R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-04-2009, 10:19 AM   #1096
Tech Adept
 
Mike Mandio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Newark, Delaware
Posts: 155
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by level-4 View Post
if anyone is interested i have a DB 10r roller for sale, just found out my local track is not running on road this year. PM me if interested.
PM sent.
Mike Mandio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2009, 03:41 AM   #1097
Tech Addict
 
radio_car_racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 543
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

GT10 / LiPo v NiMh

Picture shows lap times between to GT10's raced at R1 of the Nitroflight Challenge at Stocksbridge RC in the UK.

This was the first time we ran together head to head on the track in leg 2 of the A final.

I ran a BMI DB10R on NiMh, 10.5 Nosram on 57.7mmpr & 1040 grams

Jason the Speedmerchant on LiPo

Alan was CRC SMC 4900 lipo with a GM 10.5T geared at 63.2mm/rev 1028grms

others I can't comment on

NiMh had the punch & speed out of the corners and the straight. Out of the corner of the eye I could see the LiPo car looked to be a lot nimbler throught the twisty section but cars looked even on the more open corners.

My long lap was when I was sucked into the corner due to following Jason to close. After that I gave it the berries and you can just see I was marginally quicker chasing him down. Planned to follow him a little longer then leap past a little later. In the end Jason won by 0.5s.
Attached Thumbnails
BMI DB10R!!!-nimh-v-lipo.jpg  

Last edited by radio_car_racer; 10-06-2009 at 10:51 AM.
radio_car_racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2009, 09:38 AM   #1098
Tech Addict
 
Phoenix82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 576
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default bmi

Looking for a good used BMI, if anybody has one for sale or knows. please email me, [email protected]

Nick
Phoenix82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2009, 10:53 PM   #1099
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phoenix82 View Post
Looking for a good used BMI, if anybody has one for sale or knows. please email me, [email protected]

Nick
Sent you an e-mail.
omegaone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2009, 06:22 AM   #1100
Tech Addict
 
radio_car_racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 543
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Here's my DB10R minus shell.

Got a couple of mods to do and then I've a full on test driver booked to run it in prepartion for R2 at the Nitroflight Challenge here in the UK

Last edited by radio_car_racer; 10-12-2009 at 08:01 AM.
radio_car_racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2009, 07:22 AM   #1101
V12
Tech Elite
 
V12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 2,641
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

That link doesn´t work.
V12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2009, 08:02 AM   #1102
Tech Addict
 
radio_car_racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 543
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by V12 View Post
That link doesn´t work.
should now as I forgot to make it public
radio_car_racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2009, 06:55 AM   #1103
Tech Addict
 
radio_car_racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 543
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by radio_car_racer View Post
Finally got to run the car on Sunday 27th Sept at NERCR meeting in Jarrow UK
couple of videos on you from club member Mike West

my DB10R is the silver one on 4 cell, & 10.5

orange car was on 4 cell 19T

+ YouTube Video
ERROR: If you can see this, then YouTube is down or you don't have Flash installed.


+ YouTube Video
ERROR: If you can see this, then YouTube is down or you don't have Flash installed.


and just so Mike doesn't feel left out this is his TC / white/yellow & blue one

+ YouTube Video
ERROR: If you can see this, then YouTube is down or you don't have Flash installed.

Last edited by radio_car_racer; 10-14-2009 at 07:47 AM.
radio_car_racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2009, 12:19 PM   #1104
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Hawaii, USA
Posts: 7,186
Default

What are you guys using for track barriers there? Looks like rope or something.
InspGadgt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2009, 12:35 PM   #1105
V12
Tech Elite
 
V12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 2,641
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I think they are using old firehoses maybe sandfilled.
V12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2009, 12:40 PM   #1106
Tech Addict
 
radio_car_racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 543
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by V12 View Post
I think they are using old firehoses maybe sandfilled.
Wrong


Quote:
Originally Posted by InspGadgt View Post
What are you guys using for track barriers there? Looks like rope or something.
correct

shipping rope
radio_car_racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2009, 04:02 PM   #1107
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 762
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

Jason

I read somewere you use this lube on your WGT car . They dont have the complete set . But they have individual bottles . Which would you get ?. This is for my WGT car .

http://www.lefthander-rc.com/catalog...oducts_id=1031

Last edited by hippie; 10-15-2009 at 04:14 PM.
hippie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2009, 03:30 AM   #1108
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Bedfordshire UK
Posts: 106
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hippie View Post
Jason

I read somewere you use this lube on your WGT car . They dont have the complete set . But they have individual bottles . Which would you get ?. This is for my WGT car .

http://www.lefthander-rc.com/catalog...oducts_id=1031
I've never needed to go any higher than #4

Jason
jasonb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2009, 11:50 AM   #1109
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 148
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Hi, I need some advice.
My DB10R goes straight when I accelerate, but when I brake, it does not keep straight and it goes on the side. What may be wrong? Thanks.
jawa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2009, 06:04 AM   #1110
Tech Master
 
2wdrive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,316
Default

In the manual it says to ream the spindle block to 1/8 inch so the kingpin moves freely but why would i want to have a kingpin that can move freely in the spindle block? Normally i just put the kingpin straight in without reaming the block even though sometimes it is a tight fit it always goes in? Does the DB10 come with different kingpins?

Also i heard the new batch of cars come with a longer kingpin and that you have to shim more? Was the one provided a 1/12 kingpin and now it comes with a 1/10 kingpin? Just curious.
2wdrive is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
db10r for sale j manikis R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 19 06-25-2008 05:25 AM
BRAND NEW, never ran BMI DB10R 74VWTECH R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 6 06-24-2008 03:05 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:31 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net