Wiki Posts
Search

New to the forum, and RC cars.

Search this Thread

Old 02-07-2008, 05:33 PM
Tech Rookie

Default New to the forum, and RC cars.

Figured I post up an intro thread since I just join

My name is Sean, and I'm a 23 year old mechanical engineering student. RC's cars always kinda caught my eye but I never actually made the plunge until recently. I do some casual racing with my real car at local auto crosses and after seeing the tunability of my roomates car I went out and bought one. Its my first RC car (other then the radio shack specials I had as a kid) and I'm still learning quiet a bit...Feel free to post up any words of wisdom

If this is anything like other car forums Ive been on I figure I better post pictures.

HPI Sprint 2 Sport RTR kit

Since the picture I upgraded the motor to a Team Orion 15T Formula 2 Pro BB, much quicker

I also have a one way front diff coming tomorrow.

Next thing I want to buy is a slightly better battery charger. The one I have now takes forever and only goes up to 2.5A (any recommendations for $40-50 NiMH charges would be appreciated)

The real car is a 92 Nissan 240sx, coil over suspension, solid tie rod end links with bump steer adjustment, adjustable front and rear sway bars, OEM Helical limited slip from S15, B&M short shifter, SS brakelines with hawk HPS pads, front bushings replaced with energy suspension polyurethane, and cusco solid motor mounts.

Old 02-07-2008, 05:58 PM
Tech Adept

Welcome to RC, Sean. Have patience, stick with it, and you will be rewarded with good times and new friends.
Old 02-07-2008, 06:05 PM
Tech Adept

Welcome to RC, Sean. Have patience, stick with it, and you will be rewarded with good times and new friends.
Old 02-07-2008, 07:25 PM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)

Welcome, Im an rc racer who is gonna start autoX in the summer. Looks like were the opposites.
Old 02-07-2008, 08:11 PM
Tech Rookie

Originally Posted by KHoff7