R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-30-2003, 09:57 AM   #16
Tech Master
 
johnbull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Malta. G.C.
Posts: 1,762
Default

Highwayman.

I know that my old Protrak only discharged at 20 amps as you say, but on the new revised version that Phil sent me the discharge rate is variable.

I can't remember how high it actually goes, but I know it will discharge at 30 because I have frequently used it that way.

Go into set up. Scroll down, and you will find discharge rate. Adjust to whatever rate you fancy.

Good luck.

Regards

Joe from sunny Malta.
johnbull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2003, 12:11 PM   #17
dtm
Tech Champion
 
dtm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: HKG
Posts: 7,551
Send a message via ICQ to dtm
Default

Joe, The unit will still only discharge at 20A but "calculate" new figures based on 30A. My old unit use to do that too.
dtm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2003, 03:29 PM   #18
Tech Adept
 
big_G's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: NE England
Posts: 139
Default Pro-trak

I've used a pro-trak for a lot of years now and alongside an old CE for a while. For me it has to be Pro-Trak.
Discharge is max 20a but it will 'calculate' 30a figures if you want it to.
As many have said on here - the Service and back-up are excellent.
Try calling CE and ask to speak to the person who builds and programmes the chargers
And, as Joe has said, he is also a fellow racer!
big_G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2003, 04:33 PM   #19
Tech Elite
 
Neil Rabara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Lone Star
Posts: 4,821
Default

I haven't had problems with my CE. For the money I paid for it, I intend to make it last.
Neil Rabara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2003, 02:23 PM   #20
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 5
Thumbs up

Pro-Traks now come with cool-blue LCD display's

You can see it here [Pro-Trak]
Glenn Atterton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2003, 05:10 PM   #21
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: springfield, va
Posts: 181
Default Re: Pro-trak

Quote:
Originally posted by big_G
Try calling CE and ask to speak to the person who builds and programmes the chargers
not sure who builds ce chargers, but anyone can call ce and talk to the guy that designed the things. i have. nice fellow =]

i wouldn't be surprised if jim has other people on a design team besides just him - but still nice to be able to talk to the person that owns the company.

unless i'm missin something !
dae_paresh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2003, 05:13 PM   #22
Tech Regular
 
Gazza_D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Bath, England
Posts: 327
Send a message via Yahoo to Gazza_D
Default

You can call ProTrak and speak to Phil anytime, very knowledgeable and friendly too. Although you guys from across the pond may have trouble with the Geordie twang
Gazza_D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2003, 05:13 PM   #23
Tech Adept
 
JR V's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: NH
Posts: 222
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Can you dial up Phil @ protrak from the charger itself? That charger looks like a cheap phone pad mounted to the front!
JR V is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2003, 05:16 PM   #24
Tech Regular
 
Gazza_D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Bath, England
Posts: 327
Send a message via Yahoo to Gazza_D
Default

It does eveything else...except for making the tea, but i bet Phil could get it to do that with few modifications
Gazza_D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2003, 08:35 AM   #25
Tech Master
 
picco007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: TX.
Posts: 1,814
Trader Rating: 91 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to picco007 Send a message via Yahoo to picco007
Default Protrak and CE GFX

I have been lucky enough to have both at this time. You can't go wrong with either one of them. Phil at Protrak is great and Jim at CE is great too. It is a matter of personal preference. Phil just sent me an upgraded eprom which is cool and I have to send in my gfx to get it upgraded to the next version after 1.30. So it's your pick.......I like both and would not give either one up....

Ronnie
picco007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2003, 10:08 AM   #26
Tech Adept
 
slowhand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Home
Posts: 228
Send a message via ICQ to slowhand
Default

both are good top of the line chargers. Only some really good world class drivers could really tell the subtle differences between the two. I am not a world class driver, that's for sure, but I could share some information received from some world class drivers who have been using both chargers, as well as a few other chargers.

GFX would give you more "punch" feeling from your matched pack, whereas, ProTrak would give a significant more run time/ capacity. Again, this could only be experienced by a really good driver. For us average drivers, both are just as good.

In Japan, many factory drivers prefer to use ProTrak.

I have attached a pix from Satoshi Maezumi's pit table showing his cool ProTrak from last weekend Reedy Asia
Attached Images
File Type: jpg reedy03_satoshi_protrak.jpg (7.7 KB, 211 views)
slowhand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2003, 04:33 PM   #27
Tech Elite
 
mike_Webb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: SOMEWHERE OVER THE RAINBOW
Posts: 3,128
Send a message via AIM to mike_Webb
Default

What is the most current version for the GFX Charger?
mike_Webb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2003, 05:01 PM   #28
Tech Elite
 
JusBox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central VA
Posts: 2,170
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Well for 346 shipped, the protrak is a great choice.
JusBox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2003, 05:03 PM   #29
Tech Master
 
cHckbOY5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 1,057
Send a message via AIM to cHckbOY5
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by AWOLsoldier
Well for 346 shipped, the protrak is a great choice.
where at?
which one is easier to use between the two?
cHckbOY5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2003, 05:36 PM   #30
Tech Elite
 
Herminator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: England
Posts: 2,280
Send a message via ICQ to Herminator
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by cHckbOY5
where at?
which one is easier to use between the two?
You're best to buy the Pro-Trak direct, that way you know you'll get the latest version at the best price
Never used a GFX but I'd say the Pro Trak is very easy to use, you can use most of the normal options by simply holding the right number key for a couple of seconds, the righting the the right of the keypad tells you what to hold, like 3 is repeak, etc.
Just pressing the numbered keys does other things more based around changing settings, like 5 for charge amps when in the middle of charging. This list of options is on the left of the keypad.
Then there is the usual option of scrolling through all the options and settings using the * 0 # keys at the bottom.
Herminator is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Trak NismoSkyline17 Electric On-Road 520 11-09-2009 08:33 AM
Charger CE Turbo 35 gfx or Pro Trak acutts Electric On-Road 4 01-23-2006 11:30 AM
Pro-Trak BMS Glenn Atterton R/C Tech Site Forum 1 11-21-2003 11:26 AM
Pro-Trak Is The Best CRASH Electric On-Road 5 04-13-2002 06:36 PM
Pro-Trak CRASH Electric On-Road 38 03-15-2002 10:30 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:58 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net