R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-24-2003, 06:43 AM   #1
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Canada.
Posts: 484
Default Difference between 766 and 767 brush.

Same as topic, what is the difference between those 2 reedy brushes?

Thanks.
rcpilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2003, 08:04 AM   #2
Tech Regular
 
gazza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 355
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

The 767's are a high silver content brush, though not as high as a putnam green shunt or trinity's 'e' brush. The 766 is a very soft brush with little if any silver in it. This brush is more of a torque compound, whereas the 767, putnam, e brush are more rpm-ish.

Hope this helps.
gazza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2003, 08:20 AM   #3
Tech Prophet
 
Randy Caster's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Costa Mesa, CA
Posts: 16,675
Trader Rating: 46 (100%+)
Default

Is the 767 Reedy's highest silver content brush?
Randy Caster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2003, 08:37 AM   #4
Tech Regular
 
gazza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 355
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Reedy has a new brush called the 728 that has a very high silver content, but I think it was meant for the Kr series of mod motors with the larger comm. Don't know how it would work on a stock motor though.
gazza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2003, 09:05 AM   #5
Moderator
 
StephenSobottka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 3,267
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to StephenSobottka
Default

time to try it out today then, ill let u know
__________________
~~Stephen Sobottka~~
SMC Racing
StephenSobottka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2003, 09:08 AM   #6
Tech Prophet
 
Randy Caster's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Costa Mesa, CA
Posts: 16,675
Trader Rating: 46 (100%+)
Default

Good thing, I am running the Kr series motors. I change the brushes after every run, so it doesnt really matter to me how fast they depleat, just trying to get the most power.
Randy Caster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2003, 09:13 AM   #7
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Canada.
Posts: 484
Default

Yeah I'm running the Kryptons aswell and noticed on most of Ae set-up sheets they runn 766's with the kr.
rcpilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2003, 09:37 AM   #8
Moderator
 
StephenSobottka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 3,267
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to StephenSobottka
Default

u got it randman
__________________
~~Stephen Sobottka~~
SMC Racing
StephenSobottka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2003, 12:12 PM   #9
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 303
Default

The 728 is a standup brush, it was designed for use in 4 cell mod applications, where wear is less, so you can get away with a high silver brush.
RC Paperboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2003, 02:57 PM   #10
Tech Regular
 
gazza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 355
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Yeah thats right, but you could toss them on a brush contouring tool to convert them to a laydown configuration.
gazza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2003, 01:35 AM   #11
Tech Regular
 
Mr. MR4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Malta, EU
Posts: 297
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Hi All,

The Krypton Motors do not like silver brushes. If you dont want to change brushes every run use the 766 brush.

I also tried out the Orion Silver Laydown brush which gave much better performance, but had to change brushes every run.
Mr. MR4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2003, 01:45 AM   #12
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 974
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Johnnytc3
Default

sorry guys if this sounds stupid, the krypton uses stock style brushes??
Johnnytc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2003, 02:20 AM   #13
Tech Regular
 
Mr. MR4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Malta, EU
Posts: 297
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

JohnnyTC3,

Yes the Kr uses laydown brushes (Stock Style)
Mr. MR4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2003, 12:20 AM   #14
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Bay Area, California
Posts: 17
Default

So talking about brushes, which ones do you recomend to replace the stock brushes that comes with the Orion ORbital Motors cuz i change them this week after a week of use and now the motor runs like crap, and overheats a lot.
SubaruWRC is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trinity Tru Lathe 3 with Diamond bit/Trinity Brush Station/ Putnam brush driller Brian Anthony R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 10 05-28-2008 08:01 AM
Brush slotter, GT7, Pulsar 2, Comm drops, and Fussy brush serrator and shaper bigdog xxx-s R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 6 09-15-2007 07:44 AM
NOVAK New XBR Sport Brush/Brush Speed Control rcforum Electric On-Road 42 09-03-2007 12:45 PM
To brush or not to brush??? EHHH??? dmlk Rookie Zone 34 11-29-2005 02:20 PM
RC4115 Brush Factory 2 Brush Factory 2 the black one mint shape jason cheng R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 12-11-2004 02:27 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:09 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net