Danny/SMC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2008, 11:03 AM   #560
Tech Lord
 
syndr0me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 13,140
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TimNJ View Post
Hi Danny,
I'm new to the forum and I'm interested in purchasing 1 each of the 5028LD and the 4028LD LiPo packs and have another balancer related question. I already have a Team Checkpoint LiPo balancer, which appears to have the same plug configuration as the Electrifly Equinox balancer. Would I be able to simply purchase the $15 Electrifly adapter plug to go from my Checkpoint balancer into your LiPo packs? The two adapters I had in mind are:
http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXNGC4&P=V
and
http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXSEK4&P=V

Thank you in advance for any help you can offer.

Tim
That balancer appears to be an OEM of the Hyperion LBA6, like just about every other balancer on the market (Orion, Checkpoint, TrakPower, etc.) Between the different OEM brands, you should be able to find any adapter you could ever want.
syndr0me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2008, 11:56 AM   #561
Tech Fanatic
 
TimNJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 947
Trader Rating: 50 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Danny/SMC View Post
It looks like a copy of the Equinox with a different adapter. I would purchase the Equinox adapters and when you plug the pack into the balancer you should see 2 leds blink for a few seconds which indicates that everything is o.k..
Danny & Syndrome,
Thanks, guys. That's what I was thinking. Same balancer just with different packaging and brand name. I just wanted to run it by the experts first, to be absolutely sure. Thanks again.

Tim
TimNJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2008, 12:10 PM   #562
Tech Champion
 
John Tag's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Huntersville, NC
Posts: 8,925
Trader Rating: 42 (100%+)
Default

Danny.. Give me a call asap..THX..
__________________
www.express-motorsports.net for all your motor needs
Multi time National Champions,Reedy Champs,Vegas Champs,Birds, Champs,[email protected]

Team Associated-Express Motorsports-Trinity-Reflex Racing-A Main Hobbies-ProtekRC
John Tag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2008, 10:51 AM   #563
Company Representative
 
Danny/SMC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Elkton, VA
Posts: 3,097
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

John- Email me your phone number as I can't seem to find it.
Danny/SMC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2008, 03:31 PM   #564
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 396
Default

Sorry everybody but I have an off topic question for Danny.

I want to use my original 5000 packs I used all winter for my starter box now that the outdoor season is starting. I want to use them up so I can get new electric racing packs in the fall.

Any thoughts if this will work?


Ted
Ted Flack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2008, 07:10 PM   #565
Company Representative
 
Danny/SMC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Elkton, VA
Posts: 3,097
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Yes that should work but I think you need to put them in series to double the voltage as I think starter box motors need more than 7.4volts. Make sure that 14.8 is not to much for the motor.

If you put them in series you will need to charge them as 4S pack so make sure your charger is set at 4 cells.
Danny/SMC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2008, 07:55 PM   #566
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 396
Default

Yes they need to be in series, I use two 3800 stick packs now. But, the Lipo's will be more voltage than two NiMh.

I charge each pack separately.

I guess I will give it a go and see if smoke comes out of the box instead of the exhaust!

Thanks
Ted Flack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2008, 10:27 PM   #567
Super Moderator
 
Grizzbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Sand Springs, OK
Posts: 3,063
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ted Flack View Post
Yes they need to be in series, I use two 3800 stick packs now. But, the Lipo's will be more voltage than two NiMh.

I charge each pack separately.

I guess I will give it a go and see if smoke comes out of the box instead of the exhaust!

Thanks
You might also wanna check out the most recent issue of RC Driver, I believe it has an article going through exactly that(switching out a lead acid or gel cell battery in a starter box for 2 LiPos or one 4S pack), might make it easier to visualize.....
__________________
Bob Seay
Tamiya TRF417, TA05v.2, TRF211XM, M-05ver.2R, XRAY X12, Associated B5m Factory Lite

Go Pokes!!!
Grizzbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2008, 06:44 AM   #568
Tech Champion
 
Scottrik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Billings, MT
Posts: 6,212
Trader Rating: 245 (100%+)
Default

Hey Danny,

There's been a brief discussion re: saddle pack heights at http://www.rctech.net/forum/showthre...=1#post4368908

It seems the Track Power saddle pack has come in at about 30mm high which is, apparently, too tall for some of the more common applications (B44, etc). I know you'd indicated you were working on saddle pack--this might be something to keep your eye on rather than mimmicking the Track Power dimension (or, it sounds like, even close to them).

Just a heads up. I'd sure like the SMC saddle to fit my DB10R if at all possible...
__________________
Congressmen should wear uniforms like NASCAR drivers so we can identify their corporate sponsors.

THE REVOLUTION WILL NOT BE TELEVISED -Gil Scott-Heron (1949-2011)
Scottrik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2008, 11:24 PM   #569
Super Moderator
 
Grizzbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Sand Springs, OK
Posts: 3,063
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fire929 View Post
Will the 5000 pack fit the TA05MS or is the 4000 a better fit???
Well, looks like the 4000 would be your best bet. My friend brought his MS with him today, so I tried a test fitting with my 5000, & while it just BARELY clears the upper deck(but it's a squeeze, not sure if it might tweak the chassis when running), it bumps into the aluminum standoffs that connect the lower & upper decks, pushed in as far as it would go, I could see about 3.5mm of the battery slots still exposed(because the 5000 couldn't sit far enough in to cover tham) & it was kinda hanging off the very end of the chassis(just barely). So I don't think it'd be worth trying to shoehorn the 5000 in there....
__________________
Bob Seay
Tamiya TRF417, TA05v.2, TRF211XM, M-05ver.2R, XRAY X12, Associated B5m Factory Lite

Go Pokes!!!
Grizzbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2008, 10:56 AM   #570
Company Representative
 
Danny/SMC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Elkton, VA
Posts: 3,097
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I finally got a serial adapter that allows me to capture the data from my Lipo T35GFX. Here is a graph of our 28C 4000 and 5000. At 121 seconds you will see an increase in voltage which is normal as this is when the GFX tests for IR.

The 4000 cycled out at 430 seconds - 7.35 voltage and 7.5 IR

The 5000 cycled out at 530 - 7.39 - 6.2
Attached Thumbnails
SMC 28C 4000/5000 Hardcase Lipo part 2-smc-28c-lipos.jpg  
Danny/SMC is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
* * * BRAND NEW * * * FTB4, SMC 5000 28c Hardcase 7.4 Lipo, JR Z8800s jpeck R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 12 10-26-2008 04:03 AM
FOR SALE: SMC 4000 28C HARDCASE LIPO'S commander Australia For Sale/Trade 4 10-20-2008 11:08 AM
SMC 4000 mah Hardcase Lipos 28C NIB rraden R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 11 09-12-2008 11:20 AM
SMC 28C 4000 hardcase lipo fred kellner R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 04-09-2008 08:31 AM
New SMC Lipos 7.4v 2s 4000 and 5000mah HardCase IOwNMkeG R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 4 03-30-2008 01:54 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:20 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net