Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Difference between 766 and 767 brush. >

Difference between 766 and 767 brush.

Difference between 766 and 767 brush.

Old 06-24-2003, 05:43 AM
  #1  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Canada.
Posts: 484
Default Difference between 766 and 767 brush.

Same as topic, what is the difference between those 2 reedy brushes?

Thanks.
rcpilot is offline  
Old 06-24-2003, 07:04 AM
  #2  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (1)
 
gazza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 367
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

The 767's are a high silver content brush, though not as high as a putnam green shunt or trinity's 'e' brush. The 766 is a very soft brush with little if any silver in it. This brush is more of a torque compound, whereas the 767, putnam, e brush are more rpm-ish.

Hope this helps.
gazza is offline  
Old 06-24-2003, 07:20 AM
  #3  
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (47)
 
Randy Caster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Costa Mesa, CA
Posts: 16,716
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

Is the 767 Reedy's highest silver content brush?
Randy Caster is offline  
Old 06-24-2003, 07:37 AM
  #4  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (1)
 
gazza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 367
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Reedy has a new brush called the 728 that has a very high silver content, but I think it was meant for the Kr series of mod motors with the larger comm. Don't know how it would work on a stock motor though.
gazza is offline  
Old 06-24-2003, 08:05 AM
  #5  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (8)
 
StephenSobottka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 3,267
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

time to try it out today then, ill let u know
StephenSobottka is offline  
Old 06-24-2003, 08:08 AM
  #6  
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (47)
 
Randy Caster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Costa Mesa, CA
Posts: 16,716
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

Good thing, I am running the Kr series motors. I change the brushes after every run, so it doesnt really matter to me how fast they depleat, just trying to get the most power.
Randy Caster is offline  
Old 06-24-2003, 08:13 AM
  #7  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Canada.
Posts: 484
Default

Yeah I'm running the Kryptons aswell and noticed on most of Ae set-up sheets they runn 766's with the kr.
rcpilot is offline  
Old 06-24-2003, 08:37 AM
  #8  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (8)
 
StephenSobottka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 3,267
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

u got it randman
StephenSobottka is offline  
Old 06-24-2003, 11:12 AM
  #9  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 303
Default

The 728 is a standup brush, it was designed for use in 4 cell mod applications, where wear is less, so you can get away with a high silver brush.
RC Paperboy is offline  
Old 06-24-2003, 01:57 PM
  #10  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (1)
 
gazza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 367
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Yeah thats right, but you could toss them on a brush contouring tool to convert them to a laydown configuration.
gazza is offline  
Old 06-25-2003, 12:35 AM
  #11  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (8)
 
Mr. MR4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Malta, EU
Posts: 297
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Hi All,

The Krypton Motors do not like silver brushes. If you dont want to change brushes every run use the 766 brush.

I also tried out the Orion Silver Laydown brush which gave much better performance, but had to change brushes every run.
Mr. MR4 is offline  
Old 06-25-2003, 12:45 AM
  #12  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 974
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

sorry guys if this sounds stupid, the krypton uses stock style brushes??
Johnnytc3 is offline  
Old 06-25-2003, 01:20 AM
  #13  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (8)
 
Mr. MR4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Malta, EU
Posts: 297
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

JohnnyTC3,

Yes the Kr uses laydown brushes (Stock Style)
Mr. MR4 is offline  
Old 06-27-2003, 11:20 PM
  #14  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Bay Area, California
Posts: 17
Default

So talking about brushes, which ones do you recomend to replace the stock brushes that comes with the Orion ORbital Motors cuz i change them this week after a week of use and now the motor runs like crap, and overheats a lot.
SubaruWRC is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.